What kind of dumb idiots are running the show?

Re: What kind of dumb idiots are running the show?

Senator A. Rehman Malik (Urdu: رحمان ملک ) (born 12 December 1951) is a Pakistani politician, a member of the Senate of Pakistan, and the current Interior Minister of Pakistan under Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gillani’s administration.

Malik is a former FIA officer who rose to head the Federal Investigation Agency during Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto’s second tenure. He later joined the Pakistan Peoples Party and was the trusted lieutenant and chief security officer (CSO) of Benazir Bhutto.

This is so very typical behavior in Pakistan they make things more difficult for the victim's families with their verbal diarrhea. image the agony of hope when the family members of those onboard had heard this joker say that there are survivors.

absolutely shameful

they r not goin in the favour of the country. jst tell them that this is there country. and they have to make them up by there self.

Let's make paper airplanes out of our royal elected parliament's 'jaali degrees' and sing 'ye watan tumhara hai, tum ho pasban is k!'

:/

man I've never felt this hopeless before!

A very good read on behavior of the two ministers and media

Our country is run by bunch of morons. Why should we expect anything better?

http://dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2010\07\31\story_31-7-2010_pg1_8
Code of ethics or common sense?

COMMENT:

By Saima Mohsin

Crass terminology, gratuitous graphics and a shockingly cold desire to be the first to break the news has highlighted how Pakistan’s media still has a long way to go. When editors united last year to agree on a code of ethics for coverage of terrorist attacks, I for one, breathed a sigh of relief. Finally, I thought, we might give victims some dignity in death, allow relatives to grieve with some privacy and consider the sensitivities or emotional impact on the viewer. Not for long. That code of ethics was conveniently dropped when news of the Airblue plane crash dominoed through newsrooms and homes across the country.

As we have seen time and again with coverage of bombings, information comes flying out into the public domain with little verification and thought of the impact. Wild ‘guestimates’ about the number of casualties within the first hour toy with families’ hearts and minds.

Newsrooms will argue that over-zealous officials were releasing those figures, but given the location of the crash no one could have known the exact scale of the disaster within minutes or even a few hours.

Journalists are supposed to be one of us. Telling us what they see and have found out. When you are telling someone his or her relative has died, how would you do that?

Reporters talking about rotting flesh and describing how they could see limbs everywhere defied belief. The repeated use of the crass phrase “dead bodies” is still ringing through my ears – how about calling them “victims”?

The farcical reporting shocked and stunned one and all. Black boxes were apparently found and information leaked (by the way, it still hasn’t been located even while I write this), sources eager to start the blame game told how the pilot ignored repeated warnings, weather conditions were fine and dry and safe to fly then suddenly foggy with low visibility. While intrepid reporters mastered their skills at live reporting, anchors rattled off catchphrases without consideration for pace, tone or empathy. Cameramen clambered to get the coveted close ups of remains being brought into hospitals. There was no consideration shown for the relatives, no thought for the rescue teams whose way they were in and no dignity granted to those who had died.

Creative teams, excited to show their talents, delivered to our screens vulgar reconstructions of how the plane ploughed into the Margalla Hills and then burst into flames. What a sickening sight. If I felt this way, imagine how those who knew someone on board felt?

So let’s take a step back, what did the viewers gain by seeing this? Did we learn anything about the technical faults or errors that caused the crash? That is the only purpose of a graphic I can think of. So perhaps it could have been saved to illustrate the inquiry results, when victims had been buried and families had time to heal. Instead, victims’ relatives glued to their screens hoping their loved ones’ names might not appear on that fatal list, were forced to watch an “action replay” of the dreaded crash, over and over again.

When major disasters happen, the journalist community often gets together, shares footage and interviews. In Pakistan, there was not a single channel that missed the “opportunity” to paste “EXCLUSIVE” across their screens. What is so exclusive about a tragedy like this? Later in the day, the media frenzy was not exhausted by the enormity of the disaster, it got worse. While the wreckage still smouldered, the TV channels had already moved on from the death and destruction, to praising themselves for being the first on the scene. Reporters recounted their stories of the hardships they went through to reach the crash site.

I understand the pressures in broadcasting. I have been a broadcaster for more than a decade. I am well aware of the desire to please our bosses and be discovered as a shining new talent. But with all due respect to my colleagues, instead of becoming the story ourselves, we should remember we are merely guides to the story at hand… and 152 lives cut tragically short is surely the bigger story.

Our broadcast industry is in its infancy. With little or no training, young people are being put on screen. Training is essential. There is absolutely no substitute for experience. However, training and development of skills can go a long way to not only improving what we see and hear on our screens, but also avoiding the kind of coverage we all saw the other day. When dealing with major disasters or terror attacks, not everything can be taught or written down in a set of rules. So, as well as the much debated “code of ethics” and the much-needed call for training, perhaps we simply need to stop and apply some common sense and compassion.

