What is with the Indian crowd?/good to read (merged)

Re: What is with the Indian crowd?

bhai logo,samjha karo kay indians tali kion nahi baja rahay thay...their hands were busy somewhere else....haha....khair hats off to paki crowd tht they set an example of good behaviour

Wait till you watch West Indies crowd :hehe:

Yeah, 'cause it’s the West “INDIAN” crowd!!! :hehe:

99 WC was played in england…

I see your point, and agree to it. I guess this is the nature of the crowd, they will cheer the four by Shabbir, but won’t even clap once if Zaheer gets a wicket. This type of behavior is very common, and is not only restricted to Indian crowd, but in Pakistan as well, as they will tend to cheer their home team at all costs. Still, the actions that happened shouldn’t have occured in the first place, and ~TaNhAyAaN~ made a good point, that Indians could have very well fought until the end. They had at least a slim chance (that’s all they need, really - one wicket, and they all would have tumbled out in a short period of time), but the crowd practically spitted in the faces of their own players. Very shameful behavior, and pathetic.

Again, I am not taking a stab at any of the Indian brothers here, nor anyone in particular, this is just directed at those people who were responsible for such actions.

Correction made above. :slight_smile:

So good to read :slight_smile:

After watching the way the Indian crowd behaved in this tour, this article by Ananad Vasu sounds even better. This was written last year after the first ODI in Karachi. I am so proud!!!

Just like Mumbai

Anand Vasu in Karachi

March 13, 2004

Jagmohan Dalmiya called it the most orderly crowd he has ever seen. Of course he would. He’s a consummate politician. But the manner in which 33,000 Karachiites rose to the occasion in the face of a dramatic and absorbing game of cricket drowned out all talk of violent fringe elements and security concerns. Sourav Ganguly said soon after the game that he could barely hear his fielders. The clapping, cheering and plain old-fashioned yelling of a near-capacity crowd provided the perfect backdrop to the first one-day international of this series.

The start of a series is always special. No matter how well the spinmeisters hype the lead-up to a series, it is when the first ball is bowled that every switch in the part of the brain that makes one like cricket is thrown. The National Stadium in Karachi is massive. When it’s packed, like it was today, it comes to life. When you have a fast bowler like Shoaib Akhtar steaming in to deliver the first ball, it’s hard not to get goose-pimples at that moment, as the show gets under way.

Every time you walk out on the streets of this port city, whether it is the seriously upmarket beachside Clifton area, or the congested city centre, or Lalloo Keth, the hotbed of sectarian violence, you are met with warmth. So it was hardly surprising that the fans who thronged the stadium accorded the Indian team a fair response. When Sachin Tendulkar walked out to bat, there was a roar that confirmed that Karachi is indeed a mirror-city of Bombay. When Sourav Ganguly flatbatted Abdul Razzaq for a six, people wearing blue and waving Indian flags were brought to their feet. When Rahul Dravid was bowled, for 99, there was a huge sigh of disappointment, a feeling of empathy for a man who had done so well and had been denied his due. Not all the people who sighed were Indian.

As the match cranked up to its exciting finale, people could hardly keep their emotions in check. Yet, for every shout of “India down down”, there were answering cries of “India jeetega”. When Inzamam-ul-Haq walked out to bat, in a high-pressure situation, there were sections in the crowd with enough of a sense of humour to chorus “Aloo aloo!” Well, Inzamam might not have seen the funny side of things, but you don’t really expect a Pakistani home crowd to pick on their captain in a needle match against India.

Karachi rose, like a man wrongly jailed for murder and exonerated. The manner in which the crowd conducted itself lent substance to Dalmiya’s statement that India’s next tour of Pakistan would begin with a Test match here at the National Stadium. After this display, Karachi certainly deserves more than a solitary one-dayer in a 40-day tour.

http://uk.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2004/MAR/094406_PAKIND2003-04_13MAR2004.html

Re: So good to read :)

I don't know, man. I just think we went a bit overboard over there.

Seeing some other crowds, I doubt people in Pakistan will be that charitable next time, and rightly so. Qasam se, hamm ne theka tau nahi liya hua!

Re: So good to read :slight_smile:

:hehe: Haan yaar laikin impression to accha para na sab pay. I think that’s the most important part. No matter how you feel inside, if you have a smile on your face and clap for the other team, the world would rate you as a great spectator.

Havent you watched English, SA, and WI crowds (to some extent). They also favour the home side but they usually applaud, claps and appreciate opponent’s performance as well. Though I do not want to criticize indians for their behavior because I for one was not expecting them to reciprocate last years events and I also remembered Calcutta crowd from wc 96, 99.

