What the fuss

• Mods please move it to suitable section if you want. I cannot think of any *

The uproar on Aurat march wasnt finished yet and now our society has got another topic. Everyone is talking about bycotting Careem for one silly reason. This advertising board:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D18qR3vXQAE2C5H?format=jpg&name=small

I dont know what Careem’s intention are. But shouldnt we talk about forceful marriages? Child marriages etc? The problems that originate from forceful marraiges tht either end up in divorces or some other problems.

And I can imagine its not only girls that go through this. It could be boys too.

Well you need to spread awareness through debate and education if you really want to counter forceful marriages…This is no way of spreading awareness.. The words written on the sign board lack decency… They just wanted to use this thing for commercial purpose… Such shamelessness should not be and can’t be allowed.
And people who raised questions on aurat march were not against the movement itself, rather they were concerned about the vulgar play cards… No one would have raised questions on aurat march if right words were used…
The thing is, you can say or display whatever you want to say or display, but there is a way of doing things…
The following play cards can’t help aurat march in any way… it killed the spirit of their movement and people associated with this movement should not defend it…

ghatiya soch walay

2 Likes

It just advertisement. They got you talking didnt they? That was the whole point.

Hardees used this advertising and it even made it to reddit.

2 Likes

Not funny at all. Don’t know what they are trying to encourage & promote by such things. Sometimes it seems like shaadi is the only marketing strategy they have to sell their products/services. Chai ad, shaadi!! Surf ad, shaadi!! Mattress ad, shaadi!! Milk ad, shaadi!! Morning show me shaadi!! They are obsessed with shaadi. If they don’t use shaadi, no one is gonna purchase anything it seems like.

Could it be a part of their full TV advertisement? I mean, we are looking at one board or banner. It could be the caption of some funny ad just like Ufone used to have.

people are looking for things to get offended over…its not like majority of population is getting its values and morals from taxi bill boards…

I interpret this the other way, they’re trying to encourage women to runaway from there weddings (after wasting money) and aee offering an escape option.

Aay larkion. If you have to run away from your wedding you dont need Careem bike. You need a burqa.

Besides toothi poothi sarkon pe Careem bike will not only be just jumping around going nowhere but also will end up you needing a massage. And if thats what you need in the end, te fir shadi karo aur becharay husband se massage karao. Aiwaeen rola paya aay

People that exist to rile up Pakistanis over non-issues (and distract them from the real issues) always do well. We let them. The day Pakistani awam reacts in a level-headed manner and not all dramatic ?HAI HAMARI IZZAT? will be a good change.
It?s an ad. Maybe tasteless for the more vocal part of its own target audience, but no uproar required.

[quote=““third string””]
I interpret this the other way, they’re trying to encourage women to runaway from there weddings (after wasting money) and aee offering an escape option.

If women see this ad and do indeed run away from their wedding, it?s because they didn?t want to get married in the first place. And they see no other option but to hop onto a bike with their tonnes of bridalness.

It?s haram to forcibly marry someone off. So, really, by your logic Careem are being noble if anything.

[quote=““Pakistani Prince””]

The following play cards can’t help aurat march in any way… it killed the spirit of their movement and people associated with this movement should not defend it…

In the same way that we would never expect a white non-Muslim to understand what practising Muslims go through in today?s world, I wouldn?t expect a Pakistani man to understand what Pakistani women have to face.
Our patriarchal society places all sorts of pressures upon our women to uphold rules (some rightful and others unfairly so), while men are not held anywhere near as accountable. Those placards are funny because they?re thoughts most Pakistani women have thought or comments they?ve faced in life over ridiculous harmless things (eg I remember being reprimanded in childhood for sitting with my legs slightly apart - nowhere near as splayed as our men sit ALL THE TIME. No etiquettes required there?. I?ve known people labelled as ?awara? for wanting to attend a friend?s - all girls - birthday party, while her male family counterparts had complete freedom and no questions asked).
I suspect those that are outraged at these expressions of frustration by our women will never get the above, toh solutions dhoondna to door ki baat hai.

@Hoverer Thanks for actually making sense in this thread. The type of people to think that a few “vulgar” signs could delegitimize a movement (instead of any actual problems with the movement) were just looking for any reason to ignore the movement.