Re: What I seriously hate about US based Desi restaurants
its good to know kya patah info baad mein kaam aa jaye, like when you visit and stuff.
He is NOT visiting you ![]()
I will consider it as an invitation if you first send me the pics that you took from your Iphone when you were there last time, the one you took pretending to make a call while watching a performance.
I want to see I want to see ![]()
I will consider it as an invitation if you first send me the pics that you took from your Iphone when you were there last time, the one you took pretending to make a call while watching a performance.
i have never gone to those murjas.
forget mujras I usually get up and leave those arab joints when they have belly dancers show up.
even if it means I stand outside and bum a cigarette until show is over. went to this place kan zaman with a bunch of pals and even the girls thought it was weird that I left. Just not comfortable with that stuff and can not be party to it.
Ive been to one party with belly dancing, a birthday party at Tizi Meloul's (sp?) in downtown and the dancer was good but it was just wierd. It was all Muslim people, couples, nothing crazy or wild but still it was just awkward to have a half-naked woman dancing like that around us.
The food was good though...
I never in a million years thought there would be mujras/desi strip shows in Chicago...how come I never know about this stuff? I feel like I live in a bubble.
Ive been to one party with belly dancing, a birthday party at Tizi Meloul's (sp?) in downtown and the dancer was good but it was just wierd. It was all Muslim people, couples, nothing crazy or wild but still it was just awkward to have a half-naked woman dancing like that around us.
The food was good though...
well thats tizi maloul, kan aman, alhamra..all those places.
I am just not comfortable..i dont like it, and its not because I am uber religious
even when I was barely following religion, I did not like it
I never in a million years thought there would be mujras/desi strip shows in Chicago...how come I never know about this stuff? I feel like I live in a bubble.
its that skokie holiday inn where they have those pakistan day dinners and all. its the same guys..they arrange for mujras as well. Stay in the bubble..one important thing i learnt is that just becaue someone hails from pakistan does not mean I have to be a pal. I stay away.
^^ I am amazed by this info also ..
anyway, can we talk about desi restaurants and things that we hate about them ..
like someone said, do they have real dedicated waiters or every employee is a jack of all, usher/cashier/cook etc etc
i find them expensive ![]()
it is better to go to burger king ![]()
Desi restaurant washrooms should have lotas… ![]()
^^ I am amazed by this info also ..
anyway, can we talk about desi restaurants and things that we hate about them ..
like someone said, do they have real dedicated waiters or every employee is a jack of all, usher/cashier/cook etc etc
i also hate the clientele at such places.
ppl who are being loud or allowing their kid to run around like crazy or who are just coughing and sneezing without bothering to cover..
or that many of these places have a TV either on news channel or on some bollywood movie.
and then they have stuff on the menu that they no longer carry..
X2 I think I know which Holiday Inn you're talking about...there was some sort of Eid party there last Eid, right? I saw a flyer about that a while ago...was told I didnt miss much...lol
Getting back to the topic...
In my family, we're big on eating out but my dad isnt. My dad detests eating at desi restaurants and the reason is because when he came here about 35-40 years ago he was still in school/college and working odd jobs to support himself. He also worked in desi restaurants on Devon Ave and since then has completely given up eating at them...says they are dirty, meat is never clean, insect problems, etc. Ive heard horror stories from him and stay away from the majority of Devon restaurants.
Cleanliness is a huge issue...ever been to their bathrooms? Some of the bathrooms are horrible. I would rather hold it then use them.
it is better to go to burger king
I will wait for X2 to say something about that :D
I also hate the smell of wicked agarbattis in desi restaurants.
I will wait for X2 to say something about that :D
kyun ji?
Maulvan Zobia muda zilla lahu Burger King jaati haain aur aap ko iss pe koi eitraaz nahi ..
She eats fish burger over there... coffee, milkshakes, apple pie... so many choices othan than the scrumptious double hunka beef patty.
^^ hershey pie
now I want some… ![]()