What to do at the VALIMA?

re: What to do at the VALIMA?

Why don't you make different slideshows to be played all through the night?

Valima entrance

You can just feel the wedding fever In the air. I am in the middle of planning my brother's valima and am trying to get ideas of some fun stuff to do. Dancing may be a bit hard since our family is pretty conservative so I was trying to find other ways to make it fun so that it doesn't end up being a standard meet and greet. Anyone ever attended a shaadi where they had a memorable entry or something fun that was done during the wedding.. Do share????

Re: Valima entrance

One valima I attended was where the immediate family of the bride and groom were introduced with their own song and some even danced their way into the hall.

Also, this is something I am thinking of doing for the next party we have (parents anniversary party next year)...we're playing the Chicago Bulls Entrance Song! I cannot post it right now but will do later on.

Re: Valima entrance

I am facing the same dilemma. Would love some suggestions for Valimas to make them feel a little different (both brothers are getting married in the coming year, inshAllah). I'm not so interested in the entrance as much as the entertainment.

bump

SGC -- What did you end up doing?

Sahar so we ended up having cocktail hour with appies and drinks being circulated for about an hour before the start time. then we opened up the doors of the main room, everyone found their seats, sat down, entertained themselves. the sitar player, who was fabulous, was playing in the background. the couple were cued in about 20 minutes after everyone was seated with the aid of the sitar player. they sat down. we launched into speeches right away. my nana was supposed to speak but he didn't realise his turn was so soon lol so hubby and i went up and introduced ourselves, said hello, and gave them a breakdown of what they could expect during the evening.
we served dinner. then hubby and i gave our speeches- him first, then me (i bawled, jeez. good luck at your brother's events, missy!), my parents gave theirs, the best man gave his, and my nana who writes shairiee rounded it off with some which he wrote for my brother and his bride, to much applause. the sitar player picked up again right after and people really, really loved listening to him- he was so good, it was the perfect backdrop/entertainment all in one. after speeches, we "opened" the dessert table with the bride and groom cutting their cake and everyone took pictures etc. the dessert table was another thing that was a massive success, btw. consider it for your brother getting married in the US! super easy to put together too. after dessert, people mingled some more and chatted, we played the slideshow, and then people started to head home slowly.
it worked out really well AH. there were some little oopsie moments but eh, what wedding is without those?

valima ideas plz

My BIL is getting married in April, I need some ideas of something we can do on the mehndi and also the valima that will be different and not cost the earth!!!!
We were thinking of wedding favour boxes on tables but we take the "bid" for the girsl side too so that may be the same thing. Any other small gesture we can do for guests to make it a little more memorable?
Any mehndi ideas too would be welcome. Thanks

Re: valima ideas plz

you can give out bangles or little gift boxes that can have chocolates in it.

My hubby and I discussed the chocolates thing yesterday, wedding is in April will it be too warm for choccies, they might melt?
Maybe we can replace with little sweets of some kind. I like the idea of bangles too. Plz keep ideas coming!!!

hmmm watt abt a motti chur ladu :p jaha par likha ho: shadi ka ladu jo khai woh bhi pashtai jo na khai woh bhi pashtai :p hahaha...

Hi all,

I've combined the Valima threads because I think we're all asking the same question: "What the HECK do you do at a Valima?"

I've got both brothers' valimas on the horizon (inshAllah), and I'm asking myself the same question. Hopefully we can brainstorm and share here!

Re: What to do at the VALIMA?

I think we're doing the bangles thing at the mehndi.

We mashAllah have a very big family and sometimes our close family friends take a back seat when the family is involved. I was thinking maybe on the Valima i will try to coordinate something with our friends -- maybe a little funny skit and short speeches to entertain the crowd.