The writer is a journalist and broadcaster. She can be reached at [email protected]

Ok, my honest opinion on the current state of Pakistan: We always say that " Pakistani kaum, government ka kia guzra bhogat rahi hai," well No thats not true cause pakistani kaum called all of this upon themselves. As much as i love pakistan I hate the people of pakistan. Educated or un educated they are all jahil! everyday in the pakistani newspaper you hear about these creepy wahshi incidents happening and noone speaking against it. Yeh saab Allah ka azaab hai is kaum per dunya ko kia blame kerna. Balkay yeh government Allah ka azaab hai pakistani kaum pey. ITs disgusting how the familiy member of the victims of this tragedy had to deal with "survivals and all that bull crap" how there was never a proper condolence done by the government for this event. At the end they pull out this bull crap of " 5 lakh for each family of the victims." end mein kaminay wo paisay bhi aisay detain jaisay kisi begger ko dey rahay hoon. SICK!!!

You can defend Rahman Malik and that Kaira all you want, but go read the articles in the press about their unprofessional behavior, and look at the reaction from the people. Go writes heaps of your meaningless lines about them too and keep living in a fools paradise.

I am not relying on "information thousands of miles away from a filter"... I know this runway and I know how planes approach and land it, its hard to grasp and make sense for a flight to steer the other way and go and crash into a bunch of hills in the other direction several minutes ahead, and then your country's top ministers claiming a bunch of people somehow survived, minutes after the plane crashed as if rescue operations were underway before the plane hit the hills; assuming one is stupid enough to believe there can be survivors after a large plane smashing a hill. And yes, the other one denying, and then accepting, and denying the black box retrieval. Before this incident, there were already questions about that Multan crash still looming and the Govt had not made the reports public yet.

And I cant even expect an altaf MQM worshipper to read even 2 lines of rationale.

and two statements that can be simply explained with any number of explanations such as confusion, incompetance, conflicting information etc are sufficient for jackasses to come up with conspiracy theories, and for you to say you dont blame them. what exactly is the point of saying i know this runaway and its hard to grasp and make sense for a flight to steer the other way and crash into a bunch of hills. you have a little tin foil conspiracy there dont you, and internal conspiracy you'll only hint at and then let others complete for you? oh they were denying the black box was found i dont blame the conspiracy theorists. Have some balls and either make a claim about what you think happened.. maybe a missile hit the plane like your blameless Shahid Masood thinks.

The box has been found. But that wouldnt quell the conspiracy would it, specific facts are besides the point to the conspiracy.

you mask your usual penchant for criticising the government as if you actually cared about the plane. but you dont. you had your axe to grind and the plane crash is a good opportunity. If your pathetic opportunism wasnt so nakedly obvious I wouldnt be so critical.

You can stick your words of wisdom and love for the Govt up your ass for all I care, uncle. Yes, the way those two dunces acted, there will be many conspiracy theories, now either grow some balls and prove them wrong, or keep whining about it and attacking the people who come up with them personally.

haha.. there it is.. anyone who doesnt sieze upon every death to make his usual political points loves the government. brilliant.

i dont need to prove conspiracy theorists wrong. you are welcome to give them credibility, i'll continue to see them as tinfoil hat nutjobs, and the world is alright.

I wouldn't buy that 'missile' crap(though thats the word on the street in Pak) but the possibility of a struggle aboard the plane is VERY evident, considering how lax and negligent airport security is in Pakistan, and I am speaking from personal experience. You see thousands of suicide bombers ready to kill people, what makes you think they aren't ready to blow planes up and cause more damage? You just don't want to admit that possibility, and make it sound like a rosy 'we're right and we'll win the war' tune. Also, if u know someone who lives 2-3 KMs away from this airport ask them if the whole crashing into the margalla hills can be considered 'believable' accident.

