What really happens inside a madrassa

Re: What really happens inside a madrassa

If you send your brightest kid to do MBA and the dumbest one to religious schools, this is the kind of 'scholars' you'd get.

Why do we expect the 'maulvis' and 'qari saabs' to be free from any corruption? they represent Pakistani society. would any of you encourage your bright, hardworking kid if he/she wants to study religion?

^i would....and there are many good madrassahs too......

you can't just paint everything alike......

^ wasn't asking you personally! most of us wont... and I know accounting is pretty boring :P

so the end result is, because its published by tribune aka jews/american funded newspaper .. so lets roll.
mashallah, the ultimate point from the reply's i get so far. nope there isn't any problem. gracia mucho.

small children in madarsa are notoriously subjected to such molestation by maulvies , but ghairat brigade is busy as usual examining a every inch of the piece of the storey and dismissing it because it was not published in the news paper which they consider ghairat mand and patriotic .it widely talked in every house what happens in madarsas ,but nobody wants to discuss openly about it because it will bring ill fame to so called religious institutions .who can dare to take on ghairat brigade and maulvi sympathisers.

@ Aceones!
"*I cannot remember a single incident where such a heinous crime was brought into light and the the culprit was let go... but yes i can recall cases where person who committed this (or even tried to do) was not punished and was not condemned... in some cases which are not brought forward for legal justice the child abuser was beaten by the local public and they never returned."
If I understood above correctly, from your perspective, all child abusres have ither been punished by the court system when brought to light or by the local public. So the system is air-tight in terms of not allowing such abusers to escape.

"and if this blogger and you (if you agree with the blogger, and you are not the blogger yourself) claim that all teachers and staff of madarsas are involved in this disgusting and unlawful act, you must name the guy who did that, drag him to the court and get him punished, instead of writing an idiotic story in a blog, which goes like this..."
Maybe he will. Now that the case has gained attention, maybe it would make it to the courts and the alleged abuser may be named. The only way to first get attention is to publich this - so I dont see why it is an either or - name or publish.

"author was a 10 year old kid, he saw it happening, he ran away, never told this to anyone, and now after 12 years he's writing a blog telling all parents that molvies are evil and never send your children to any madarsa. rubbish" A 10-yr old kid may not behave as rationally as an adult. I would not dismiss this as rubbish because the kid did not behave as you expect him to. Sometimes there are false accusations, sometimes not. Time will tell on this case.

I disagree. From the replies some of us have written, we have NOT DENIED that it happens, we have just said that the system needs to be changed, and that there needs to be a way put in place with dealing with it, rather than just sensationalising it.

Let us hope child abuse is investigated everywhere in the world, in every institution. This phenomenon is not religion-specific, as the recent catholic priest cases have shown. And if we look hard enough, we will probably find it elsewhere also.

I do not take any satisfaction it was found in a Madrassa this time. Next time it could be elsewhere. It is my hope none of us is dogmatic to deny it when it shows up at our door.

How can any system be changed unless it gets some attention? Unfotunately, part of the attention getting process may involve sensationalization. Change does not happen in a methodical, clean manner. In this internet age, change happens through twitter, blogs and other medium. I welcome all the tools needed to get the news out.

@Southie, about the first point where you quoted me, i wont say the system is air-tight, no its not, but all cases i've seen in recent past (of course through media) were dealt reasonably well, and by that i mean heard by court (sentences handed) and covered by media. but of course like most of the laws there may be many loopholes here and there will definitely be a room for improvement

as for "either or" case, well at least i've not seen any rant of such blogs ending up in the court, and don't expect courts to take actions on such blanket accusations, where all the accuser mentions is "a big madarsa in karachi" "all the qari sahabs and nazim/naib nazim" "dont send children to madarsa" etc...

this is more like another case of blowing things out of proportion and attempt of throwing dust on religious figures and madarsas (as people said above), than an attempt to solve the problem.

would you like to provide a single case link in which mullah and minor was involved and actually went through Pakistan courts?
any?

as far my knowledge concern, their was a lot of halla/ghulla happened in early 90s because of child molestation by mullahs cases in central Punjab, no one ever get sentence.

OMG this happened, I can’t believe it, thank you for opening my eyes, if not for this article I would’ve never known this happened so commonly over there.

if you stop drinking tea all the time ... you probably would know.

google it

there was this case in mansehra district last year involving a "qari" who was sentenced several years in jail. plus that "javed iqbal" case in lahore, who committed suicide in prison though he was not a "mulla" as you put it... there was one more in faislabad or somewhere, qari sahab did beat up a young boy causing fracture in his hand

The narration, so beautiful, feels like as if you are watching a movie. 5 minutes worth of entertainment. Thankyou. I mean, only if the narration didnt give a feel of exploitation and sensationalism. A a matter of fact, it want convincing enough to stop people from sending their children to a Maddrisa. Such a make-believe story.

Maddrisay ne janab ka kuch bigarha ho ya nahi, acha hua wo khud hi chorh aye. He was destined to be writer, he way he LOVES to narrate :@:

I will still send my son to a Maddrisa.

Do not disagree with you at all. But this article smacks of the stupidity that affected the Church after their scandals broke. The actions of a few do not define the majority nor do they define the institution. Madrasses have a lot of problems. Just like the church or any other religion institution that focuses on segregation of genders. However this article spoke of beating and other form of physical abuse and not molestation.

today we have this thread, and by chance right now something related is on TV. its sama tv. they are showing a footage from inside a madarsa where some students are tied up with chains. and another student was beaten badly by his teacher. in both cases they have proofs to back up their claim and nobody there is claiming its "all madarsas" are like that and "all qari's" do this, do not send your children to madarsa.

and more important thing is, they have mufti naeem on live phone call and he not only condemned this beating up and tieing up of children, he asked govt to take leagal action against the responsibles. that is what is appreciated, not the idiotic blog posts like the one here

By now u should know that we pay utmost care to keep our TV/PC Screens clean while our Mirrors stay dirty ;)

Peace firenze

I don't know why you bring topics here that are designed to defame Islam ... It is not to say I don't believe the incidents ... I do and it is a shame that they are happening ... However, this blog is not written by a person who was a child of 10 in the 90s living in Pakistan, with a mobile phone.

The style of the language used shows that he is not Pakistani ... it sounds like a script.
He had a mobile phone at the age of 10 - this is a modern phenomenon where children get mobiles 2005 is reasonable.
Anyone in Pak who had a mobile phone in the 90s would be rich, living in rich areas ... and by the sound of it the molvis are not asking for the sort of thing you would expect a rich community to have ...
Madrassas in rich areas operate differently to ones in rural or semi-poor towns.

The story is a confused mess ... and the dead give away is the writing itself ... I would consider you a well educated person but the story knocks the socks off your English and you live in the West ... furthermore the idioms used are not common in Pak ...

But I gotta hand it to you ... you seem to be a magnet for finding the propaganda articles around the globe against Islam and you defend them ...

Now let me say that the problem may be true ... I have heard at least 3 cases where molvis have abused their authority with people I know ... I have heard a further 6 or 7 cases about molvis abusing their authority with people who know people I know ... but for sure I have heard many more stories of teachers, doctors, nurses, carers and ministers of other religions do the same thing ...

It is a shame that any of it happens ... these times are ones where we are constantly bombarded with "news" to bend our minds to accepting certain stances ... the best way to navigate in such a climate firenze is to go by evidence that you can prove personally.

By their posts ye shall know them

are you even serious?? supporting sensationalization??