what motivated you..

to become a Computer Programmer or becoming interested in Computer/Software related field?

Re: what motivated you..

coz it was the obvious choice

i was gona become a doctor which was considered the best thing for larkyaan

but i went to amreeka for kaalij and there i cudnt become a daaktar coz it takes too long there to become a daaktar

so over there the obvious profession was inginring

inginring mein kon si ji? ofcourse kumpooter :D kyun? un dino mein wohi chal ri thee

u know typical desi thinking :D tho its changing these dayz :D

Irem :D lol

Ansoon, I am not into (software)programming too much, so this doesnt apply for me I guess. But lately, I've been thinking to maybe become a coding guru aswell.

nicely put Irem.. hehe ...

Well i started using computer around age 16 and ended up becoming a programming.. doing Comp Sci.. didn't really have any other dream (sorta) for becoming anything else.. hehe

I wasn't motivated but tricked into it by my elders and peers who made it sound sooo cool, which it obviously isn't.

I liked Mathematics (Pure Math to be more specific) and Business Studies... those were my strengths in high school (A-Levels)... just the thought of going for a degree in Business didn't go all that well with the folks at the time, and I opted for the next best choice w.r.t. my aptitude i.e. Software Engineering.

I had an o.k. time during my undergrad - most of the stuff I learnt, I actually used at some later point in life. As per the "experience", I'd say 30% of the experience was pleasant... baaqi ro ro ke degree poori karr hee li. Then I got interested in professional certs and got Cisco, IBM, Novell, Sun and CIW while I was studying. This was a way for me to earn a good living while studying as I'd learn new technologies and help companies implement it and also train their staff in it. So that was a good practical aspect related to what I was doing in school.

In retrospect, I made the right decision cuz I went for an MBA later and with a Software Engineering background, this gave me the diversity of thought, multiplicity in practice and variety in knowledge.

O.K. jee break over - back to cramming.

hmm... so far i haven't have to drag myself through my undergrad programming courses.. electives are hard though :(

Good luck with ur carmming Umar :)

hmm Ahmad bhai, what do you do now? like still with computer related field or changed it to something else??

Isnt it enough motivational that you can earn while sleeping?

There were many reasons for I stepped into Software Engg.

For an example, I always wanted to take full control over (possibly) everything.

Also, this field is so vast. You can do anything when imagination is the limit.

Ihtesham where are you doing ur Software Eng. from? Which university?

Well i have been into computers ever since i came to america when i was about 6 or 7. When i was around 10 or 12 i wrote my first program it was a simple game in Q-Basic so i guess ever since that i have been into this stuff. Now i am taking my third year of Computer Science, the source is actually called Computer Systems. I am also doing Oracle SQL on the side

can you give more details on Computer System course.. where u doing it form and if possible course list?

thnks

computers always fasicinated me … especially the way the Internet [networking basically] works … it was more of a hobby that turned into profession … and I’m still loving it :smokin: .. Alhamdulillah

age 4 i had my first laptop (1985). at age 5 i opened it up and tried putting it back together after disecting EVERYTHING out of it. it worked.

i dunno WHAT motivated me.. prolly my dad who turned out to be a big name in karachi. i guess computer-stuff ran in our family.. 'n after learning mechanix of it, i aimed for the HIDDEN side of it..

waht IREM baji mentioned ... the desi thinking ...

kahin na kahin to jana tha na .. so why not ... Engnn.. then Copmuterrrrrrrrrrrrrrr...

was the best choice..

Ansoon....im in college...and trying to become Computer Programmer. All u need to be interested in is Math and Computer ( usually computer science )

frozen: so BACK to topic now, and WHAT Motivated u to JOIN that program? :smack:

well...what motivated me the most to become computer programmer is i was really wanted to know how the softwares work...and plus the environment that im gonna be workin in and the salery are good.. :)

thanks..

and.. salery WILL be good.. (hoping atleast) :D

Ansoon, I am still an engineer making the promised big bucks but I think I would have been more content with my life had I chosen to be a social worker or something, probably not as rich though.

To fill up that void in my life I volunteer at odd places and tutor for free.