Re: What is Imran's stance on Pak's creating and supporting Taliban against Afghan NA
^ We don't know for sure that taliban problem would go away completely since they have got used to getting things done using force. A lot of it depends upon who is in power in afghanistan, as it will take sincere action on both sides of the border (be it sanctuaries or drug money) to get rid of this menace. I think what I and many others have tried to articulate is that imran khan has this false paradigm that things were lovey dovey in the name of religion prior to 2003, which is clearly not the case. I don't know if it is because of the sensationalism of the drones or the "shexy" suicide attacks because regular gun battles and bomb blasts at imambargas and mosques also killed people in the nineties.
Re: What is Imran's stance on Pak's creating and supporting Taliban against Afghan NA
I would say something but then it would link back to his past life and someone will come jumping up and down about it. Sadly, IK has been a pathetic mistake as I had some expectations from him since you can't expect much from zardari, gunja, altaf, fazlu etc.
One of the suicide bombers, a girl (cannot remember if it was Parade Lane Mosque Attack or a more recent atrocity in 2010) was a Lal Masjid affectee. It was even reported in the papers
You have to engage with the moderate non-violent elements within Taliban (I am sure dialogue is aready happening but perhaps not enough emphasis is placed on it) & educate them...in short divide and rule
AP yaar aap blame everything on establishment or takht-e-Lahore
btw it is now time to revive your janam pushti 'another MNA of PML-N doing the same...' thread :D
Nah chher dard mandon ko nah janay dil say kia niklay
**نہ چھیڑ دردمندوں کو نہ جانے دل سے کیا نکلے
Am I wrong about E and Takht e Lahore ?
From assassination of Liaqat Ali Khan to Benazir Bhutto
From Saqoot e Dhaka to merger of Bahwalpur in Punjab
From formation of Republican party to PMLQ
Anything ever good from them?
And don't talk about my thread.
The mod will angry.
Honestly, I think Imran either is a liar or a nincompoop.
I would rather be a naive person than a criminal like Altaf, Zardari, Nawaz or Chaudharies. yeh koi log hein jinhein vote diya jai....absolutely corrupt, looterey, all of them. Pakistaniyon kee IQ level par shak sa honey lagta hai. How can anyone in their right mind even think about voting for such people? You do not like Imran or his views... Absolutely Fine, but atleast vote for someone decent, honest and sincere. Use your brain (and I am talking in general terms) for a change!
Lets consider issues rather than who we're voting for. All three of ANP, MQM and PPP have much more sensible rhetoric about Taliban and TTP than Imran Khan, who perpetuates a line that consistently underplays the Taliban's religious bigotry, their disgusting treatment of women and minorities and their regressive interpretations of shariah, and instead pushes a message that is designed to win popular support in Pakistan (bash amreeka, distract from Taliban). For this he gets criticism, and for this he SHOULD get criticism, regardless of how decent, honest and sincere he is on other issues.
All three are merely saving their kursi in the name of saving the system. Slightly off topic but even if you asked your favourite Shahid Afridi, who hails from the same region, he would strongly defend the backward & disgusting treatment (and I am not talking of beheadings etc here, just general treatment of women in that part of Pakistan), as you put it, of women in FATA and Pakhtunkhwa. So no point picking on Imran just because he is in politics now. Those people have lived like that for donkeys years
All three are merely saving their kursi in the name of saving the system.
Regardless of why people adopt postures, the postures themselves are laudable. We can deconstruct motives till the cows come home, but my statement remains correct. ANP, PPP and MQM have all expressed better rhetoric on Taliban than Imran Khan.
Slightly off topic but even if you asked your favourite Shahid Afridi, who hails from the same region, he would strongly defend the backward & disgusting treatment (and I am not talking of beheadings etc here, just general treatment of women in that part of Pakistan), as you put it, of women in FATA and Pakhtunkhwa. So no point picking on Imran just because he is in politics now. Those people have lived like that for donkeys years
Thats a pretty racist view of people from FATA and Pakhtunkhwa. As someone who has lived in Pakhtunkhwa, has friends and family there, I know that 'living like that for donkeys years' is in no way representative of the people from Pakhtunkhwa, nor is it a fair assumption that just because someone is from there they will defend the 'as I put it' disgusting treatment of women and minorities, certainly not in any way shape or form close to how the Taleban treat women. If that had been the case the Taleban would not have been the ones to destroy girls schools, kill female teachers, kill NGO staff and so on.
I wonder what is ambition of some people who want to know Imran's views on anything, why can't they just goto PTI website and gather information from there?
Re: What is Imran’s stance on Pak’s creating and supporting Taliban against Afghan NA
Watch this documentary, and look at some typical girl students… what they aspired to and what the Taliban circumscribed them to. Watch the parent’s interview.
That is a fact. Those people are certainly more conservative than the rest of Pakistan. If you want to deny it that is your choice. I have lived in that area myself, so I know what I am talking about
Ravage you behave like Imran ney bakriyan chura lee hain. feel sorry for you
That is a fact. Those people are certainly more conservative than the rest of Pakistan. If you want to deny it that is your choice. I have lived in that area myself, so I know what I am talking about
There is a difference between being 'more conservative' and whipping women in public squares, blowing up girls schools, killing female teachers, mandating shuttle cock burqas for girls, destroying NGOs and killing NGO staff.
Try as you might you cant white wash Taliban's treatment of women and minorities as the norm.
There is a difference between being 'more conservative' and whipping women in public squares, blowing up girls schools, killing female teachers, destroying NGOs and killing NGO staff.
Try as you might you cant white wash Taliban's treatment of women and minorities as the norm.
And who is defending that? Imran does not defend that either. That is just BS that he supports such acts
You are the one who said even Shahid Afridi would defend the disgusting treatment of women as practiced by the Taliban. Re: Imran Khan, what I've said is as follows:
Lets consider issues rather than who we're voting for. All three of ANP, MQM and PPP have much more sensible rhetoric about Taliban and TTP than Imran Khan, who perpetuates a line that consistently underplays the Taliban's religious bigotry, their disgusting treatment of women and minorities and their regressive interpretations of shariah, and instead pushes a message that is designed to win popular support in Pakistan (bash amreeka, distract from Taliban). For this he gets criticism, and for this he SHOULD get criticism, regardless of how decent, honest and sincere he is on other issues.
You are the one who said even Shahid Afridi would defend the disgusting treatment of women as practiced by the Taliban.
Oh bhai read again. I said he w'd not support beheadings etc. no sane person would..... but I am pretty sure that even Shahid Afridi would strongly defend the conservative treatment of women in FATA etc.
The disgusting behaviour of Taleban towards women is not limited to beheadings. It includes blowing up girls schools, banning female teachers by threat of killing them, banning NGOs aimed at women. That is not typical 'conservative treatment' in Pakhtunkhwa, and that is what deserves condemnation.
oh yaar aapkee comprehension ko kya ho gaya hai aaj. I am talking of general/conservative treatment of women. That excludes all violent acts of Taliban
oh yaar aapkee comprehension ko kya ho gaya hai aaj. I am talking of general/conservative treatment of women. That excludes all violent acts
why are you talking about general/non-violent conservative treatment of women? I am talking about Taliban's disgusting treatment of women, you start talking about Shahid Afridi for some reason supporting disgusting treatment of women, then you say that excludes violence etc. Well then the specific actions that I have mentioned, that depart from what a typical pakhtun embodied in Shahid Afridi would support, form part of the disgusting treatment of women by the Taliban. And so to return to my post:
Please read 'disgusting treatment' as that which is above and beyond what Shahid Afridi would support.