What to bring ??

Hi everyone ! I’m getting married in may inshAllah and my hubby lived in USA so I’m moving to Tennessee .
What I will appreciate that if you girls can guide me what should I buy or bring with me which are absolute necessity . Ofcourse I am shopping for Clothes and jewelry for wedding but I am trying to know that would I need something or anything in particular as I am traveling for first time and I don’t have inlawa or any family there . So you lovely girls are my only option.
I am gonna book Mariam 's in Lahore for bridal makeup. Does her Parlour do mehndi too ? And I am thinking of changing hair color ! Any suggestion which place does best hair color ??

Please mods feel free to del/move topic if not appropriate for this thread

Re: What to bring ??

Hugs and kisses, maybe...oh wait!

unless you have a large desi social circle, don't invest too heavily in formal clothes or jewellery. i doubt you'll get much use out of them in tennessee except for occasions like eid.

there's really not much else to bring that you won't get in tennessee.

what sgc said...

Here in the US, especially in areas that are not as desi prolific (like Tenessee) you tend not to get much use out of heavy formal wear, stick with just a few evening wear/semi formal if you're anticipating alot of dawats in your husbands family/social circle. Don't overload yourself with a bunch of dresses that will never see the light of day. And even on Eid, we tend not to wear really heavy stuff here. At least in Dallas, where I have lived my whole life.

^ What SCG & Khattichic said. :)

I'm moving to Tennessee too! :) I was there visitng a few weeks back and I didn't notice a very big desi community at all so I don't think you'd need very many forma desi clothes. Where in TN?

it really depends on where in TN you are moving. i have lived in TN for a few years and can tell u much abt the desi community in and around Nashville if thats where u are headed.

Hi khattichic!!!! New member here from Dallas too :)

Yea you won't need to many desi clothes just bring some lawn suits and few formal ones...you can always resupply your paki clothing every year dont need to take everything at once...as for other essentials you will find just about everything in US...just bring loads of chili mili and other favorite candies :D you will miss those :P