janam patri
putri urdu se dur hi raho to acha hai. chai:
Re: What is the urdu for biodata?
thanks for the info ![]()
seriously bio date is shijra'e-e-nisab
or just shajra
As I always say, Urdu is a blend of so many different local (old) languages of the world which were spoken in South Asia many centuries ago. This blend took place over the span of several decades and Urdu language has matured quite much over the time. These languages include Turkish, Persian, Arabic, English, Punjabi and many other which are either forgotten or spoken in very few communities now.
What are the Urdu words for:
Machine
Drive / Driver
Television
Radio
Phone
Channels
Plastic
Chips
Plug
seriously bio date is shijra'e-e-nisab
or just shajra
Not quite right.
Biodata simply means information about a body. Its simple translation in urdu should be Qawaif. Qawaif means information *abt somehting OR *salient features Which is the same as biodata.
Shajra is different. It is called ' lineage'
As I always say, Urdu is a blend of so many different local (old) languages of the world which were spoken in South Asia many centuries ago. This blend took place over the span of several decades and Urdu language has matured quite much over the time. These languages include Turkish, Persian, Arabic, English, Punjabi and many other which are either forgotten or spoken in very few communities now.
Machine Drive / Driver Television Radio Phone Channels Plastic Chips Plug
if you have ever read old urdu literature books you would have found words for all those english words. just because we don't know them doesn't mean they don't exist i am not sure about plastic, does french and german language have a different name for plastic.
Not quite right.
Biodata simply means information about a body. Its simple translation in urdu should be Qawaif. Qawaif means information *abt somehting OR *salient features Which is the same as biodata.
Shajra is different. It is called in english as lineage
exactly word by work meaning doesn't have to match. word bio date is used when people are asking about information of someone or something. i know bio mean life blah blah blah, but as i said exact word by word doesn't have to match, we need to see in what situation this word can be used and that's how we see the urdu meaning. just because cricket is a name of an insect it doesn't mean when we are talking about cricket we are talking about jheengar.
i was watching ashfaq ahmed's old black and white drama, and they used that work when some dude went for his interivew. they needed his shajra-e-nasab.
the word in question is 'Biodata'
i know really…duh 2 me
i dont know wat was i thinking at that time…:halo:
kucha-chutha :o
Janam Kundli ziada sahih hy na:D
if you have ever read old urdu literature books you would have found words for all those english words. just because we don't know them doesn't mean they don't exist i am not sure about plastic, does french and german language have a different name for plastic.
You confidently claim that these words do have Urdu translation. To support your claim, you need to provide the translation of the words below as I cannot seem to find them:
Machine Drive / Driver Television Radio Phone Channels Plastic Chips Plug
One good thing about English speaking population is that they do not make fun of their own language if new word is added. One can make up any word combination which can convey the meaning and promote it.
Just make up the words and use it! Thats the way the language florishes.
The language stops when new words are not allowed to enter.
For example word plastic was not present until it was invented!
I think Driver means Gadibaan or Garibaan
Chips meaning Tukray or Parat (Aaloo tukray or even Aaloo Parat)
Plug may mean Gutka
TV ...DoorNazar or DoorNazaara
Radio... Door Sada
Phone Door Samaa-ut
Machine.... Sahoolti? (From Sahoolat or Asaani)
Channels ..I cannot think of at this time
Plastic is a chemical and material name. One can name it anything close to it.
Interesting points there you have. Yes, creating a new word which could match the closest meaning should be the tendency. Yeah that's how languages flourish.
And thank you for the meanings.
Why would you call plug a 'gutka. What does it originally mean? And also you have added 'door' with TV, Radio and phone. What does door mean? I thought it meant 'far'?
One good thing about English speaking population is that they do not make fun of their own language if new word is added. One can make up any word combination which can convey the meaning and promote it.
Just make up the words and use it! Thats the way the language florishes. The language stops when new words are not allowed to enter. For example word plastic was not present until it was invented!
I think Driver means Gadibaan or Garibaan Chips meaning Tukray or Parat (Aaloo tukray or even Aaloo Parat) Plug may mean Gutka TV ...DoorNazar or DoorNazaara Radio... Door Sada Phone Door Samaa-ut Machine.... Sahoolti? (From Sahoolat or Asaani) Channels ..I cannot think of at this time Plastic is a chemical and material name. One can name it anything close to it.
Interesting points there you have. Yes, creating a new word which could match the closest meaning should be the tendency. Yeah that's how languages flourish.
And thank you for the meanings.
Why would you call plug a 'gutka. What does it originally mean? And also you have added 'door' with TV, Radio and phone. What does door mean? I thought it meant 'far'?
Thank you.
Tele means from far and distance.
Such as teleportation sending something far away..etc.
Hence tele-vision tele-phone means seeing and hearing from far.
DoorDarshan is also used for TV by people.
Gutka can be considered as something small which get stuck into a whole usually a wooden piece....its one of the slang word.
Some people call gutka as something they chew or eat...with Paan leaf I think.
One must continue to add words to the language
....but just to make a point; since the topic is translation into one language from other....
Let me ask
What is he meaning of 'Gulshan Ka Kaarobar' in English?
(Business of Garden... meaning someone selling flowers??:))
Famous ghazal:
Gulon mein Rang Bhare Baade Nau Bahaar Chale
Chale Bhi Aao Keh Gulshan Ka Karobaar Chale
( By Faiz)
The point is there some words which cannot be completely translated in to English to get the point across..or vice versa.
A lot depends on which side of the fence you are at and what has been your initial learning of the culture.