What is really bad about talking to yourself?

What’s wrong with it? Is it a taboo? If you do talk to yourself, what stops you from doing it? Is it strange? If you see somebody talking to themselves, would you prescribe to the popular opinion of ‘he is crazy’?

That is what I find most pleasing about Islam…You can be as strange as you want to be without anyone judging you…

Hz. Ali :razi: once stated a thing so beautiful, that it will make you think…

Hz. Ali :razi: stated, “If you decide to change today, do not worry about what you were before…”(References available upon request, however, Thomas Cleary’s Living and Dying with Grace, {Hurrah for Google!} a masterfully translated English version of Nahj-ul-Balagha…

I know there are a few wise non-Muslims on GS, who understand what I am talking about…It is a matter of Peace…These non-Muslims understand the issue and importance and of peace…During Ramadan, at the last ten days, we get sympathise with these monks to live like them in our Masajid…Just ask a monk the importance of being in a state of peace…

I understand sometimes, to some, Islam may come across as a very rude religion…I understand…But you also have to realize, that it’s making sure of keeping peace of mind for each and everyone…

Khair? So is it? Bad?

Re: What is really bad about talking to yourself?

lajjo i almost didnt want to point out the irony for ruining it :D

Nope, by all means continue.

Yep... irony is that when you decide to change TODAY, people will kill you for YESTERDAY :)

if you deserve to be killed for yesterday, you should be killed for yesterday even if youve changed today.

ravage ism ba musama hain aap tou.

i talk to myself all the time :phati:

Croquet aap khud hon gai ism ba musamma! ziada naam calling ki to mod ko report kar doun ga :mad:

Hey, as Croquet said, by all means, continue...

I fail to see how these quotes make Islam peaceful? Forgiving maybe. But not peaceful.

Islam, like any religion is an encyclopedia of spin and distortion. You can quote two lines saying Islam lets people "be as strange as you want to be without anyone judging you" but I can quote you two saying Islam teaches intolerance.

The point being this: you're probing the Quran specifically looking for feel-good quotes - quotes you can plaster on this website and say "look, Islam is good...it accepts a psychological disorder". The fact is I can find you a dozen quotes from the Bible or Torah that agree with the Quran and a dozen more from the Bible, Torah and Quran that contradict it.

nai bhai aisa zulm na karain i take it back.aap bilkul bhi ism ba musama nahi hain.

Like most things, Islam is nothing. By that I mean it is simply an idea created by humans, you speak of it as a tangible good and its not, its members are but they aren't "Islam" and Islam it self cannot judge. Now those people who proclaim to follow 'Islam' are the ones who do the judging and all humans judge but you find the ones who keep such judgements to themselves or accepting no matter what they find in their judgements to be pleasing and I think for the most part that is a worthy trait to have.

"There but for the grace of god go I", I grew up hearing that a lot. I took to mean that you shouldn't judge someone harshly for under different circumstances the person you judge could be you.

As far as talking to yourself, it's rude to talk to yourself with so many Jinns around, no? :D

Interesting...are you a pacifist?

LOL...mankind is not peaceful, why on earth should Islam be?

What is with this faux criterion of a "good" religion? Spare us.

Religion guides...in war and in peace...and that is not meant to be a "feel good" thing.