What is the meaning

of ‘Darood’ as in darood-o-salaam

2.What is the meaning of :saw: and :as:, what is the diffence in both ?

1. Can we use :saw: and :as: Interchangeably like saying Hazrat Esa :saw:
    and Hazrat Muhammad :as: ? If not then why ?

Please answer these questions if you are sure about them, not guessing.

Thanks in advance

:confused:

Anyone ?

:saw: roughly translates as “Peace and Blessings of God be upon him”

and…

:as: means “Peace be upon him”

I think…

I’ve seen in some places people using :saw: for other prophets but I wouldn’t feel comfortable using it after anyone other than the Imam of the Prophets (sallallaho alayhe wassallam).

so it is almost same thing ?

:saw: Derood hay jub k :as: Derrod nehi

aur Quran-e-Kareem main hay k" Allah aur us k ferishtay Hazoor :saw: per Derood bhaijetay hain"

so Derood sirf Hazret Mohammad :saw: k liyai hai

:slight_smile:

Acha theek hai :)

tu darood ka kia matlab hua phir ?

Smilly, can you tell me where in the Quran Allah and his angels send durood to Prophet Mohammed?

*Originally posted by aahmed: *
Smilly, can you tell me where in the Quran Allah and his angels send durood to Prophet Mohammed?

Perhaps this one? :

33.43 He it is Who sends blessings on you, as do His angels, that He may bring you out from the depths of Darkness into light: and He is Full of Mercy to the Believers.

*Originally posted by aahmed: *

Allow me to do so on behalf of Smilly,

Allah and His angels send blessings on the Prophet: O ye that believe! Send ye blessings on him, and salute him with all respect. [Surah Al Ahzaab:56] translation of Yusufali

Lo! Allah and His angels shower blessings on the Prophet. O ye who believe! Ask blessings on him and salute him with a worthy salutation. [Surah Al Ahzaab:56] translation of Pickthall

thx Ibn Sadique :slight_smile:

Now anyone please answer my questions. :bummer:

There is no argument why we send darood on prophet mohammad :saw:
As my respected friends have pointed out. So the question is what is the difference between :saw: and :as: ?

To me the meaning is almost same like

:saw: =>peace be upon him(PBUH)

:as: => peace be upon them/him

So what is the diffence between two and why one is darood and other is not ??

ok let me see what i can translate each into :slight_smile:

:saw: >>> Blessings and peace From Allah to him (and his aal [if used with "wa aalehi]) :slight_smile: … {The word Sallal(ah) meaning blessing from ALLAH has the same root as for the word salah (prayer) while Sallam = peace}

:as: >> Peace be upon him

Simple???:slight_smile:

so now u know what durood means and what “peace be upon him” means…

That is the reason many learned people argue that Muslims must learn Arabic for understanding such small (yet important) issues:flower1: