What is your opinion ?

I have noticed that desi people by and large try to pretend that they know it all. They are experts of everything. The prime example is when common folk try to prescribe medications or treatment for serious diseases. For example it is commonly suggested for stroke victims or polio victims to rub blood of a wild pigeon/kabutar on the affected area. My wife had a very serious disease but her very educated sister and brother in law wanted me to put a taweez around her neck as a treatment which they got from some pir sahab to help me out. On top of that their son is an MD here in US who knew what my wife was suffering from and was getting the best treatment possible.
Our unmarried people try to solve issues of married people. Unmarried people try to be expert in sex related issues. Teenagers try to solve issues faced by matured people.
People try to pass fatwa on religious issues although they can hardly read Quran and hadees.
Why can’t we limit our opinions to the subjects we know about or we are qualified to talk on and leave some stuff for right kind of professionals ?

Re: What is your opinion ?

ignorance does not discriminate. all people from all backgrounds, could be unfortunately ignorant and stay that way, if they are are not able to seek educated or when education is kept from them.

if you have felt that desi people are uneducated in their behaviors or thoughts, then what have you done (not put your person on the spot) to put some education in their heads?

that is the important thing, no matter how hard or at times disappionting, that wevery educated desi must take on, to pervent ignorance from becoming a sign of desis.

i read your post and your signature and concluded that i have to be careful in the future.

^ lOl

hmmm well see peOple sOmetime act “desi” even though they are educated / nOt as far as i have experienced i think change of environment matters alOt like where the person has grew up u knOw

kabhi kabhi laug parray likhey ho ker bhi jahilOn ki tarah act kertay hain :snooty:

I have only observed desi folks behaving this way. I have friends and acquaintances of many ethnicities.
Once I have gotten severe allergic reaction to something in my backyard. All the desies including a desi PA friend of mine declared it to be poison Ivy and suggested many different kinds of treatments . Co workers of mine from other ethnicities told me to go to urgent care and get it treated. It turned out to be allergic reaction to some unidentified thing and was treated by steroids. Being ignorant is not wrong. Being ignorant and not knowing about it is dangerous. Like if someone is having heart attack . And a friend says I do not know what is happening with you let me call an ambulance . On the other hand a Mr. Know it All will offer soda saying that it is just a little indigestion or gas. Will it not be fatal for the person having a heart attack ? People have died in Pakistan , they had appendicitis but they were given chooran as treatment for stomach ache by their loved ones.

maybe it has something to do with desis not minding their own bussiness ever,everyones masla is theirs.even when ur not really looking for an advice it becomes their duty to lecture you

Right you are.

:CareBear: i agree with with u’ve said so far , and believe me it does get irritating …
my common observation in this regard is that , even if u open up -or- share any sort of problem or thoughts or an experience with a desi fellow he/ she always end up giving u an advice and some do it without even listening properly or understanding what u mean by that leaving u like :smack: some do the same if if they’ve got to know about yr problem from someother source

u’re right

Actually, I have also noticed this phenomenon where our desi brothers and sisters have the best advice for any occasion, at any time, any place. This is a hereditary condition. But, with increased awareness, yes, some people do have good advice even though they have not been in that situation.

However, my rule of thumb is to take advice from people who have fruit on the tree. For instance, I would hesitate to ask a teenager how to sell a house, or ask an unmarried girl how to nurse a baby unless she is a trained midwife or healthcare professional.

So I guess it works both ways. How open are you in asking? Ask and you shall receive. Don't ask, people usually get the vibes that they are not being solicited.

[quote=“Niksik”]

I would hesitate to ask a teenager how to sell a house, or ask an unmarried girl how to nurse a baby unless she is a trained midwife or healthcare professional.
quote]
This is the issue even if you do not solicit advice, they will try to shove it down your throat.:smack:

depends on the person . some ppl are very expressive . some are shy like me :cb:

so the expressive ppl cannot stop saying things . they want everything to be explained one way or other . so one can find out when they are being more expressive.

but true majority of the ppl are like that :slight_smile:

mirh itna lamba swal ?

^ yea kaisy baat hey

edit

edit

You can never be too carefull when the subject is so touchy. So I wanted to make sure that I could express clearly what I am trying to say.

per sawal hy kia ?

ohhh aach

you are right.