What is with the pants guys wear in Pakistan?

^ oh puuulease.

In India they wear those dhoti things with the cloth in the middle.

Some Arabics wear a thob.The long white kurtah type thing.

So what? Its the way they've worn things- and maybe its the way they prefer to. There doesnt have to be a reason to show their 'family jewels' or whatever funguy was saying.

sheesh people.
Im so glad to hear all you Westerners know the right way to dress.Says so much.

:hehe: Munni we all Wonder why the guys wear’em so high LOL!!! I haven’t a clue.

hahaha! Just the other day I saw a desi guy with his wife. And he was wearing his pants as high as steve urkel. I had to control my laughter. He looked like a total gaonwala while his wife/gf was pretty okayish.

*Originally posted by Muslim_Queen: *
^ oh puuulease.

In India they wear those dhoti things with the cloth in the middle.

Some Arabics wear a thob.The long white kurtah type thing.

So what? Its the way they've worn things- and maybe its the way they prefer to. There doesnt have to be a reason to show their 'family jewels' or whatever funguy was saying.

sheesh people.
Im so glad to hear all you Westerners know the right way to dress.Says so much.

Easy now! That IS the way they wear a dhoti. Someone wearing it lifted from both sides and hanging in the middle would probably look wrong. A thigh length thob would look equally ridiculous. A lady wearing dhoti shalwars today would look just as silly since the fashion went out some 15 years ago I think. The tight jeans fashion went out a long time ago too. So until it doesn't come back anyone wearing it will look odd.

*Originally posted by Femme Fatale: *

Easy now! That IS the way they wear a dhoti. Someone wearing it lifted from both sides and hanging in the middle would probably look wrong. A thigh length thob would look equally ridiculous. A lady wearing dhoti shalwars today would look just as silly since the fashion went out some 15 years ago I think. The tight jeans fashion went out a long time ago too. So until it doesn't come back anyone wearing it will look odd.

Right.Did I say that it ISNT the way to wear a dhoti? Im pointing out to you the different ways in which people dress. And pray tell me since when did people wear thigh lengh thobs?

Im not talking about how fashions change.Im talking about the fact that different people dress in different ways. You think that high pants are ridiculous- some people think that wearing mini skirts or low jeans are also ridiculous.

Im not saying it looks nice ,or ridiculous.Im simply saying its their choice- if they want to dress that way.

The reason I put this thread is because its something I have always wondered about, and apparently many other people have too. It is not to poke fun at people who wear their pants like that, its that I want to know why they wear them like that. It is often mentioned that Pakistanis try to ape the West in fashion, and that isnt the fashion here, so therefore my query. The explanation of them trying to hide their belly wouldnt explain it for many because I saw really skinny guys wearing them like that as well, and tight. Maybe its due to the decade thing, I'm not sure. But yeah I do remember when I was in Pakistan that the popular American songs all my cousins were into were those of the early 80's, a decade earlier. Interesting.

As far as my dress sense, I've been told I dress like a granny, so again, it isnt to poke fun at others, but rather to understand the influence. smile

*Originally posted by Muslim_Queen: *

Right.Did I say that it ISNT the way to wear a dhoti? Im pointing out to you the different ways in which people dress. And pray tell me since when did people wear thigh lengh thobs?

Im not talking about how fashions change.Im talking about the fact that different people dress in different ways. You think that high pants are ridiculous- some people think that wearing mini skirts or low jeans are also ridiculous.

Im not saying it looks nice ,or ridiculous.Im simply saying its their choice- if they want to dress that way.

In other words you simply are not an advocate of keeping up with trends. Wearing tight pants with sneakers was a fad more than anything else and has everything to do with changing fashions. The people who still wear it the same way simply never caught up with changing trends. If they still choose to dress up in an outdated way go ahead and do it. Still doesn;t change the fact that it looks pretty ugly.

In addition to that sharm haya and covering up is a big deal when it comes to women's dressing what about men wearing such tight clothing tht makes thier private areas so clearly visislbe? Might aswell wear speedos!

FF what makes you think Im not an advocate for keeping up with the latest fashions?
The truth is I’ll wear what I want- and wont give a damn of what others think.
btw better go to Pakistan and tell those guys to lower their pants.:smiley:

Munni-------:hug: I know you just wanted to know.Truth is I have no clue why they do it.

Can you blame them? Just check out the clothing stores in Pakistan (not the elite ones that only the filthy rich can afford) and you’ll see that the western clothes they sell are out-dated. These poor guys will buy whatever is sold. Can’t expect them to import stuff off e-bay now can we? :rolleyes:

Or MQ you could tell them how you appreciate the tightness of their pants :smiley:

Hamsa you are right vaisay :bummer: Never thought of that. I guess the reform has to start at the supply level!

Some pakistani men and trousers, they are a crime to my fashionably halaal eyes.

Astagfirullah.

Meri jaan I never bothered to closely examine them the way you seem to have done.:smiley: I dont really care what they do.You’re the one who seems to be eager to see them get lower.:stuck_out_tongue:

Humsa---- yaar you’re the only one whos reply made any sense.

Ladies please stop it. All those guys with tight-pants in Pakiland must be sneezing uncontrollably.

Especially to see they are actually appreciated!!!

Humsa but discretion bhi tau koi cheez hoti hei nahi? You could untuck the t-shirt atleast. It's a lost battle I say.

MQ and FF, please stop this torture. My pants are tight as is.

there are 2 nore types of desi pants

one are the very baggy pants..almosty clown like..look like MC hammer pants and ppl still wear em, usually younger guys who think its cool.

but teh funny pants are what my gang refers to as the "Bau Pant" it would have like 4-5 pleats on each side but then would have tight straight legs..

ashtray, as far as making fun of how some ppl in pak dress, u can start a thread on how ppl abroad dress. i think there actually ahve been a few threads on that as well, but desis back home give more reasons for such posts :)

MQ stop stealing the “meri jaan” opener, I started it.

khush raho :flower1:

Ofcourse my reply made sense. Before coming here, I shopped around to buy some "western" clothing and all the stuff was pretty horrible. Then I tried Chen-One and ahh it was okay but after coming here, within a few months, I quit wearing their stuff too. The western fashion there evolves at a veryyyy slow pace.

Plus where do most people get their fashion ideas from? Magazines, tv, movies etc. In Pakistan very few people watch the latest movies. Most them are still into Westerns and the 70's stuff. So a tucked in shirt is considered "smart" there :D

Funguy do try to think about something else for a change.

hiccy--- meri jaan... my love- you forgot to get the official copyright for it.

humsa--- what a dilemma yaara.Ubb kia ho saktha hai?

MQ kuch bhi nahi. Just put with it. Anyway there are bigger issues to worry about :P