What percentage of income do you full time working guppies save?

Would be interested to see how much other people manage to save.

I save around 10-15%, that’s about it. I really should be saving more.

Just for info, I am in Houston, TX

Re: What percentage of income do you full time working guppies save?

This is an incredibly personal question. Sorry, can't say. :-)

^ You don't have to mention the amount, just say the percentage :D

For me, I try to save as much as I can, but it's not much because I am a saver and my wife is a spender. To put icing on the cake, she doesn't work. So I would guess that only 10% may be? I would like to save anywhere from 25% to 50% but it's really tough. Perhaps when she starts working?

Oh, and I am in New Orleans, LA. Things are a bit expensive here than Houston, especially after Katrina.

i dont work....hehe

As I don't have many expenses except for phone and internet bill, I save about 90% :D

Any more? I imagine Pakistan based guppies save more than that. Saving is so hard in the US.

^Hmmm i don't think its too difficult. The reason alot of ppl don't save or even fall into debt is b/c they want to live beyond their means, they have lots of immediate material wants, not to mention a sense of entitlement to luxuries. Not judging b/c I know i'm definitely guilty of this. I do think it gets harder when one marries and has kids, and expenses get higher, but i think it also depends on the lifestyle families want to follow...

-10%:(

True, as a single person you can control that but it gets tough as a couple. i.e. if I feel like eating out but I also want to save, I would NOT eat out and save instead. Whereas my wife may want to eat out and for her I may give in and eat out. So in this case I am not only spending money on ME but on her as well. So instead of saving, I end up spending double. Vice versa is also true. She may see me buying a wireless router as fazool kharchi and she may not mind using wired internet but it would be hard for her to convince me to not spend that money on wireless router and save that money instead.

Its always the wife :naraz:

It’s true though!!! Most of the times it’s mrs. who wants to spend money on fazool kharchi. I do it too, but not as often. I never stop her from spending money on food for herself, only on materialistic things, mostly home decoration stuff, stuff we could do without :smack:

tough qs.

thanks for asking :>

best,
Dushwari

does that include 401k....cause thats the only saving i am able to do right now...14%.

90%

114 % saving

^ q app ke billi bhi kamati hai :bummer:

According to a good economist
If you want to save enough for the future , your saving percentages should be b/w 30-50

but if you have enough for the future , and just want to save for any extra investments etc . it should be 10-30 %

and i spend all , when it's my own and save most of it when it's my dad 's earning :)

Ideally, if you wish to retire early ie...45-50, then you shd be maxing out your 401k between the ages 30-40 if the company matches it otherwise you shd continue contributing atleast till 45.

:cb:

mujhey sirf college main khaaney k liyey..aur phone ka thora sa credit abbu deytey hain…
ab ismain main kya save ker saktee hoon..:frowning:

baaqi saare shopping abbu khud kerwaatey hain…:hugz:

20% Overall. 100% Bonus. 40% of the Consulting income.

Since I can't do CD or any other interest bearing accounts, I stick with a healthy mix of stocks and mutual funds.

Inshallah, planning on buying a flat in NY or London in 2008 as an investment.

I hope by "saving" people are actually investing, because money in a bag will be nothing compared to a well advised investment.