A friend is going through this. She doesn’t cover her head but her teenage daughter wants to and now the mother is under pressure. She doesn’t know if she should do it for her daughter’s sake that perhaps by doing so, her daughter will feel more at ease and not feel left out…or should she just let her daughter go ahead as she was definitely inspired regardless of what example the mother set.
I am not in that situation so I don’t really know what to say. I guess if she doesn’t feel comfortable, she should encourage her daughter and take a back seat.
^ I was going to share the same thing... besides that, no one in my family wears a hijab and I have been through the talks about the status of hijab in Pakistan and how only the duppata is enough, no need to cover the head etc but still I decided to wear one.. I haven't had the courage to wear scarf in Pakistan yet because everyone in the family literally makes fun of me so I stick to duppata on my head but not anymore.. I have my husband's support and I choose to wear it everywhere!
kudos to the girl for choosing to wearing one.. mom doesn't have to wear one but she must encourage this step and support her as needed.
I have 3 sisters and none of them wear a hijab... mom started wearing it some time after I did, but not regularly.. she prefers dupatta on her head than a hijab... but anyway, it doesn't make me feel weird in any way... so the mom should just let the daughter do her own thing and not be worried...
^ I was going to share the same thing... besides that, no one in my family wears a hijab and I have been through the talks about the status of hijab in Pakistan and how only the duppata is enough, no need to cover the head etc but still I decided to wear one.. I haven't had the courage to wear scarf in Pakistan yet because everyone in the family literally makes fun of me so I stick to duppata on my head but not anymore.. I have my husband's support and I choose to wear it everywhere!
kudos to the girl for choosing to wearing one.. mom doesn't have to wear one but she must encourage this step and support her as needed.
I have to agree with gtg here I am the only one in my family who wear hijaab but its okay with me. I know they sometimes make fun of me but I am fine with it. So its not necessary for a mom to wear hijaab but she should encourage her daughter to wear it.
I actually know several families where the daughter wears hijab, but mom doesn't. In all situations, the mom is not overly liberal in her dress. As far as I know, no one has pressured the moms. The daughter should wear it if she wants, but mom should never be forced.
my youngest sister wears it but neither does my mom nor myself and my other sister.
no one in my family had an objection when my sister wanted to wear it an no one felt pressured to wear it either.
Niksik aunty I personally know many people over here that wore hijab/abaya and their mothers don't wear it. They didn't feel pressurised at all and in fact were happy for their children that hamm tu nahi seedhe rastey par aye, hamare bachey hi sahi. If they did wear hijab/abaya, they wore it at least a couple of months after their children started wearing it and wore it after making their own mind up over the issue, not because they were feeling pressurised that beti pehnti hai aur mai nahi.
Similarly in my case, my mum started wearing abaya and hijab but I was not convinced. I only took that up 2 years after my whole family had "converted".
I started wearing hijaab at the age of 20. My mom was never into it. But after I started wearing Hijaab she did too but now she just covers her head with dupatta. none of the girls in my family wears hijaab , its just my decision and does not affect anyone else.
I did it before my mom and she was like tum karti ho to mein bhi kar leti hoon - I told her not to because it wasnt for me it was the sake of Allah and thats something thats inside you not something that you can force on yourself.
Tell her to not stop her child but also make duaa for herself to be able to wear it wholeheartedly whenever she gets to that point - for my mom it was Hajj when she realized that she wanted to do it - 6 yrs after I started :)
offtopic but… hrm, i dunno- i got the sense that she was more stressed because of the way muslims are seen over the world in this day and age and didn’t want her daughter to go through the stresses involved with covering and/or the stereotyping involved with it-- rather than that her daughter chose to practice islam at such a young age. its pretty understandable, no? its not exactly the most postitively portrayed religion these days, unfortunately. to me, it was also clear she doesn’t understand where her daughter is coming from with her desire to cover. i’m finding it hard to understand too because i’m so amazed but Allah SWT gives hidayat to people whenever He choose and its great that such a little girl has such a strong sense of her faith mA.
i'm the only one in my immediate family that wears hijab - and its not a big deal. more power to the daughter for taking that step. The mother shouldnt force herself to wear the hijab only because she cares what other people think about her.
I do, however, hate it when hijab-less mothers force their daughters to wear the hijab. I see that so often.
Niksik! Jab Allah SWT! kisi ko hidayat dena chahy to woh koi bhi wasila bana deta hay. If for the sake of daughters, the mother will gonna wear hijab to is se achi baat kiya hay.
I think she should thanx to Allah SWT! and start wearing hijab immediately and feel proud on daughter and herself for wearing hijabs
i'm the only one in my immediate family that wears hijab - and its not a big deal. more power to the daughter for taking that step. The mother shouldnt force herself to wear the hijab only because she cares what other people think about her.
I do, however, hate it when hijab-less mothers force their daughters to wear the hijab. I see that so often**.
I have seen that thing too where mothers are sleeveless but daughters need to be cover.Well parents are role models and they shouldn't do that to confuse people.