What is "Nature" ?

Can Nature be called “Qudrat” ?

We also hear about “mother nature”. Who is that?

Re: What is "Nature" ?

nature as in mizaaj
nature as in qudrat
nature as in fitrat
nature of things = karishma saazii

The second part of question was a give away.

I 'll take your answer as yes, it is called "Qudrat".

But what is it?

Allah ke ilaava aur kaun ho saktaa hai...some may call it evolution :)

Not here. :)

Re: What is “Nature” ?

ummm…you provided no material for us to discuss? where are your comments :rolleyes:

At least I did not give three words and question mark!

I asked one word which people use all the time.

But how many really know what it means?

Religious people say its God/Allah.

Irreligious people mean it is just natural to have properties of elements or events.

uf hakeem saab, ap to bura he maan gaye :chai:

i think qudrat is the forces of the universe.

There you go. :slight_smile:

Forces of universe…meaning…?

Peace diwana

Nature is a special category for a certain type of Creation of Allah. It is the group name for all events ... events that take place without intended human intervention. Humans may interact with nature, but do not create nature in their acts. A rubber ball for example is the product of an artificial event or series of events although the ball itself is subject to nature in its existence.

Nature is the intent that Allah (SWT) has for how something exists, behaves and interacts with other things, except for all those things that humans intend them to have, although those too are subject to the Will of Allah as well, but in those things Allah (SWT) facilitates our choices. It is not nature that E-coli is genetically manipulated to mass produce insulin, but it is nature that doing this is possible.

Peace 2U2.

This is religious version of what nature is. :)

So what do athiests think and ghave idea what nature is. Why some events occur, why various things around us have particular properties?

If they are true atheists then they will have to resort to thermodynamics and entropy - but then they will be unable to answer why entropy should be true just that it is observed to be so. I mean why should something come about - Heisenberg principle says it comes about because it can. It is a scientific circular argument - when mathematics is reduced to theoretical statistics.

Nature: Well, Nature can be called ‘Qudrat’, but proper word for nature is ‘fitrat’ as Qudrat includes nature but is not confined to nature.

Mother nature:
For Muslims (also Jews and Christians), Mother Nature is God.

For pagans, they might have particular god as Mother Nature, a god who determines natural laws and looks after natural events.

For Scientists (also Agnostics and Atheist), Mother Nature is laws that govern the universe (or Laws of Physics).

Anyhow, even though you did not ask, I feel obliged to explain (according to my knowledge and understanding) a bit about your first question, so to clear confusion.

Nature = fitrat

It is inherent character that Allah has given to groups of similar creations, be that creation living or not.

[Lion do not like to climb tree, Cat loves milk, Males are attracted to females, Sun gives light, fire burns, snow is cold etc ... so, these are nature (fitrat) of Lion, Cat, Male, sun, fire, snow, etc].

Character = Mizaj
Something particular species (group) do not necessarily have as fitrat but is capable of, so selective in that species might have it as character different from the group as whole.

[Particular Lion loves to climb trees, Particular cat do not like milk, particular male do not get attracted to females, fire that do not burn, etc ... so, these would be character (Mizaj) of that particular Lion, cat, male, or fire, etc]

[To show sadness hearing bad news, show happiness hearing good news, show anger when agitated, is nature of human. Anyhow, some people do not show sadness hearing bad news, do not show happiness hearing good news, do not show anger when someone try to agitate them, and since any or all in a human is not norm, it is not considered natural (fitrati) but it is considered character (Mizaj) of these people.]

Miracle = Muajza
It is neither natural, neither can be classified as character. Even though Muajza happens for short time, it could be a continuous happening. Anyhow, when something happen continuously in certain species (or sub-species), it could be classified as fitrat in that species (or sub-species).

[Lion stop eating meat and start eating grass, Cat start flying, Male gets pregnant instead of female, rock floating on water, etc

Note: It would be considered as Muajza if male gets pregnant instead of female, though surprisingly this is normal in two fish species (that I know) and thus for those species it can be classified as fitrat of those fish species.]

Extra-ordinary/unexpected = Karishma

This word can be used for miracles/Muajza. Hindus might use it to define Muajza). In Urdu (or amongst Muslims) Karishma is not normally used for Muajza, rather for anything that can be defined as possibility (due to it being fitrat, mizaj, or natural events), still happening was unexpected or extra-ordinary. For instant, if anything happens that is unexpected, extra-ordinary or beyond belief than it gets referred to as Karishma.

Qudrat: English has no particular word for this Arabic word (as far as I know), but can be defined.

Definition = Will of Allah.

Everything that exists or happens is ‘will of Allah’, so, everything is Qudrat, but normally word is used when a person wants to emphasise about it referring to something extra-ordinary or beyond belief. Occasionally, people wrongly use ‘Qudrat’ in place of ‘Fitrat’.

Qudrat includes ... Fitrat, Mizaj, muajzat, Karishma, events, and whatever. (Natures, characters, miracles, extra-ordinary events, etc)

Yes. True atheists are very few. Most are agnostics.

Good analysis.

The word qudrat has some action or 'will' from outside , while Fitrat is just intrinsic property of something.

I totally disagree that "mother nature = God" ...

Mother Nature is the personnification of the Creative power of God ... The Creative Power of God is not God Himself.

I am sorry if you differ, but from my knowledge and understanding: 

Muslims recognise (and give name to) God by his attributes.

Mother Nature is an attribute of God. Attribute from where Nature and laws of nature is born ... Is the one who

Gave birth to Nature
Created Nature
Fixed or defined laws of Nature
Gave order (laws) to Nature

Thus Mother Nature = The Creator, The maker of order, and the giver of Laws to that order ... in Arabic ... Mother Nature is Al-Khaliq, Al-Bari

Al-Khaliq = the creator
Al-Bari = maker of order and giver of laws to that order (He who created all things in proportion)

Peace Sa1eem

I suggest you read up about what personification means ...

Death for example is a state or a transition that people go through ... however death is often personnified to this skeleton on a horse carrying a scythe and a similar personification is done with mother nature - mother nature is not The Creator - rather it is the name given to the process of creation ... personified.

Mother nature is the name given to the act of the Creator it is not the equivalent of His Title - The Creator.

yeh kya bakwas hai.. religionists hijacking the english language :nono4:

Bhai, what is religion other than philosophy and spirituality? :)

I know what you are trying to say. You are right in a sense. Anyhow, from what I wrote, it does not mean that ‘Mother Nature’ as personified figure is God, but it means that the attributes what people associate with ‘Mother Nature’ is attributes of God.

Fortunately, these days when people mention ‘Mother Nature’, they do not mention it as a personified figure, but mention it as attributes associated to ‘Mother Nature’, and that attributes are attributes of God.

Actually, to expel any confusion, I should have written:

For Muslims (also Jews and Christians), Mother Nature (as attributes) is God.

But then ... it never came into my mind that someone might think Muslims would look at personification of Mother Nature as God, rather would look at attributes associated to Mother Nature, as that attributes are attributes of God.

You should have read my definition carefully. Here is what I wrote:

Mother nature:
For Muslims (also Jews and Christians), Mother Nature is God.

For pagans, they might have particular god as Mother Nature, a god who determines natural laws and looks after natural events.

For Scientists (also Agnostics and Atheist), Mother Nature is laws that govern the universe (or Laws of Physics).
So, you can see that Pagans would consider Mother Nature as god (actually goddess). They may also Personify ‘Mother Nature’ with a particular idol or character. Anyhow, that is expected of them as that is how paganism started.

That is, initially religion was Islam without Personification ...that is, religion that came with Adam (AS) with knowledge of different attributes of Allah. But with time, people started personify attributes of God, even making idols of each personified attributes of God, and thus paganism started.

But then that does not mean, if pagans have personified attributes of God, those attributes ceased from being attributes of God (hence name of God).

Let me give you some example where Hindus have personified attributes of Allah and gave it an image and personality of its own. Occasionally, several attributes of God is given to same god’s personality. Similarly, same attributes got associated to several gods’ personality. That is different matter that Hindus have also given attributes to their personified god, attributes that are not attributes of God. Here are some of Hindu gods they have personified, with attributes of God.

Attribute Al-Nur (the light) is personalised by Hindus as Lakhsmi. For Hindus, ‘Lakshmi’ is goddess of light. ... In Islam we have attributes of Allah as Al-Nur = the light.

[Well, Hindus have personified Lakshmi as goddess of many other attributes of God. For instance, they personified her as goddess of beauty (Al-Musawwir), wealth and fortune (wal Ikram). So, for Hindus, it is lakshmi that gives beauty, wealth and fortune. For Muslims, it is Allah.]

Attribute Al-Aziz (the victorious) is personalised by Hindus as Indra. For Hindus, ‘Indra’ is god of victory. ... In Islam we have attribute of Allah as Al-Aziz (the victorious).

Attribute Al-Adil (the just) and Al-Hakam (the Judge) is personalised by Hindus as ‘Sunny’. For Hindus, ‘Sunny’ is god of just and justice. ... In Islam we have attributes of Allah as Al-Adil (the just) and Al-Hakam (the judge).

Attribute Al-Khaliq (the creator) is personalised by Hindus as Brahma. For Hindus, ‘Brahma’ is god of creation. ... In Islam we have attribute of Allah as Al-Khaliq (the creator).

Attribute of Al-Hafiz (preserver) and Al-wali (protector) is personalised by Hindus as ‘Vishnu’. For Hindus, ‘Vishnu’ is preserver and protector of creation. In Islam we have attribute of Allah as Al-Hafiz (the preserver) and Al-wali (the protector).

And so on.

<!--[if gte mso 9]> /o:OfficeDocumentSettings <![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 9]> Normal/w:View 0/w:Zoom false/w:SaveIfXMLInvalid false/w:IgnoreMixedContent false/w:AlwaysShowPlaceholderText EN-GB/w:LidThemeOther X-NONE/w:LidThemeAsian X-NONE/w:LidThemeComplexScript /w:Compatibility /m:mathPr/w:WordDocument <![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 9]> /w:LatentStyles <![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 10]> <![endif]--> So, here is your answer of personification of Allah’s attributes by pagans ... and thus personification of Mother Nature. But then, Muslims cannot ignore attributes of Allah nor personify them. It does not mean that mentioned personalised figures are God. What it means is that some attributes Hindus associate with those figures, as far as Islam is concerned those attributes are attributes of God. In other words, Hindus took attributes of God and personified them with figures, idols, and personalities.