Saby do u watch English fans when they play football. U know some years back Mr. Hussain i suppose was complaining that the english crowd turning up for cricket matches have no life in them. They sit with a cup of coffe and clap for good shots. Thats not what they wanted.
Its the same with SA crowds.These pepople have just come for having a day off.. to relax in the sun. Indians or Pakistanies dont come to do that. They come with passion.

Re: So good to read :slight_smile:

Judging by the responses by some Paki shmuck brothers in this thread, I think we do have the theka. Really.

Re: What is with the Indian crowd?/good to read (merged)

The behaviour of the crowd at Delhi was unacceptable. Period.

Some of you may remember though that in a far less 'good neighbourliness' period, at Madras, the Pakistani team got a standing ovation when they snatched victory from the jaws of defeat. Probably one of the rare occassions that a visiting team did a victory lap anywhere in the world.

My memorable trip to India ... the journey of friendship
By Tariq Butt

21 April 2005

DUBAI — Resumption of cricket ties between India and Pakistan and people-to-people contacts have gone a long way in easing the political temperature between the neighbours.

Thousands of people crossed over to India from Pakistan to witness the recent Friendship Cricket Series. And most of them returned home with fond memories of their landmark trip to India. For many, like me, it was a journey to trace my roots and, of course, win new friends.

My family usually used to travel to India till 1962 to showcase Pakistani films in select Amritsar cinema halls. My mother simply loved that city as she was married there and had spent her entire childhood there.

The relationship between the two countries turned sour after 1962 and Pakistanis were banned from crossing over the border.

However, destiny had something else in store for me. In 2004, I got an opportunity to visit India again but this time not to showcase any films but to officiate in the Junior Asia Cup where I was representing the UAE as a senior cricket umpire.

During my tour, I visited major cities of Andhra Pardesh which included Hyderabad and Vishkapatnam. During my visit I interacted with many Indians and through them I realised how much warmth they had for the Pakistanis.

This tour ended soon but the burning desire to explore India was always there. As soon as the Pakistan tour of India for 2005 was announced I had made up my mind to visit the country again.

I approached the Indian Counsulate in Dubai for an appointment with the Indian Consul-General Yash Sinha and B.S. Bisht whom I rate among my best friends.

Apart from their great support and help, I also received an invitation from my very good friend in India — former Indian captain and coach Bishen Singh Bedi. With such good people by my side I got my Indian visa in no time.

One of the people I remember most is an individual by the name of Raju Das who had visited Dubai along with Bedi and we had becom instant friends.

Before he left Dubai, he asked me to visit him in India and I readily accepted the invitation. Now, after my memorable trip to that country, I have more people to look forward to meeting in India then I have in Pakistan.

I arrived in Delhi via Lahore and as soon as I landed I could not believe the reception that awaited me. Raju greeted me with the warmest smile possible and I felt that I was in Lahore.

We quickly moved to a hotel in Delhi where I stayed for the next three days. I took time to explore the capital city, meet people and get their opinion on the India-Pakistan relations. Everyone I met had the same thought — that there should be everlasting and genuine peace between the neighbours.

During my stay there I met my long-time friend Ashish Thakur who had returned to Delhi from Dubai some 14 years back. Thakur, one of Dubai’s finest all-rounders continued the Indian legacy of being a fine host. He took me around the city.

Those were one of the best days of my life. Bedi remained in constant touch with me during my stay. Raju had provided me with his personal mobile phone, a car and a driver to move around the city — and they never left me alone for a moment.

On the final day while I was preparing to check out, the receptionist informed me that my hotel bill had been paid in full by Raju.

When I called him to inquire about the bill he told me that since I was his guest in Delhi he was too pleased to take care of the bill and that what he had done was not enough and he wanted to do more. I can never forget my gratuitous hosts in Delhi who made me feel like a VIP.

When I checked out of the hotel, Raju’s driver was waiting for me to take me to the railway station to board the Shatabdi Express for Chandigarh — my next destination.

At the Chandigarh railway station, another friend, Sunil Vohra, held a placard with my name on it. I was informed that Bedi had alerted some of his friends in Chandigarh about my arrival there so that I could be properly taken care of, and one of which was former Indian cricketer and hero of around 250 Punjabi films — Yograj Singh.

Another important person was Rajiv Chadha, who was waiting for me with a car. We drove around and I checked into a good hotel.

In the evening, we went to Sector 17 in Chandigarh — a beautiful shopping complex. We went to Yograj Singh’s petrol pump and later to a shopping complex within the sector.

There we met lots of Pakistanis and Indians. Most Indians were actually enquiring from the Pakistanis as to how Pakistan was. I spoke to a number of Pakistanis who told me that they had never expected such a reception from the people of Chandigarh. They loved it so much that some of them even said they don’t feel like going back.

