What is it with desis and indirectness?

One thing that always mystified me was how indirect people, esp desis, tend to be. I do understand when it’s done out of politeness and trying to be subtle and most of the time it is really appreciated but other times it’s just annoying and mystifying.

Examples:

A relative wanting to know something about me.

She goes “Oh I heard that you’re —”. Now I perfectly know that no such rumour is going around, but if it is, why not tell me who’s saying what?..so When I ask, “who said so?” I get “oh I just heard!”… um if someone told u something, why won’t u tell me who? If I want to know something about someone, I’ll ask them and if they say where did you hear that from, I’ll give em a straight answer, none of this “I heard from so and so” when I didn’t.

Another odd example is when we praise someone or more specifically, something, and it’s taken as a direct insult to something else???

Like, if I say someone’s wedding outfit looked nice, someone will jump in and say “Oh but your stuff was nice toO!” as if I’m evaluating the things i’m praising against my own personal standards? Um, I’m not a perfectionist or a competitive person, so I don’t see the sense in evaluating every single thing against my own personal standards, and I don’t think others should either. Tehn again maybe I am being that competitive person, when I say others shouldn’t be so competitive/perfectionists? Ok thats a whole other topic.

One last example I’ll give, and maybe i’m opening up a can of worms here, but here goes: when we have a question about anything related to religion, if the person does not know the answer, they go into the “well you should have faith and do it b/c we’re told to do so. End of discussion.” It’s simple, if you don’t know the answer, why not just say “I don’t know?” As far as I know, it’s not immoral to not know something, but simply writing inquiries off as “You should have faith, and not need to question”, just goes against gaining knowledge and education.

:pagli:

Re: What is it with desis and indirectness?

Yea I don't like it when people do that too (i.e. I heard so and so from such and such: Is it true?). I can understand when there is a valid reason for the name to be kept secret but most of the time, that's not the case. Just tell me who said it so I can ask him/her.

Oh God tell me about it...One thing I have found useful is asking point blank...is that what you are saying to me:D....there isnt a next time usually

Well in this case, there's no secret about anything, so i don't find any need to be all "secretive"... then again i really don't like the person who asked, so their being coy and cute was really annoying me, hence the thread :D

indirectness? how about when they ask seemingly concerned and innocent questions but the intent is to mess with people. The amount of sincere people concerned about me never ceases to amaze me. they go to my folks and say oh he has not com by in a long time, we miss seeing him, when is he coming, so and so's son comes home every year. and my poor parents dont know how to deal with that crap. Even used to tell em oh so and so was askign about you. Its interestign because those so called sincere ppl have not called me, sent me a damn card for my graduation, masters, shadi, loss, kids, house anything, yet they are sincerely concerned. losers.. dont even know why my folks bother to see such ppl or not just set em straight

nice topic, sara516.
Nemo, you are correct with what you said.
discreet ness should not become a trap when people
make others instruments for their own nosy or jealous, ill willing nature.

whenever people pry, simply let them know that you cannot discuss your concerns with anyone. they will get the idea that you are aware of how to protect your individual life, of course no one sane will do anything bad. people still, seems like, wait for something wrong to happen, and in doing that waiting anticipation, they cause wrongs.

Fraudia bhai, maybe in reality, people are never happy when someone is happy. why bother getting a card from them? they have their own demons to fight with.
unfortunately.
best,
Duswhari

oh I am not bothered, I would rather have one good friend than a million of these ppl. These busy bodies would ask my folks like that and when my parents say anything they will twist it and pass on to someone with mirch masala.

I dont expect anything from them except for them to be pretending to be oh so sincere.

i agree. very malicious n horrible actions of such people. so spiteful, so unbecoming.

i've said it once i'll say it again; pakistanis SHOULD NOT be classified as desis!

Come on people, separate yourselves!!

Fortunately many of us have yet to undergo the Aryan awakening to start seeing ourselves as racially superior! :rolleyes:

Just reminded me of something that happened in our family....

My cousins daughter got engaged to someone in India and it was a bit hush hush to begin with whilst all closes family were told............

Then this woman who we know called India and spoke to someone who told her (you know how things spread in our community as soon as you say "don't tell anyone yet.."), so she rings my cousin and says "Maine Khaab mein dekha keh tumhari beti ka rishta pakaa huwa - mein dua karti hun keh tum jald seh jald koyi khush khabree sunaow"

My cousin deliberately then didn't tell her in that conversation or any conversation until she sent the wedding invite some 14 months later!!!!

People just don't want to admit that they are gossips!!!!!

^ lolzzzz khwaab main dekha hahahah that aunty is very filmyyyy.
i know what you mean sara my phuppo and dadi are the queens of lies and indirectness. they will say oh so and so told me that u sed this on dt dt date.

when in fact it is not so so who sed it bt dey just cudnt keep deyre noses out of our business.

I've found extreme indirectness with Desis too! Apart from the types of indirect questioning that feeds gossip as Fraudz has experienced....which happens with non desis too. This type of indirectness I've seen only with desis is amusing but frustrating - like I went to cook a reallly nice dinner for our houseguests - rather numerous they were and I bought a nice bunch of fish to have a big fish-fry feast....well, one guy said "Well, I hate to say anything but this other guy really wanted to go out." The Other guy takes me aside some time later and says First guy's wife wanted to go out. First guys wife whispers to my hubby that her hubby wanted to go out. SHEESH man. Just SAY IT. Sometimes desis can be taken aback by the open and frank honesty of non-desis (esp americans) but heck we calls it as we sees it yeah? At least you know what IS, right?

mama please tell me u summarily kicked all those ppl out.
I dont have time for such crap, and very low patience, its like okay, grow up, figure out what you want, grow some backbone and just say it, speaaaak...no whispers taking ppl aside, just say, hey, lets go out..

PS: maybe u scared them with a fishy fry, I would be all over it but desis need their curry and rice..

Good thought, except that nobody here really cares what you think :pagli:

Voices in their head :halo:

I don't get bothered that all those aunties and uncles blab in front of my parents, I get bothered that my parents actually get effected by it. I have so many cousins that moved to Canada and I never received a call from them. Then when my parents came and we were visiting Toronto one cousin goes, "mere hotay huay aap hotel mein kaise reh saktay hain". It just burned me up.

this is the true definition of being DESI :hehe: j/k

man the question ppl ask my parents ( as if its n e of their business ) is that "USS CHURAIL SEY TO CHHUTKAANA MIL GAYA, KAHIN AUR TO DIL NAHI LAGA LIYA DANI NEY " according to our whole rishteydaars i am the most characterless guy they know yet they are always so concerned about what i am doing these days :hehe: its hillarious. But wat upsets me is that even though i doesnt do n e fin to me it hurts ma parents and just for the sole reason that i was in love wid a girl and i was open about it and it dint work out due to ma mistakes.

hmmm

lo he was just being courteous ..

ghusa kioo??