Re: What I want to know is...
I know!! like the Brides hate revisited thread is so ridiculous. Leave the bride alone... she did whatever was best for her. To make a thread out of it and so insanely rude
^ i really dont get that thread, therefore i have refrained from commenting. I dont get wht its about, And i also dont get why people are slagging 'mac' off, GS confuses me day by day.
Sensible post "PunjabiRose" - commenting/writing style is reflection of one's personality. And I don't think the intention of the posters was to be callous in any way...they were just opened up to share experiences.
^ i really dont get that thread, therefore i have refrained from commenting. I dont get wht its about, And i also dont get why people are slagging 'mac' off, GS confuses me day by day.
The thread was opened to express opinions on what behavior is disliked surrounding weddings... atleast that is what I got from it. The first poster decided she wasn't a fan of a bride going to a MAC counter to get her makeup done. That was her opinion only. I refrained from commenting as well since I did not agree with it.
But I also contributed to the thread about OTHER behavior that I do not like at weddings (ex. MIL getting into a fight with her son about whose going to place the wedding band on brides finger in front of everyone, people arriving late to weddings...bride & groom ...but ESPECIALLY guests (its so rude!), i also don't like how guests behave when its a buffet style and they rush to get food, its also not cool when guests don't respect seating and steal seats.... things of this nature)
People got too fired up about ONE girl's opinion. Rather than adding fuel to the fire, people should have let it go as ok...that is what she thinks but obvi I dont think that. But arguing with someone about why they have a certain opinion is pointless in my opinion. They will think what they think and what you will say to them isn't going to change their mind.
All I have to say is... Beauty lies in the eye of the beholder.
Also want to add... people should try putting themselves in the place of the person they are talking about. If you wouldn't like what is being said about you, then why say it about another?
Anyways, for people who have been hurt by such comments, I am sorry.
I can only pray for people to stop negatively judging others. I know it may be hard, but an effort is always appreciated.
You and I both, MB. In my short life, I've purchased and owned 31 MAC brushes (somewhere in the third world, a child is reading this and cursing), and a myriad of MAC products -some good (lipsticks, nail varnishes), some not so good (foundations, concealers, eyeshadow); I know more about the history and inner workings of the brand than most people would care to hear.
The post wasn't mocking the bride's choice of MAC so much as it was taking the mickey out of her for having her wedding makeup done (in partial bridal regalia, no less) at a MAC counter inside a bustling mall and having the whole thing recorded for posterity (now, there's the rub). There's nothing wrong with having your bridal MU done by a MAC artist, but I think it's a bit gauche to have it done right at the counter instead of privately (at home, or your hotel suite) and then elect to have a videographer capture the whole thing on tape. That said some folks (like one of the posters on BHR) are compelled by circumstance to have their bridal MU done right at the counter; they merely refrain from paying to have it recorded on visual media.
Tbh, I wudnt have my make up recorded for my wedding i really dont get that. I dont get why its even a issue if she had it dun at a make up counter or not. And i also dont get why 'mac' has become crap. Whats the latest make up these days that wont get you slagged off?
Also i really cudnt care less about desi weddings. I was taking the p*ss when i was commenting on the other thread. At my uncles Mehndi almost everyone got drunk. Clearly they didnt give a sh*t what people wud say.
And yes they are 100% Pure Pakistani, Muslim people.
So what if everything wasnt perfect? Its a pakistani wedding after all. My uncles Mehndi was the best Mehndi/wedding/walima i ever went to, why? Coz no one gave a sh*t No one said anything, Even if they did who cares? Also 'gora' weddings aint all that either. The only reason why they all get on is coz they get absoloutly smashed! And NO! Their food wasnt all that either.
Why do people take things to heart? Why? why?
The post wasn't mocking the bride's choice of MAC so much as it was taking the mickey out of her for having her wedding makeup done (in partial bridal regalia, no less) at a MAC counter inside a bustling mall and having the whole thing recorded for posterity (now, there's the rub).
no I'm pretty sure it was you that said getting makeup done at MAC means you'll look like a raccoon or a prostitute.
Either way, that whole thread is ridiculous....the original post got all of your opinions across, but the line by line commentary and analysis of other posts that followed were just unnecessary.
And "I’m pretty sure it was" Jonathan Swift who wrote that the Irish should sell their children to the wealthy for consumption; the difference is that I don’t interpret every joke I come across literally. On a side note: I can’t believe I’m bothering to reference Swift to a Guppie, but there you have it.
Either way, that was the point.
Sorry love: can’t resist.
[quote="Dubaiwali, post:54, topic:198698"]
Erm no Milly.
Ouch, thats me told.
Second guess...
Everybody who uses the phrases 'OH MY DAYS' and 'innit' get Britsh humour.
And that, dear Milly, is why you don't get British humor. Ready the peanut butter and comb, because I'm fetching Stoppit and her Hubba Bubba!
haha…oh dear, someone who uses Wikipedia to act smarter than everyone else.
I can’t believe I’m bothering to to tell a Guppie that she’s making fun of being a Guppie. I’m catching on rather quickly, wouldnt you say? ![]()
haha...oh dear, someone who uses Wikipedia to act smarter than everyone else.
Oh dear: someone too slow to realize the Wikipedia link was provided for her own benefit.
I can't believe I'm bothering to to tell a Guppie that she's making fun of being a Guppie.** I'm catching on rather quickly, wouldnt you say? **;)
Not really, but the important thing is that you're trying. ;)
Unfortunately, even those living in Britain (let alone those residing abroad with British passports) don't "get" British humour so there's no hope for GSers.
I think it can be summed up thus; If you smell of salan, you won't get it.
p.s. I do love MAC. My foundation, powders, eyeshdows, liners.. all MAC.
But I wouldn't let a MAC mua get within 10 feet of me. Their speciality is fondly known as the "Tranny" look, although racoon and hooker are also part of their repertoire.
Unfortunately, even those living in Britain (let alone those residing abroad with British passports) don't "get" British humour so there's no hope for GSers. ** I think it can be summed up thus; If you smell of salan, you won't get it.**
Now you've gone and done it! Somebody's about to call the "whambulance"!
Something which is not right, does not deserve justification in my humble opinion. Hurting peoples feelings, being rude to others is not right, have some common decency for god's sakes. Experiences can be talked about in a composed manner too without the mockery.
I agree, lyk things we've noticed at weddings we dnt like we can express without being so rude I mean this generally not aimed at anyone. But then I think its just a reaction and some ppl may not mean it in a harsh way, we have to remember that all brides will look different and special in their own way at least they would have tried to look their best whether it works out is another matter, some ppl are good at carrying things off even if their not so great i admire ppl like that!
Pata naie humara kya haal ho gha shaadi pae lol.