The Chandigarh Government had announced that no Pakistani in the city should be troubled. Some of them even made the visitors stay in their homes and showered them with unmatched hospitality.

Apart from this there was a constant race going on with the natives of Chandigarh inviting Pakistanis to their homes. I had never seen such emotional scenes in my life.

One day, I decided to visit Sector 17 in shalwar kameez — the traditional Pakistan dress — and wherever I went, people would ask me to join them for dinner. Some even asked me to stay with them.

One of my friends from Dubai was desperately trying to reach me and when he finally did, he called me up and told me that he was coming to pick me up, instantly Yograj Singh snatched the phone from my hand and told my friend that not even the heavens can take ‘Butt Saheb’ away from here.

Later in the evening, Yograj Singh, my Dubai friend, Rajiv Chadha, Sharmaji. who owns a cricket stadim near Punchkula, and Kamal Sharma, one of India’s popular photographers sat together at the petrol pump and talked our hearts out — from Pakistan to India and to cricket. I saw the match for only two days but toured Chandigarh for the remaining six days.

My most memorable moments:

While dropping me at my hotel, Raju’s driver took a wrong turn and police officers quickly stopped us. They tried to fine the driver and asked for his license. I spoke to the officers and told him that the driver was dropping me off and I have come from Lahore. The police officer smiled, returned the license to the driver and asked us to go.

While visiting Sector 17 in my Shalwar Kameez, an elderly couple asked me whether I was from Lahore. When I said yes, she hugged me and said she can smell the fragrance of Lahore from me. With tears rolling in her eyes, she said that she was born in Model Town, Lahore, and she would like to visit the place before she dies.

Many people on both the sides of the borders have died with this small dream in their heart. I remember my mother had always said that she has everything in life but would like to visit Amritsar before she dies. Unfortunately, it could not happen.

One of my main reasons to visit India was to see the Taj Mahal. With a heavy heart when I checked out of the Chandigarh hotel, my bill, as usual ,was already paid by Rajiv Chadha and I remained speechless.

I boarded the Shadabdi Express and reached Delhi, Chadha’s driver was waiting patiently for me at the railway station and we went to see the Taj Mahal. I found the monument beautiful and I couldn’t believe my luck.

The next few days were spent shopping in the bazaars of Delhi and everywhere I avoided my hosts since they would never let me pay. On March 5 — my last day in Delhi — I checked out, thanking my hosts.

I can never be thankful enough to the Indian Consulate in Dubai who had provided me with the opportunity to visit India and my hosts in Delhi and Chandigarh who were responsible for creating the most magical and memorable journey of my life.

During my stay in India I met so many Pakistani and Indian journalists who had only one question on their lips... when the India-Pakistan matches will resume in Sharjah? I wish that this atmosphere of peace remains forever between the two nations and comes a point when we don’t even need a visa to enter each other’s country.

^_^ Beautiful article. Got me teary-eyed. :(

Would you also mind providing the actual source for it?

Pakistanis are so psychologically weak, they've pretty much jhukaafied infront of the arrogant Indians and these cricket series' opposing crowd behaviour in the two countries proves it. We treat those (#$()# like VIPs and look what we get in return....I agree with the view that we oughtta return in kind next time!

That was from http://www.khaleejtimes.com/Sectionhomenew.asp?section=sports

Really? :hehe: How many tickets were sold? I think someone is trying to show that Indians showered same warmth and love to the thousands, but I don’t believe that many people really crossed over… some exaggerations.

Believe what u think must be true.. after all why bother changing your or other's views - that's hard work isn't it?

The reality is not black and white.. not all indians behave badly and I am sure not all pakistanis are angels.. it takes time to work at fixing mistakes.. and if you want to judge people on what you see in a cricket stadium, I can't help you.

^ No, I don't use one brush to paint all people but article didn't seem true. Author might have seen good part but its very likely that this is a case of "when you are happy everyone you see is happy". Anyway, I really don't care much about the crowd behavior to begin with .... and I don't mean to say all Indians are b!tches either.

-------------x--------------
Yes! Some one did nikhil25.
In fact I have at least 3 Jamaicans in my office who are 'reminding me of the Pak tour of W.Indies and we talk about it on daily basis.
They want to know about Shoaib Akhter, Inzimam, about the new palyers and the series outcome,we tease each other and they are aware of the recent Pak tour of India matches and outcome,
They are thrilled to know how we get our live video streams of the matches etc,

• It was freak’in all over the Direct and Rogers, PPV, LOOK, Congeco etc etc etc, FOR GOD SAKE, why do you have to repose the obvious each time there is an Indian down element, Some superior complex !!! :rolleyes: