What are MUST TO DO in Egypt besides the Giza?
Re: What to do in Egypt (Cairo)
come to my flat :@:
so when are you coming AND it depends what sorta person you are ... islamic then theres quiet a few islamic places .. mainly mazaaraats and mosques.
and if not then the Pharoh is here dead aslp in his glass box... museam .. Giza ofcorse and the famous Khan Al Khalili bazaar. old cairo esp the architectual worksss
and lots and lots of shopping ares ..in new cairo - nasr area .. amongst is City stars .. just a top place to be if you feel depressed in cairo lol
what sorta info u want.. i can find out if you want.
Awesome! Free room and board!
I will most probably be there in Oct-Nov.
oooohh sorrryyy i ll be gone by thenn unfortunatly but your welcome to come :D
and waiseyyy its a really nice place to be for a holidayyy .of upto 2 weeks.... u ll never regret it if you come .but if your here like me for 3 years then you just wana gooo asap lol
^^ Weather information would be helpful...
Awesome! Free room and board!
I will most probably be there in Oct-Nov.
lucky you! is this your first time going?
yes - I can't wait
^^ Weather information would be helpful...
well weather wise .. these days its quiet hot and humid ..and it really really kicks in july august time ..
however since the njgal's plan is oct / nov time .. then thas a perfect time to come .. its not too cold nor is it too hot.
How safe is it? How long are the markets open? What's the best place to eat eyption food?
Heres a lil taster what you can expect :@:
i have loads more but it will ruin it for ya ![]()
right hand drive or left?
NOOOOOOOO - send me more pictures. I want to see the places before I visit
How safe is it? How long are the markets open? What's the best place to eat eyption food?
Its a very safe place to be .. and these ppl really treat the tourists well ..its just you gotta be carefull when it comes to tips and money matters . cos these guys can take you for a ride lol i ve seen it all ..
markets are open quiet late till latest everything shuts down is around 1am. but local shops in normal cairo .. shops and markets close by 11..
best places to eat are near the hussain area since its one of the main tourist area ..and also right next door to the khan el Khalili bazaar.. you ll get everything here . all types of egyption foods..
1) So what's is the best time to visit?
2) Security Situation/Is it safe for womens/Single Travelers?
3) Money/ATM/Credit Cards/Whats are the basic costs?
4) Do mummies hang around freely?
right hand drive or left?
NOOOOOOOO - send me more pictures. I want to see the places before I visit
you planning to drive ere yourself lol .. its left hand drive...
errm i have quiet a few pics of mosques and mazaars mainly but other pics are not in reach at the moment.. i ll try to post as many as i can ..
What is the best form of transportation (buses? taxis? subways (I don't think there is one)
1) So what's is the best time to visit?
2) Security Situation/Is it safe for womens/Single Travelers?
3) Money/ATM/Credit Cards/Whats are the basic costs?
4) Do mummies hang around freely?
best time to visit is anytime after september till around marchh .. in between if you wana get roasted in temps of around 35- 40 C at times .. your most welcom cos if i can hack it then you shud be able to too lol :p
Money ..wise .ATMs are everywhere .. basic costs are quiet cheap if your coming from the US or UK .. cos Pound Sterling is about 8.1 Egyption pounds these days and the dollar is around 6.6 6.9 i believ .. which is ok ..
like i said .. if you know a bit of arabic and you think twice when tipping and traveling around ... then you ll save . but if you come as a holday person as some goray i have seen . they just come ere to spend moneyyy just so they can evade the tax collector lol
.. Yeshhh Mummies Do hand around ... freelyyy .:p well the egyption women / girls dress so much so that they look like mummies .. they ll jam pack themselves with too much clothing .. tobah innehein garmi bhi nahi lagti lol
on a serious note.. they are dead aslp in the museum in tahrir - City centre..where you gotta pay 100 Egyptions pounds to just see the lana'ti Pharoh ..and mummies are hanging about there...
What is the best form of transportation (buses? taxis? subways (I don't think there is one)
they have a metro system but its hardly used by the tourists .. and best form of transport is taxis.
and two types of taxis .. one are the black n whites .. you ll get good deals cos you can haggle with themm for the fares which works out very good. but the thing is some taxis are like fromt he 80's lol but if you wait around usually a good one comes around and ther u can hava comfortable ride..
the other are city cabs - yellow.. you can hire em and they are rare ..and if you do happen to catch one .. and your on a long journeyy .. your gonna end up emptying your pockets cos they are on meter.. and cos there is sooo sooo much ttraffic in the evenings ..which is best time to go placess ... the meter will run longer ..
so i d suggest black n whites.. and just set the fares before you jump in...
so if i like a mummy (female) can i take her with me?
yehhh most definatlyyy ... this is all these mummies wanttt .cos these ppl dunt have the cultural thing what we have in desi .. k arrange marriage ho jaaey or somethinggg.. here is every man/woman for him/herself... no family support in this matter ...:D
so u may have a chance after all :p
waisey i ve never seen a male mummy :p
What we did...pyramids [didnt know there were more than 3!], sphinx, felluca ride on Nila [amaaazing], museum [was sooooooo hot in here], khan al khalili bazaar, citadel, muhammad ali masjid, sultan hassan masjid, al rafai masjid, papyrus making place, place where they used to make the mummies, some old churches and synogoges...I think thats about it
We were only in Cairo, but if you have a chance to go to Luxor, my friend went on the most fantastic hot air balloon ride over the Valley of Kings at sunrise, just breathtaking
Im trying to remember the name of the guide group we were with...I think maybe it was Red Sea Travels or something like that....basically we had just made a plan before going of what we want to do and where to go on which day and then they sent a car to our hotel each day and took us around and the guide was with us everywhere explaining everything. It was good because we didnt have to worry about transportation or anything like that, they took care of it. So I would recommend hiring a guide like that, because not only do they tell you all kinds of interesting facts but they make travel so much easier