What is your earliest memory?

or more than one ofcourse. And how old were you?

Re: What is your earliest memory?

putting my toffees in biscuit carton with dead choozas on the perception that they would wake-up in evening and eat that. By evening ants found the way to carton and amma knew what had happened.

It was quite similar concept to pyramids of pharaoh. :hehe:

Death of Naani Amma

i think i was under 5 years of age when i came running home with innumerable miniscule holes in my shirt and scratching my head which had numerous pinhead size burn marks [the hair had burned out]. it was really a frightening moment for me.

what happened was that i was standing near the railways tracks when a steam locomotive passed by chugging out huge plume of dark smoke with burning red hot coal dust. engine se nikli hui chingaariyaaN mere sar pe aur kapRoN pe giriiN aur jahaN jahaN giriiN usko jalaa diyaa. sar ke baal jale, kapRe jale :frowning:

jala hai jism jahan dil bhi jal gaya hoga
kurdete ho jo ab raakh justuju kiya hai

sorry for being offtopic, but couldn’t resist

Magic show at my school.The magician was lying on the bed covered with a blanket posing like he was dead (that’s what I thought) and he made the bed rose few feets high above the ground,we all got scared.

I don’t know exactly. But some memories which I clearly remember are

• Family vacation in Pakistan with all my cousins. I think I must have been 4-5 years old.

• Grandma’s death. I must have been 5 years. It was after the vacation in Pakistan.

This is not a memory I’ve but something I’ve been told and something I still bear the consequences of.

My mom had invited my brother’s kindergarden class for his birthday and my brother and one of his friends locked little 2 year old me inside a closet. After a long time and a lot of crying from me - my mom found me helpless. I don’t remember this but I can’t go into a closet even today without feeling angst. Thanks to my dear brother and his stupid friend:teary2:

Great topic. So hard though.

lol…great she’r though that fits the situation well.

par, maiN ne to:

daaGh daaman pe nahiiN, dil pe liyaa hai maiN ne! :frowning:

A room with my mom, dadi, and other women sitting on top of mattresses. I think the walls of the room were blue. Outside the room, there was a stretcher in the hallway, the wall is pink. A packet containing some sort of powder to be mixed in water…my dad was sick. These are a few of the details I remember from the first time my parents and dada/dadi did hajj. When I told my parents these details…they were pretty surprised I even remembered them…as I was only 3-years-old at the time.

Odd that you bring up 3 year old memory. I remember - as a 3 yr old - we went to native place. Just mother and us bros. Recall my sitting on the floor. My mothers father and mother are only two people I recall from that trip. Vaguely recall kindergarten as 4 yr old. The classroom. And teacher. Hazy.

Yeah it is odd, considering there are no photographs of the event. Years later when I told my parents these details…my mom was surprised because she didn’t remember what color the walls were. So who confirmed it wasn’t all in my head? My dad, lol. He was smiling..cuz he has a stronger memory MashaAllah…and told me I was right.

Even though my real memories are from Mars when I was born over 200 years ago…:smiley:

I can share my memory even as young as between 1-2 years old.

I remember my posture while drinking chocolate milk though a bottle…one leg ankle over my other knee …while lying in the bed. I even remember, I used to throw the bottle when finished… on to the floor from the bed.

My elders tell me I never touched chocolate milk bottle beyond 2 years of my life.

I even remember when I was carried in my father’s hands as a young boy on a sidewalk and remember his big hands and hair on the back of his fingers (obviously compared to mine at that time) and fingers across his chest,… while looking down when I must have been 2-3 years old.

Just like yesterday.

Interesting huh?

**Brain can register memories on very early age.

I do know people who remember few events as early as 3 years old.

The earliest memory of my childhood was the car crash. I was four years old. Witnessed the rickshaw driver dying in his own pool of blood. Then a guy with a checkered shirt ran to us picking me up off the road. All I remember was a lot of people around us. Then I remember the moments before they took me in for 61 stitches to sew back my half exposed skull.

For some odd reason, I remember asking my Dadi to put kajal in my swollen eyes from the accident.

Playing with a toy car and seeing my family member holding my brother after he was born and came home. Both around when I was 3ish or younger.

When I was 2 years old, I was playing at home with a chain necklace near an electrical socket… bad idea. :bummer: I then recall a “boom”, the top of my fingers being black and crying for my grandmother (since she used to baby-sit me). I also remember my mother and someone else (i.e. my uncle) running towards me, afterwards. Apparently I had stuck the chain into the socket, causing some sort of mini explosion. Luckily I made a full recovery. :blush:

Great replies/memories everyone! Replying to each wont be impossible, but intriguing to read it!

Amazing to read that some people can even remember events of when they were only 2.

My earliest memory is of when I was 3. I remember myself sitting on the stairs in my maternal grandparents’ house in Pakistan. I had some other little girls sitting with me. It was summer and I remember I was wearing a brownish lawn suit.

Death of my sister when I was 2or 3 yrs

^ awe. sad

i fear it might just be a false memory :hmmm: