Is that a desi line or have you heard it with other nationalities too ???
What other similar lines are particular to us desis version of English ? Considering it isn’t our mother tongue its understandable we won’t be perfect at it however some lines seem to have been passed on generation to generation and incorporated to Hinglish and are absolutely adorable and peculiar to just us
Share other such lines that come to mind !
Another personal favourite is "Close the lights " …****
Close the lights.. awww brings back memories I have the opposite problem; for the longest time i used to say "radio ko khelo" as in "play the radio" ahahaha i rule and stuff
Gosh, you're all a right lot of meanies, aren't you?
You're just plain lucky you've been born and bred, (I'm just assuming), in the west. Had your families decided to stick it out in Pakistan, you probably would have been saying 'What is your good name?' too... on this very same forum.
I was in Pakistan and rang up a shop and said to the shopkeeper 'aap khullay hain?', he replied 'mein bandha hee kab tha jo ab khull jaoon ga' and proceeded to tell the rest of my khandaan, I'm teased to this day. I don't think I'll ever live it down!
I don't understand the good name/bad name? What's all that about?
You're just plain lucky you've been born and bred, (I'm just assuming), in the west. Had your families decided to stick it out in Pakistan, you probably would have been saying 'What is your good name?' too... on this very same forum.
Mashallah say our families moved so that we do not say What is your good name. Nahi ?
Oh ho Alia. Itna Ghussa? See it works both ways as KiteRunner's example states.
I was in Pakistan and rang up a shop and said to the shopkeeper 'aap khullay hain?', he replied 'mein bandha hee kab tha jo ab khull jaoon ga' and proceeded to tell the rest of my khandaan, I'm teased to this day. I don't think I'll ever live it down!
I don't understand the good name/bad name? What's all that about?
I woulda said the same thing as you did. My urdu sucks cause I translate the English way to Urdu ahahaha