Also, can you explain why the previous Multan crash reports aren't public yet? What Rahman Malik said moments after makes it sound like something happened aboard the plane. I still dont get it why he made that statement in the first place. It may have been an accident, and may still be but the way rahman malik and kaira made those statements; all i am saying is that such unprofessional behavior only garners the former theories, or conspiracy theories as you call them. And in the end, if you cant prove them wrong, or dont consider them worthy, let us be the judge of what we want to believe.

first off, you who complains about lengthy posts should see a bit of irony atleast in posting at such lengths yourself.

there is usually little point in arguing with a conspiracy theorist. so instead of trying to prove that there is no conspiracy i'll just point on some rather obvious errors you're making.

you're not consistent: You have, elsewhere argued that I and others hype up the threat of terrorism and blame everything on them. Now you think I want to downplay terrorism. if that is the case, why is the government, and I according to you, usually eager to blame everything on terrorism?

there is little evidence that the government tries to hide terrorism given that hundreds of other, sometimes even more deadly, terrorist attacks that happen all the time, which the government usually highlights in order to sustain public support.

you are making non-sequiters: Proximity to the airport is no qualification for expert opinion. there have been many experts interviewed by dozens of media sources, people who have flown that route routinely. By far dominant opinion has been one of 'its too soon to say' or 'maybe pilot error' and so on. Not missile hit it or terrorist blew it up.

the evidence you offer is irrelevant: the basis for saying it was a struggle and then crashed into margalla hills is geography. while the basis for conspiracy theory is Rehman Malik's statement that 5 people are injured and Kaira saying black box has been found then denying it (though the french team recovered it on Saturday). there is zero connection between the two basis.

You would have the exact same conspiracy theory even if Rehman and Kaira did not make those statements.

Yours are basically heaps of the same thing over and over again and in the end you just state you wont bother proving anything because you dont feel like it. So why bother then, save yourself some valuable time.

So don’t argue then, and get outta my thread if you cant prove squat. You sound like those boring old motey uncle hazraat who wouldnt accept anything but would just point out silly trivial things, beta aap ney paragraphing nahee kee yah spelling mistake kar di hai. Oh wait, you are one :hehe:

I dont give a shizzlestick if you think Im consistent or not. Where exactly did I say you blame everything on terrorists, and even if you do what does that have to do with this thread? Do you go around searching my 10K or so posts before you try to reply to me?

Obviously you haven’t seen a single interview shown on any media channels uncle. And who said the plane blew up? hahaha

Umm, obviously psychology isnt your area of expertise. Claiming there are survivors right after an obvious crash that looks like a struggle, and dicking around saying the black box is found/not found with conflicting reports is the first sign of a cover up. The same thing happened right after the BB assassination, the washup within minutes, evidence destroyed… The funny thing is now its becoming more and more evident that the Govt was to blame significantly for that, as verified by the UN commission.

Blow me.

You seem to believe the only point of conversation is to prove things. I am perfectly happy poking holes in what you think you’re proving.

Aw am I ruining your thread? Once again, my aim hasnt been to prove anything. I think i’ve accomplished what I wanted already, you were hiding behind Shahid Masood and saying ‘i dont blame him’ and have been baited into hypothesizing them properly without the sneaky little trick of talking out of both sides of your mouth.

Btw theres two years between us, so either you’re a child who refuses to grow up or we’re both uncles. but I’ll let you be a child if you choose to be one.. everyone ought to understand now that this little child wishes to propogate conspiracy theories a couple of days after the plane crash, with the smokescreen of political criticism for cover for when people call him out for making hay from the dead.

Oh I know your profile fairly well. Your being one-tone and singledimensional helps, if you held complicated political views it would be another matter. Just last year you were explicitly saying that theres no talibanization in karachi, even quoting the great Zaid Hamid, that man famous for providing absolutely non-conspiratorial analysis. Now the plane flew from Karachi correct?

But leaving specific posts aside, lets say we both know your views that the government hypes up terrorism… takes actions such as starting operations when zardari visits amreeka etc. Why would such a government downplay terrorism in this case?

I quote: You see thousands of suicide bombers ready to kill people, what makes you think they aren’t ready to blow planes up and cause more damage?

Oh you’re right maybe I havent seen a single interview shown on any media channels. So please tell me, which expert has said that a missile blew it up or that there was a struggle or that there were extremists involved. Im talking about experts here, pilots etc please.

oooh psychology! absolutely, pyschologists all agree that claiming there are survivors from an obvious crash that looks like a struggle and conflicting reports of a black box are the first signs of a cover up.

you’re insane.

did the UN commission also mention these psychologists?

aw

Even wondered why you gained a lot of weight, lost all your hair my friend? That long post says it all. I didnt bother reading anything above, fyi...

Rahman Malik and Kaira are dodos, end of story, yap all you want now.

once again, you complain about length after writing a lengthy one yourself. if your prediction about the association of post length with baldness and weight is correct you're about the same size and hair distribution as me :)

and the bolded part is all you really care about in this thread. the plane crash and all that cover story about you caring because you're islamabadi is besides the point.

Thank God, I dont look anything like you my friend :)

blah blah blah

wonderful. you can believe whatever you want about how the world looks, what I care about is that you were no longer able to hide behind a human tragedy to push your usual bilge.