What Fish For What Dish?

Our recent picnic grilling menu.

Tilapia fillets, lightly seasoned with paprika and salt.
Fresh salsa made out of diced onions, tomatoes and cilantro (jahil desi can call it kachoomar)
Sourdough bread

We grilled tilapia on a charcoal grill
Grilled slices of sourdough bread and brushed it with olive oil while grilling
Made open face sandwiches with tilapia topped with salsa.

Forget about adults - kids went crazy. I highly recommend you guys to try that.

Re: What Fish For What Dish?

I hate it when wannabe goray call kachoomar “salsa”

Do I look like wannabe gora to you.

Uffoh bibi umme butool, kachoomar also has namak, mirch and lemon juice. Plus you slice the onion, not dice it.There is a difference.

Khatti or Sarah, could one of you guys please post the recipe! thanks.

(copying the recipe from the comments on the pic i posted on facebook lol)

very easy!!! for the original salmon fillet (pic i posted day before)…lay your salmon fillet skin side down on a foil lined baking dish…spread a layer of dijon mustard over the flesh, then sprinkle with salt & fresh ground black pepper…for the topping, if you have italian seasoned breadcrumbs, just combine that with melted butter and sprinkle over…i only had plain Panko breadcrumbs, so i combined that with a packet of italian seasoning and then proceeded…bake at 400 until fish flakes easily…then, to use the leftovers the next day, take whatever salmon you have left and shred with a fork…add one egg, some more breadcurmbs, finely chopped celery & red onion and some grated parm cheese..mix well…if it seems too wet, add a little more breadcrumbs…form into patties… in a non stick pan, heat 1 pat of butter with a little olive oil…cook until patties are crisp and brown on the outside and warm through the middle…i served them with tartar sauce, and steamed veggies!

Tell the fishmonger or seafood counter that you want the haddock in 2oz pieces for a fish stew…they will cut/trim it to the size of a puck (does that make sense?). Since haddock is a firm flesh, it will hold up beautifully!

Batter/Deep Frying—**I stay true to the South…catfish it is!!! There is nothing better than cornmeal crusted fried catfish!! :yummy:

Pan Frying– Sole or Rainbow Trout..I like to do a quick pan fry in lemon butter and throw in capers
Baking/Broiling/Grilling** – Salmon

Curries​ – Haddock or Sea Bass

Thanks khatti!! :kiss:

Btw I was joking. All the guppies are my friends so I joke with them. We call it kachhomar too. There is no other word in urdu for that.

Aap ko without smiley ke joke damajh main nahi aataa kya? :frowning:

mujhey tau aata hai baba…shayad aap ko nahin aata…

Im not a fan of sea food cause the smell puts me off, but I lovee Tilapia and Basa fillets seasoned with Shan’s fish masala. :smiley: