What is Imran Nazir doing?/Salman Butt, Yasir Hameed, Imran Nazir, Taufeeq Umer......

Re: Salman Butt, Yasir Hameed, Imran Nazir, Taufeeq Umer, Imran Farhat ...

They are all tullas.... they succeed initially because they have some talent, and then once the other teams read their weaknesses, then its all downhill for them. This is a problem with Pakistani domestic cricket structure. Its not competitive enough and there is no proper training. We still rely on galli-mohalla type of talent. Players don't learn proper technique. Consequently when they make it to the national team, then they get exposed. Bowlers turn out chukkers and batsmen turn out to be failures. Talent can only take you so far. Technique takes you all the way.

Re: Salman Butt, Yasir Hameed, Imran Nazir, Taufeeq Umer, Imran Farhat …

let’s try Younis and Hafeez as an opening combo on saturday :bummer:

In the old days, when there was not as much cricket, and we had the likes of Imran and Javed and others as captains, They would eye people playing local matches in Paksitan's domestic circuit. They would hand pick or get them picked.
Now with more hectic schedules and less involved captains, they have a hard time funneling technically sound talented players up the stream.
This is my 2 cents.

The difference is Yasir Hameed's last 4 ODI innings...

41, 57, 71, 41...

Bob hates his guts, ever since he had mentioned during the tour of India that Bob doesn't give him any time, nor does he work with him...That's why he is excluded from the team, plus selectors' incompetence and aversion to nonpunjab players doesn't help either...

OK between Imran Farhat and Salman Butt

Imran Farhat plays like a street boy, but has had more success than one should expect. Salman Butt seems better on all accounts (temprament, technique, judgement) but on a neck-to-neck dual, luck will favour Imran Farhat. He will come out a winner as he can get away with poor shots (Indeed Why? Why?).

Yasir (technically better than both), is a kind of batsman who can be taught to get better than many. But again you could comfortably do the same with Shoaib Malik, and guess what? he is an allrounder which comes handy.

Taufeeq Umer, is a pure good-for-nothing batsman. Technically not as good as Yasir, but can annoy you in test, by staying on the wicket for an hour, scoring 30+ runs, on every outing. On ODI, he would act like an ODI batsman, but will give you nothing worth.

Imran Nazir, as flayboyant as Afridi, great to replace him when he is banned. Can he be taught? I think yes, much like Shoaib Malik. But who will bell the cat? Woolmer? I don't think so. Imran Nazir already gives what Woolmer wants to see. Miandad? how can a batting genious teach you how to bat? He was born with it, you are not.

But we should stop shuffling them around. Lets pick one who gives us more. e.g. Hafeez and Shoaib can bowl. Yasir may be, in a match where he can hold one wicket, like test match or teams like England or India. If the match is against biggies like Aus, SA, go with Farhat. You gonna lose anyways, might as well try the "lucky bird".

^ Entirely possible.
And with that possibility, lets say Pakistan opens with Younis and Imran. Send Hafeez at no6.
After Afridi is in, Bring Him in as well and drop Kaneria.

Kaneria doesn't deserve a place in ODI squad. i don't understand why he is so hyped up. I even don't remember when he won the last game for us. I agree with opening Younis & Imran Nazir & drop Hafeez to #6 position, but Inzy will have to bat at 4 whether he likes it or no.

^ aray bhai ...he has not been given any chances in ODIs ...thats why.
However, the idea of dropping him for Afridi right now would be to get batting depth. We suck right now.

Though i luv to disagree with u, you are right on.

Hafeez and Younis’ pair may provide some stability. I will send
Yousaf second down and
Inzi Third.
Malik 4th
Azhar 5th
Khatmal 6th
Yasir 7th
Gul 8th
Rao 9th
Kanairia 10th
Imran Nazeer - Last

^ he is not going to score where ever you put him so might as well put where we dont need him.

Come match against Zimbabwe,

My Team is:

Younis
Hafeez
Yousaf
Inzi
Afridi
Malik
Azhar
Akmal
Yasir
Rao
Gul

I am suggesting an alternative approach here.
Open with Hafeez and Younis (More explosive), Then send subtle Yousaf. Then Send semi explosive Inzi.
After Inzi, send a hitter (Afridi), After a hitter, send a watchfull eye (Malik),
After Malik, send a mediocre batsman/hitter (Azhar), Then send another hitter (Khatmal - who may not work anyways), Then send another all rounder to secure the innings, Then wiggle-waggle with your tail…

If thats the team, thats your wc winner…

Only two changes you can make…

bring Rana instead of Yasir
bring Kanaria instead of Yasir/Rana

aahh i thought you have shot all of the guys in title.... i m so disappointed that you didnt :(

^ Kuch khuda ka khauf karo chechoray!!!

The point was the any and all of them can prove to be completely useless on any given day so those longing for Salman Butt should search threads lamblasting Butt saheb one year ago. Turned out everyone here fancies themselves to be Wasim Bari and Bob Woolmer. Suggested team pe team chali aa rahi hai....

Malik and Butt period. Rest don't even have the talent to be in the squad. Atleast with those two, there is some potential to build on.

Re: What Imran Nazir is doing ???

making sure we don't miss Afridi while he is banned.

Re: What Imran Nazir is doing ???

Dude, What the fcuk? That's totally asinine. Now our tastes, preferences and behavior are dictated by which side of an arbitrary/political boundary one was born on? Kindly send me the chart that shows gradation of cricket acumen plotted against distance from Lahore.

Thanks.

thank you so much for enlightening us with your analyses of pakistani cricket...hamay to patta hee nahieen tha.
regards

thank you so much for enlightening us with your analyses of pakistani cricket...hamay to patta hee nahieen tha.
regards

*Butt is the best of the lot and should have been persisted with. The guy has scored innings under pressure situations and that is what any team looks for. *

Spot on about Yasir Hameed.

Also Salman Butt isn’t as bad as some people are suggesting. He has scored atleast two memorable hundreds to date - a sparkling one-day hundred when chasing a formidable 292 at Eden Gardens, Calcutta in the platinum jubilee game against India in Nov. 2004 http://www.howstat.com/cricket/Statistics/Matches/MatchScorecard.asp?MatchCode=1749

Yes Butt did go thru a rough patch in early 2006 (who does n’t?) but I am pretty sure in my mind that if Pakistan had taken him to SA instead of Imran Farhat, he would have ‘earned’ a place in our world cup squad..

So in my considered opinion Pakistan should have persisted with Yasir Hameed and Salman Butt (in both tests and ODIs) with Imran Nazir as back-up in ODIs

Imran Nazir has played one or two good knocks like in Tower series in Australia in 2002) and his blistering 58 in the 2nd ODI against SA which laid the platform for 354, but he is too flashy and reckless as an opener. The others Mohammad Hafeez and Taufeeq Umar have yet to play a meaningful innings in a one-dayer](“Scorecard - 2004-2005 India v Pakistan - 1st ODI - 13/11/2004 - Eden Gardens, Kolkata - ODI No. #2192 and a”)

You hit the nail at right place.

PS: you have match link also. :D

Hey, he scored one day hundreds against India. I was satisfied :D . Anyone who can handle a full house 100,000 capacity Calcutta stadium to score a one day hundred and help his team chase down nearly 300 runs in a one dayer is gold in my books.