What is your weakness ...

At interviews ,one of the question that always stumps me and makes me uncomfortable is the question about strengths and weaknesses. I just dont like the question much … but as life has it , you have no choice but to answer it …

what is the best way to answer this question?

Re: What is your weakness ...

Be modest and accept you have weaknesses.

Its a tricky question deliberately left in the interview sheet to test weather the candidate is too coksure of themselves no employer likes to employ someone who acts like the know it all and mucks up.

Besides take it and use it to show that you have a human side and that indeed you might make mistakes for whatever reason but that your willing to learn from those around you and help others who might fall for the same pit.

In my last interview i admitted any weaknesses and stated them as they were right there and then in the interview.... i like getting the main things straight at the end of the day i would rather have a job where the management knew i might be weaker in some areas and need support than be left to cope with problems and fail to acheive objectives.

Offcourse any serious liabilities should be made open at the outset even if it might compromise you.... remmber in the long term you want a job which you will be happy with whats the pointof working in a tense environment waiting for a mistake better to be prepared fromt he outset.

Kryptonite.. always Kryptonite :(

Re: What is your weakness …

LOLz :hehe:

Kya GS main superman aur bakee superhero kee kamee naheen… :cb:

Excellent insight Faris .. your post definitely made alot of sense , thanks for sharing your thoughts ..

Nobody is perfect , yes , but you do not want to tell your employer that. If you have a weakness turn it into a strength.
"I have never missed a deadline but some people have told me that I am bit too slow , but my take on this is because I want to do the best job I can. I guess you could say I'm a bit anal when it comes to perfection. "

If a job does not require you to do project management but you might be asked to later on . You could say I need to gain some expertise in project management. I am working on it and preparing for the certification.

I am realizing that I have to sharpen my communication skills and for that I am reading some books and have a mentor to help me out.

These are some good answers too form other sources:

• You should answer with things you "are improving upon," e.g., "I believe I should always be improving upon myself, good or bad." You are answering the dreaded question without looking like an egotistical maniac, and showing the interviewer that you see yourself as a work in progress, trying to better all of your qualities.

• For your weakness, just pick one that is not going to disqualify you from the job, and then follow up with - this is what really matters - the examples of what you are doing (or have done) to fix your weakness. The most important point here is to show that you learn from your mistakes and your weakness, and you are taking the corrective action to fix the situation - and stress that! For example, if the job does not require public speaking, you can say that your weakness is you are afraid of speaking in front of the public. Then tell the interviewers that you have joined a Toastmaster club or public speech course to overcome the problem. Remind them that when you identify a problem, you actively take actions to correct it, and that is how you do things.

• Don't try to use a cliche or try to present a strength as a weakness by saying your weakness is that you are a workaholic. No one will believe that answer. Being too emotional will make the recruiter wonder if your interpersonal skills are lacking. Give a true weakness but one of modest size. Shows that you have taken steps to correct the weakness. For example you want to improve your MS Excel skills so you are taking a course on that now.

• I used to have trouble with procrastinating, now I have learned to write down a list of things that I need to do, and keep a calender to keep track of deadlines. I have found that this not only helps me to finish things on time, but it has also helped me to be more organized.

• For my weakness, I always say that some people say I'm over-friendly. You can't go wrong with that one. Usually, the person interviewing is like "Oh, that's not a bad thing at all."

• I'm a little egoistic when it comes to winning things and get a little ruthless too.

• I lose patience sometimes when I am not in a position to complete the assigned job in time.

• I have to work on having more patience and giving myself a break, because I always want everything done at once.

• Tend to go to any limits while helping my friends.

• I am too focused on my work and I need to find more time to relax.

• I'm too focused on work and need to develop some after-hours hobbies.

Mirch , makes tonns of good sense ... its really helped that you have shared some examples ...

My pleasure and good luck on your job search.

Overall, I agree with Faris and Mirch bhai... it's best to narrate a weakness that you have actively tried to overcome - all the better if it's something that demonstrates that you've worked on a skill that is important for the job role that you're applying for.

As already noted above, I also really don't agree with the advice that you can take something that might otherwise be a strength and relate it as a weakness... I can't tell you how many times I've heard the same old responses : "I'm a bit of a perfectionist / workoholic / too friendly" etc.

To add to some of the examples posted above, something I've personally used a few years back was that in the early days of my career, I had a little difficulty in delegating tasks, most likely to due the independent scope of my initial job roles as a software engineer and a business analyst, but over the years, I worked on building effective communication skills and read up on collaboration strategies and put them into practice to help me succeed in my new role as a management consultant.

In my observation, a narrative such as this works well because it demonstrates a balance in your personality and work ethic in the sense that although you're confident in your current skillset, you're always willing to learn and better yourself.

^I will disagree....

I have encountered this question . The best way to answer is....

Fo ex:-

My weakness is my perfection.I want things to get done in a perfect manner but my colleagues may not accomplish the same ,and I get rattled sometimes..Or I sm atubborn about punctual ity but my colleagues are not and I need to be over empahtic...

It should in be in a way that you are highlighting your strength through your weakness!!

But when I confronted this question in Reliance Telecom,the answer I made was ,Ido not have any weak point but if somebody can point it to me,I am ready to analyse and may assimilate it.

^ you're entitled to your opinion, but whenever I'm part of an interview panel where a candidate says they're a perfectionist or a workoholic and classify it as a weakness, I can't help thinking "oh puhleez... gimme a break!". A weakness is something that you need to have realized as a detriment to your work, and being a workoholic or a perfectionist in many situations isn't quite as bad as a lot of other day-to-day deficiencies that a person has to contend with.

CVs and interviews!!! I never got a job on these basis - although I've worked for 10 employers in 26 years. (only on reference - parchi). But failed in at least 50 interviews only because of these pinching questions.

It varies from regions to regions.It varies from organizations to organizations.It varies from persons to persons.

Re: What is your weakness …

Do not worry Mostar Bhai.May the great almighty help you find a good job soon. :slight_smile: :k: