As clear as Allah swt made the Quran for us, ambiguity still exists among scholars with regards to several verses and hadiths. Various sects of Islam are also in existence due to contradictory beliefs. Do you think a pope-like figure, a khalifah, a leader who could make decisions for the worldwide muslim community would decrease the confusion among muslims today or would it be completely disastrous?
Barbie, pope like figure hota toh logon ne uus pe bhi aanday pehnknay thay
I think at the end Muslims should stop being sheep and stop looking for Movlis to lead them or stop looking for Mehdi to come or stop looking to follow some religious leaders blindly and instead read the Quran **themselves ** instead of waiting for others (who may have their own agendas) to tell them what to do.
Allah made the Quran for all of us, so all of us can understand it, its not riddles its his simple word!
It used to be the case in early islamic history......single khalifah (albeit political)..........but then you know what happened.........the khalifah propagated a particular version and jailed and harassed those who opposed him......
every sect have their own pope still.........u just need pick a favorite pope of yours :D
I agree. Logon ne tau hazoor saw ko bhi reject kiya tha tau koi random khalifah kya cheez hai. I don't think he would be able to end the differences that exist among scholars or muslims in general. T'was just a thought..
I think at the end Muslims should stop being sheep and stop looking for Movlis to lead them or stop looking for Mehdi to come or stop looking to follow some religious leaders blindly and instead read the Quran themselves instead of waiting for others (who may have their own agendas) to tell them what to do.
oh bhai, we have to follow the scholars' pearls of wisdom. No questions asked.
The last thing Islam needs is a "pope" like figure. I mean we have enough "peer's" and what not giving Islam a bad name. I know there is a concept of taking an oath or bait of someone and they help you become a better person by giving you things to do to lead a more religious life - but to follow them and take them as something more then a normal human is out of the question.
Allah is enough for me!
The pope only represents the Catholics there are many other sects within Christianity that don't follow him, just as we have many schools of thoughts and learned people.
The positives of having one figure would be unity within the ummah but then again there are so many differences within different sects that to stay unified would be a test in itself. So, for now I think it's good we have different sects and different rulings, it allows everyone to follow Islam in a way in which they're comfortable, and most of us believe in the coming of Imam Mahdi (as) so we can leave him to unite us in the time of need :)