What in Pakistan are you proud of ?

Re: What in Pakistan are you proud of ?

^ What about Military culture ?

How about Pakistanis...:D

speaking of equipment - brain slaught, away from the native nation, i am proud of so many of us from Pakistanis for better living, living their lives in UK, US, and Canada and other countries abroad. let's hope we leave these countries with some good things to remember us by. of course the Northern scenery of the Mother land is very nice so are the orchards of Punjab, and sandy landscape of Sindh.
cheers!

Freedom...and this thing is above all.....

In pakistan..i have no fear of beard....

In pakistan...a girl having hijaab and niqaab and going in Anarkali bazar will not be seen with suspicious eyes...

In pakistan..we walk and walls are not sprayed with slogans ..kill all pakis..as recently appeared on walls of Glasgow...

In pakistan..i can have a nice dinner at Jhangir Restaurant of Rawalpindi..without any hatred remarks..of racism...

In pakistan..i can sit at any seat in bus..without looking down upon by any other people...

In Pakistan..where i have no fear of my phone is being tapped by any agency...

In Pakistan...where i m being treated as 1st class citizen..not third class...

In Pakistan...i can walk in shadman market..without hearing ang remarks..like go paki go to your land...

watching a film of US soldiers ..seraching a house ..near a town of Baghdad on BBC yesterday...2 soldiers with guns in hands ..strictly said ..that all people should come out...father ..his wife..a small child ..and girl of 10 11 years..came out..she was wearing a arbian skirt... with scarf on her head..and weeping bitterly....her mother was also weeping....they know that...US soldiers will not harm them....but humiliation...just look at humiliation..2 gun men..were commanding on them.with thier guns....on thier own land....whats the humiliation of free people...

There is nothing precious thing ..than to freedom...which we enjoy in Pakistan...and nowhere ..any other part of the world...

1 Like

PAKOLA!!!

Disco Batata in Bombay Bazar in addition to all of the above. Nothing important but I miss those batatas big time

Oh and "Moosay kay Curry Wale Chole" in Kagzi Bazar

Something worth reading.....the article by Pervez Hoodbhoy delivered on the Convocation-2006 of the Indus Valley School of Arts & Archietecture from where all my three daughters graduated;

Pervez Hoodbhoy 9-12-2006 Indus Valley School of Art and Architecture 1
RE-IMAGINING PAKISTAN

Mr. Jinnah’s Pakistan Isn’t Working. What Can?
[Commencement lecture by Pervez Hoodbhoy at the Indus Valley School of Art and Architecture, Karachi, 9 December 2006.]

It is indeed a pleasure to see the Indus Valley School of Art and Architecture emerge as a
thriving educational institution. I remember my first visit here around 1994 when it had
barely come into existence. The Nusserwanjee Building in Kharadar had just been pulled
apart and transported brick-by-brick to this site. Over the years it was patiently put
together again, and this innovative experiment has now born fruit. To those who will
graduate today from the School, I extend my congratulations. You are ready to set sail
into the big, wide world as artists, designers and architects. Many of you will doubtless
become rich and famous, and I hope all of you do.

But, as a general fact, the success of individuals does not always lead to the betterment of
the larger milieu in which they live and breathe. Improving the state of society is a far
more difficult and complex matter, and it involves much more than just increasing the
consumption of material goods and services. Societies change when people change their
ways of thinking. It is on this that we shall reflect upon today.

To help us along, let’s imagine a film like “Jinnah”. You die and fly off to the arrival gate
in heaven where an angel of the immigration department screens newcomers from
Pakistan. Admission these days is even tougher than getting a Green Card to America.
You have to show proofs of good deeds, argue your case, and fill out an admission form.
One section of the form asks you to specify three attitudinal traits that you want fellow
Pakistanis, presently on earth, to have. As part of divine fairness, all previous entries are
electronically stored and publicly available and so you learn that Mr. Jinnah, as the first
Pakistani, had answered – as you might guess – “Faith, Unity, Discipline”. This slogan
was in all the books you had studied in school, and was emblazoned even on monuments
and hillsides across the country. Since copying won’t get you anywhere in heaven, you
obviously cannot repeat this.

What would your three choices be? As you consider your answer, I’ll tell you mine.
First, I wish for minds that can deal with the complex nature of truth. Without
minds engaged on this issue there cannot be a capacity for good judgment. And, without
good judgment a nation will blunder from one mistake on to the next. Now, truth is a
fundamental but very subtle concept. The problem is that things are usually not totally
true or totally false. Still, some things are very true and others are very false. For example
it is very true that I will be killed if I stand on the tracks in front of a speeding train. And
it is very false that the earth rests on the horns of a bull. But these are quite easily
established; separating true and false is often extremely difficult.

Take art, architecture, music, poetry, or sculpture. They are so absolutely necessary that
we cannot conceive of a satisfying or civilized existence without them. But there is no
true or false in any of them, just shades of gray. Harold Pinter, the British dramatist who
won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2005, emphasizes this in his acceptance speech:

The real truth is that there never is any such thing as one truth to be found
in dramatic art. There are many. These truths challenge each other, recoil
from each other, reflect each other, ignore each other, tease each other,
are blind to each other. Sometimes you feel you have the truth of a
moment in your hand, then it slips through your fingers and is lost.

Pinter says it so well. Who wants to read a book or see a drama about absolute heroes and
total villains? Or perfect beauty and total ugliness? These extremities do not engage our
mind or sensitivities.

Truth in art is a subtle matter, and I am not a philosopher. At one level it appears to me
that truth in art is really about preferences. Is it a truth that Ghalib was a better poet than
Mir? Or that Mehdi Hasan is the greatest ghazal singer on the subcontinent? Is the
renaissance neoclassical art of Raphael and others more true to life than the modern art
forms that superseded it? Or that modern machine-driven architectural geometries are
superior to buildings designed with columns, arches, and gargoyles of classical
architecture? Surely, these are matters of taste.

At another level there is a question of honesty and truth that relates squarely to your
profession: should someone, as a commercial artist, design a great advertisement for a
bad product? Of course, some people will hold very strong opinions on these issues
because, perhaps as a consequence of their education and socialization, they have
accepted a certain point of view and acquired certain tastes. Fortunately, most will accept
– even if grudgingly – that truth in art is unknowable. There are no hard distinctions
between what is real and what is unreal, or between what is true and what is false. In
effect, a thing can be both true and false. And here I will go happily along with postmodernists
even though on other matters there is much that I disagree with them about.
But what about truth in matters of religion? Religion occupies a far larger domain of our
national existence than art, literature, and the rest. Here there are still stronger opinions
and people shy away from discussions on this everywhere. This is because there is
usually a total conviction of where the truth lies. Every religion is convinced of its
correctness and of the incorrectness of others. My deeply religious Catholic friend at MIT
– with whom I shared a room during my freshman year – would kneel by his bed every
night to pray for my salvation because he felt that, as a Muslim, I was destined to hell.

His truth was different from mine, but he was such a sweet person, and so genuinely
disturbed by what he saw as my ultimate fate, that I simply did not have the heart to tell
him that his prayers were quite unnecessary.

We could, of course, avoid talking about religion and I could stop just here. But it is a
fact that religion determines what large numbers of Pakistanis live for, and what they will
die for, and – all too often – what they will kill for. So we cannot afford to avoid the
subject when the stakes are as high as they are today. The choice is between conversation
and violence.

So let us be bold and examine religion at its three different levels.
At one level religion is inspirational and emotional. Marmaduke Pickthal, who first
translated the Holy Qur’an into English, wrote that the melody of its verses could move
men to tears. Abdus Salam, transfixed by the symmetry of Lahore’s Badshahi Mosque,
said that it inspired him to think of the famous SU(2)xU(1) symmetry that revolutionised
the world of particle physics.

At a second level lies the metaphysics of religion. This relates to the particular beliefs of
a religion, including such issues as monotheism and polytheism, death and reincarnation,
heaven and hell, prophets and holy men, sacrifices and rituals, etc. At both these levels,
the absoluteness of a particular truth is obvious to the believer, but not necessarily to
those outside the faith. Nevertheless, he or she is happy to achieve a sense of purpose in
an otherwise purposeless universe. Of course, the particular beliefs held to be true – as in
art and aesthetics – depend upon the individual’s family background, education, and
socialization into the wider community.

There is a third level: religions are prescriptive. You must do this, but not do that. Some
prescriptions are very sensible. But several are understood very differently by different
groups belonging to the same overall faith. Some differences are relatively harmless, such
as exactly when you may break your fast, when to celebrate Eid, and whether your hands
are to be folded or held down while praying. But other differences are deeply divisive and
the source of bitter conflict: How much of her face must a Muslim woman cover? None,
all, or half-way in between? If a man declares three times to his wife “I divorce you”
adequate grounds from an Islamic point of view for a divorce? Or, to take another
example, against whom and in what manner is the Quranic injunction for jihad to be
followed? This question has pitted Muslim against Muslim in bitter disputation. Is it okay
to set off a car bomb in Baghdad and, if so, in which neighborhood? Are suicide
bombings un-Islamic? Was the 911 attack on America a crime by standards of Islamic
morality? Is Osama bin Laden a good Muslim, or perhaps not one at all?

There are religious authorities on both sides of these divides. I do not wish to take sides
on these issues here, but the very fact that there is serious disagreement even among
believers of the same faith – not to speak of faiths hostile to each other – means that there
cannot be only one single truth in religion. At best there is a plurality of truths, as in the
case of art and literature. Some truths are more true, or less true, than others.
And what about science? Are its truths absolute? At the risk of appearing evasive, and of
having to disappoint some friends, I have to tell you that my answer is both yes and no.

The good news is that, at the level of epistemology, truth in science is ultimately
knowable. Post-modernists are up the creek if they think that all scientific knowledge is
relative. A scientific fact has to pass rigorous tests before it is accepted. This means that
different scientists in different laboratories at different times must be able to observe the
same phenomenon. The nationality, sex, religion, or ethnic affiliation of the scientist is
irrelevant. This is why scientists form an international community. Precisely because
their differences can be resolved on the basis of experiment, observation, and
mathematical argumentation, they don’t kill each other or condemn other scientists as
heretics worthy of execution. I have yet to hear of a scientist equivalent of Salman
Rushdie.

But there are questions that science will never be able to address. Nor is science a
monolithic body of doctrine. The great scientist and visionary, Freeman Dyson, reminds
us that:

Science is a culture, constantly growing and changing. The science of
today has broken out of the molds of classical nineteenth century science,
just as the paintings of Pablo Picasso and Jackson Pollock broke out of
the molds of nineteenth century art. Science has as many competing styles
as painting or poetry.

Well, the objectivity of scientific knowledge was the good news. The bad news is that the
world’s scientists are also responsible for some of the greatest crimes against humanity.

They make nuclear bombs, germ weapons, polluting factories, and serve the narrow
interests of their national, religious, or ethnic groups. As individuals they are no more
enlightened than anybody else. Some brilliant scientists that I have known are mere
morons when it comes to matters of society or of human relations. So, scientists will not
save the world – or even Pakistan.

Who will? Only those capable of nuanced, balanced, critical thought can – and they don’t
have to be scientists. We can put our hopes only on those who realize the provisional
nature of truth, and who do not claim a monopoly on wisdom. The dogmatist, who thinks
he has a divinely provided blueprint to reform society, will only get us into deeper trouble.
So this is why my first wish was for Pakistanis who can think.

This is not a hopeless wish. Students here should think back into what they were like
before they came to this School, and how they changed because their teachers encouraged
them to ask questions. You learned that good questions lead to good answers that, in turn,
generate more questions and ideas. Those ideas helped you move forward. So, be critical,
be thoughtful, and don’t be satisfied until you are thoroughly convinced.

But I must move on because I still have two more wishes to make.
My second wish is for many more Pakistanis who accept diversity as a virtue. So I
am not asking for unity, but acceptance of our differences. Let’s face it, we’re all
different. The four provinces of Pakistan have different histories, class and societal
structures, climates, and natural resources. Within the provinces there live Sunnis, Shias,
Bohris, Ismailis, Ahmadis, Zikris, Hindus, Christians, and Parsis. Then there are tribal
and caste divisions which are far too numerous to mention. Add to this all the different
languages and customs as well as different modes of worship, rituals, and holy figures.
Given this enormous diversity, liberals – who are rather good people in general – often
talk of the need for tolerance. But I don’t like this at all. Tolerance merely says that you
are nice enough to put up with a bad thing. Instead, let us accept and even celebrate the
differences!

Nations are built when diversity is accepted, just as communities are built when
individuals can be themselves and yet work for and with each other. If we want unity in
the face of diversity, then the majority must stop trying to force itself upon the minorities.
Most crucially, the state must stop acting on behalf of the majority. It is imperative that
all Pakistanis be declared equal citizens in every way. The Constitution of Pakistan does
not accept this. It must be changed to reflect this.

For sixty years we have feared diversity and insisted on unity. But Pakistan paid a very
heavy price because our leaders could not understand that a heterogeneous population can
live together only if differences are respected. The imposition of Urdu upon Bengal in
1948 was a tragic mistake, and the first of a sequence of missteps that led up to 1971. We
have not learned the lesson even now, and the public anger today in Balochistan and Sind
against Punjab stands as unfortunate proof. After the 80-year old Nawab Akbar Bugti
was murdered by the Pakistan military, no Punjabi – even if he strongly disagrees with
the actions of the military – feels safe in Balochistan. To my mind this is a terrible thing
and undermines the very concept of Pakistanis being one nation.

Accepting diversity is something that we all learn, to a greater or lesser extent. I ask
students to look at their classmates who come from different backgrounds. Here, as
elsewhere you have different economic, ethnic, and religious backgrounds. But probably
most of you have learned to work together. You acquired a set of values that allows you
to work together, appreciate merit and honesty, and see the individual for his or her merit.
Surely education is really about acquiring these values – not just learning technical skills.
And now for my final wish.

My third, and last, wish is that Pakistanis learn to value and nurture creativity.
Creativity is a difficult concept to define but roughly I mean originality, unusualness, or
ingenuity in something. If nurtured from an early age in children, it leads to great writers,
poets, musicians, engineers, scientists, and builders of modern industries and institutions.
No one can dispute that creativity is a good thing. But how come Pakistanis – with some
important exceptions – have done so poorly on the world stage? Why are there only a
dozen or two internationally known Pakistani inventors, scientists, writers, etc for a
nation of 165 million people?

The poor performance comes because our society is not willing to pay the price for
having creativity. Individuals are creative only when they are not subject to oppressive
social control, when the intellectual space in which they can function is large enough, and
when they have a sufficient degree of personal autonomy. It is therefore axiomatic that
creativity runs counter to tradition and coercion. Authoritarian societies don’t want the lid
to be taken off because who knows what can happen after that?

There cannot be creativity in a society where students learn like parrots, where the
teacher is an unchallengeable authoritarian figure “jo aap kay baap ki tara hai”. Except at
a few leading universities, the written word – even if it is in a physics textbook – is
slavishly followed. The students in our public universities are just overgrown children,
including the ones who are in their mid- or late twenties. In fact they prefer to be called
girls and boys, not women and men. For recreation they do not read books but walk
aimlessly in bazaars and waste time in pointless chatter. Most have never read a single
classical novel, either in Urdu or English. In my department – the best physics
department in the country – their only contribution to what you see around is the huge
birthday or “mangni” greeting cards displayed on bulletin boards. Teachers insult them,
throw them out of class, and encourage deference and servility.

Wrongly, the cornerstone of our education is itaat (obedience), which is the very
negation of creativity. It is to challenge itaat that Faiz Ahmad Faiz wrote:
ab sadeeon kay iqrar-e-itaat ko badalnay
lazim hai keh inkar ka firman koi utarey

I am done with my three wishes. May that inkar ka firman come sooner rather than later.
At this point I don’t know whether I will get past the Pearly Gates or not. The first
Pakistani to get through was, we are told, the originator of the call for Faith, Unity,
Discipline. What I’ve put down on my form is quite the opposite, as you will have surely
noted. But Pakistan is no longer what it was in 1947. Different situations in different
historical epochs call for different solutions. So I’m still hopeful about my application for
admission.

Now, of course, there must be many applications pending in heaven and it will be a while
before I know how mine went. But meanwhile, there are lots of urgent things that you
and I must seriously work upon.

First, we need to bring economic justice to Pakistan. This requires that it possess the
working machinery of a welfare state. Economic justice is not the same as flinging coins
at beggars. Rather, it requires organizational infrastructure that, at the very least, provides
employment but also rewards according to ability and hard work. Incomes should be
neither exorbitantly high nor miserably low. To be sure, “high” and “low” are not easily
quantifiable, but an inner moral sense informs us that something is desperately wrong
when rich Pakistanis fly off to vacation in Dubai while a mother commits suicide because
she cannot feed her children.

Second, we must fight to give Pakistan’s women the freedom which is their birthright. In
much of rural Pakistan a woman is likely to be spat upon, beaten, or killed for being
friendly to a man or even showing to him her face. Newspaper readers expect – and get –
a steady daily diet of stories about women raped, mutilated, or strangled to death by their
fathers, husbands, and brothers. Energetic proselytizers like Farhat Hashmi have made
deep inroads even into the urban middle and upper classes. Their emphasis is on covering
Pervez Hoodbhoy 9-12-2006 Indus Valley School of Art and Architecture 7
women’s faces, putting women back into the home and kitchen, and destroying ideas of
women’s equality with men. The culture of suppressing women and excluding them from
public life is spreading like wildfire. As our collective piety increases, the horrific daily crimes against women become still less worthy of comment or discussion.

Third, and last, we have to wake people up and get them politically engaged again.
Young people have tuned into mindless FM entertainment and tuned out of participation in social causes. University campuses are empty of discussion and debate, and movements against manifest social and political injustice bring forth only handfuls of committed individuals. Millions demonstrated in the streets of London, Rome, Washington, and New York against the criminal American invasion of Iraq. But in Pakistan – where the anger was still deeper – the response was invisible. We have become cynical and think that nothing can be done. Today the military rules an apathetic nation.**

This apathy must go, and can go. Last year’s earthquake galvanized people across the country. It broke the myth that we have stopped caring for each other. I have never seen Pakistanis give so whole-heartedly of their money, time, effort, and energy. Ordinary people, students, shop-keepers, businessmen…just about everybody pitched into the huge relief effort.
**So we can change for the better. We can be like other nations on this planet. We can make responsible choices for who should govern us. We can bring justice to our people.

We can be a decent civilized, peaceful, well-informed, educated people. It’s only a question of trying and getting our act together. That is the task before all of us, young and old.

Pervez Hoodbhoy
Professor of Physics
Quaid-e-Azam University
Islamabad 45320.**

Yo rite freedom ! Things are going worst day by day in west but still as an alien you have more freedom here then ya might have on Pakistani soil as Pakistani .

Beard point is valid but still how many keep it ? around 20 % of Pakistani male population .

I wont say anything on hijab as you not gona agree on it , so no worries mate

You might have no Kills paki slogans in Pakistan but your walls are full with fatwas of killing people , like kafir kafir shia kafir and stuff like jo qaid ka ghadar hai woo mooath ka haqdaar hai .

Does people travel seat by seat in Pakistan , the only memories I have , people standing and hanging outside mini buses and coaches .

Yes your phone wont get tapped if u aint a vip but on same hand it got stolen on a gun point in Karachi if ya take it out in public .

The only 1st citizen in pakistan is one who has money and power . I hope you get my drift

Yes ya can walk without listenin go Paki go home comments but on same hand ya tell those poor bangalis and Afgahnis to go back to their countries . try to see things from their pov some day

About that house searching stuff , people of Hyderabad in that Pakka qilaa episode have seen and gone through worst things then that .

That’s just my point of view , I say while saying good things about Pakistan we should rectify the bad things as well . no hard feelings mate !

Nice sharing everyone.

JazakAllah khair for your time and knowledge :)

im proud of absolutely nothing about pakistan, the nation is a disgrace in every aspect.
do u know 40% of our population that is 6.4 million people, dont have access to clean water and i dont mean drinking water, just clean water.

My dad recently went on a offical trip to India. After seeing the condition of muslims in every aspect of life, and the way their one of the biggest masjid was dirty and a place for beggers (During Juma) was something which he called as the worst condition of muslims which he didn't see in Pakistan.

p.s. Muslims actors and few others are exceptions.

***PLEASE…I repeat…PLEASE, do not…simply DO NOT..ever say the word ‘disgrace’ as an attribution to your country!:bummer: ***

***You may or may not be proud to be a Pakistani–that probably you are a more satisfied person with some VISA or Passport of some other country in your hip pocket…that we care! BUT…words like you use on a forum which is infested with PAKISTANIS having a certain deep and dedicated love for their country…are not welcomed.:snooty: ***

These are NOT my words–this is a BEAUTIFUL & WONDERFUL NATION “PAKISTAN” talking.

Astala Vista…

Dharti hei maan... aur maan per fakhar karnei kei liey kisee wajah kee zaroorat naheen hotee!

Masha Allah that’s beautiful. :k:

It’s the only place we can feel secure and at home, that’s reason enough to be proud of it. God bless our country. :jhanda:

arjay

I agree with you on all points but have one major point of contention..

so i agree, Pakistan has many faults, many issues, weaknesses, chronic problems, but there is a lot to be proud of as well. discussing, complaining, whinging, arguing about the issues does not mean we should not work to make a difference in whatever capacity, and it does not mean we lose all pride in our identity.

now for the part that i have a major disagreement with..

its Hasta la Vista…

Submission to peace:When last in Delhi, I visited the Juma Masjid opposite Red Fort.
You are right, there were beggers sitting on the steps, the place gave a worn out look. But who is responsible for that - the Muslim Boards and ordinary Muslims. Infact even I ask where does all the donations & government grants go??
All the other Historic sites & Monuments are well kept by the government, with gardens etc, as places of tourist interest.

^ Hmm..ok

@ Topic. I don't know why in Pakistan if I ask " Say anything which you feel bad about Pakistan" I would get 100s of replies, with alot of passion and logics.

BUT if I ask, what could be the possible solutions to those problems. Most of us would scatter here and there. (except few)

or some might say "Is mulk ka to Allah hi malik hai"

Off course....freedom of honour and izzate nafs is above everything....but only people having honour recognize this..not everyone !!!!!!!!!!!

Beard point is valid but still how many keep it ? around 20 % of Pakistani male population .

20% or 0.002% ...but we have ..not to face filthy comments..and suspicious looks...

[qiuote]I wont say anything on hijab as you not gona agree on it , so no worries mate

say say..i am more expert on girl's issues rather than men ..:D

You might have no Kills paki slogans in Pakistan but your walls are full with fatwas of killing people , like kafir kafir shia kafir and stuff like jo qaid ka ghadar hai woo mooath ka haqdaar hai .

I challenge you to show me a single wall of the 2nd greatest city of pakistan ...Lahore...which have such foolish anti shia comments..just single wall !!!!

and i have nothing to do with foolish people of karachi..who elect the terrorists and nazis...on basi of race of so called muhajjirs...

Does people travel seat by seat in Pakistan , the only memories I have , people standing and hanging outside mini buses and coaches .

far better than having full seat in tubes...metro..or double dackers but with suspicious eyes..and racial remrarks...

Yes your phone wont get tapped if u aint a vip but on same hand it got stolen on a gun point in Karachi if ya take it out in public .

already said..io have nothing to do with ..bhatta khor..mobile chor..and khaal khors...

The only 1st citizen in pakistan is one who has money and power . I hope you get my drift

every pakistani citizen is a first class..and every non pakistani not living in pakistan is a 3rd class...

Yes ya can walk without listenin go Paki go home comments but on same hand ya tell those poor bangalis and Afgahnis to go back to their countries . try to see things from their pov some day

no one tell bengalis to go back..Afghnaistan have thier own country...30 years are enough to serve them....OK

About that house searching stuff , people of Hyderabad in that Pakka qilaa episode have seen and gone through worst things then that

then dont kill 150 people on september 1988..by Dr Qadir Magsi...and dont support jai Sindh typo stuff.....

That’s just my point of view , I say while saying good things about Pakistan we should rectify the bad things as well . no hard feelings mate !

every country has bads...plz..show me a single utopia....

*cool my brother cool..:)

yaar janai dau..aab 3 months old thread ka ghussa...:)

very true..still people like hareem01 says that loving Pakistan is haram..and pakistan should not be made...india should not be divided.....!!!!!!!!!!!

1 Like

^ hareem01 = a girl and girls don't know squat about politics; just give the likes of her a hijab and they'll be happy.