What makes a happy marriage?

Re: What makes a happy marriage?

Stoppits is right. Hugs are drugs people!

I want to add - Monies.

Monies makes everysinglelittlething better. Promise.

Does that mean the Bank of England has the happiest marriage of all?

I don't know.

Ok, serious face. I think it's the freedom to do the things that make you happy. Whatever that may be. From things with your spouse to things you do alone. To the freedom to have your own thoughts and make your own decisions.

Especially when your husbands snoring could wake the dead

care, love, and respect

I'm not sure how I feel about ^

I guess, yes, in theory, the above mentioned could suffice, but it sounds extremely mechanical and robotic to me to pidegeon hole happiness into those criterion

I can only speak for myself, so here goes..here's what makes my marriage happy:

• when I read something goofy/funny/controversial online, or on this forum for that matter, and I text my hubby to tell him, he replies "busy hoon"..but then asks me about it later when he gets home
  • he will put the kids to bed so that i can watch my trashy, trainwreck Kardashians & Real Housewives on TV
  • he talks to my family (mamoos, khalloos, etc) more than i do (in a good way!)
  • i don't mind him devoting his entire sunday to playing league cricket (no "voucher" masla here...lol!)
  • i will shop at the korean/vietnamese/hispanic markets for produce rather than the $$$$ fancy gora stores
  • we have no qualms in bribing the teen/college kids in our family to watch our kids so that we can get away for a night out
  • when we fight, we allow eachother to be pissed, and can agree to disagree

so you see, in my experience, what makes a marriage happy is if the two individuals involved are happy! You can go through the motions, and do all the correct things, and still be miserable. Shaadi do dilon ka milan hai...jabtak miya aur biwi aik dusray ke dilon ki qadr nahin karengay..wo shaadi khushhaal kaisay ho sakti hay?

to the OP..the things you listed are important but not the sole basis of a happy marriage.The most important thing has to be respect.Once it is there,you care and love for your spouse and whatever he/she does for the marriage,family and home.Once you respect them truly,you appreciate their role,opinion and suggestions regarding a life together.This brings contentment and that leads to happiness.
Something I have observed in the number of years I have been married..:)

Chocolate

and butterscotch is not a chocolate in the eyes of chocoholics

What if your husband thinks you are too young and naive to make decisions and take care of yourself, or too pretty and if go out alone you’ll get yourself stalkers? :hehe:

Well then you won't be happy will you!

But it's worth keeping the marriage overall happy I guess. Sometimes you have to sacrifice your own wishes in order to keep the peace.

Heard the following from a well known and respected scholar:

Someone asked Hazrat Ali (k.w), "What is marriage ?"

He (k.w) replied, Aik mahina mohabbat, aur phir jhagrey hi jhagrey "One month of love and then on wards....fights/arguments"

This is said by the one who is part of one of the best couples of all times. Because love is sometimes expressed in fights and arguments (while maintaining love and respect for each other).

Hearts are in Allah's control. If we only concentrate on* giving *to the best of our ability (what all good we can offer) and try not to expect anything in return (to the extent humanly possible), also when we help, facilitate and encourage each other in matters of obedience towards Allah (swt), Allah (swt) would bring our hearts closer by putting "Barakah" in our relationships. HE has the ability to remove all kinds of misunderstandings and negative feelings/thoughts between us, that at times we might not be able to remove on our own due to limitations in our abilities.

Like 'dupatta sahi kar aurat'?

^ Nah, the passion of obedience towards Allah (swt) should be generated only through encouragement, love, humbleness and wisdom, by giving examples of our role models....

.....not like a policeman.

No Idea !!!

This is post of the day. And xtron likes to add to the fact which is be patience as well as compromise.

Chicken Noodle Soup?

I m happily married allhumdullah in my case most important factors r understanding n caring :) we appreciate our similarities n respect r differences :)