What exactly is the purpose of this forum

Salaaaam

Moderators whats the purpose of this forum, Is this forum meant for us to share our ideas openly and learn from each other, Or just write what pleases you. We all have different opinions on different issues but we learn of truth by searching, asking other friends and people, and if you don’t agree with them isn’t it better for you tooo give your opinion supposrting what makes you think its not right so we can learn better rather than just deleting the stuff you can’t argue about or dont agree with, This is simply a monopoly.

Brother Allshah and Humble it was real nice to have you people, you were a great source of knowledge for me along with some others, but some people have trouble accepting the truth, they just want to hide it. We won’t have split into so many sects today if people wont have tried to hide the truth and would have open their judgement of mind and leant to face and search for the truth. I feel sorry for them, Allshah you gave very good arguments and with some goood daleels, hope these people would have tried to benefit from it, Humble your views on Islam were very admiring, I wish these narrow minded moderators wouldn’t have kept deleting your posts and we all could have benefit from your deal of knowledge.

Humble and Allshah please give me your email adresses so we can share our opinions and views through email, other guppies who want to be in touch VIA emails, email me your adresses and i’ll create a list for us to share our views.

May Allah guide us all to the right path

[This message has been edited by Mr. Pakistani (edited September 23, 2000).]

I dont understand what the big deal is about. People have different opinions, let them share their views. If the moderators want to do something useful, tell some of the people, who use profanities here, to be more discrete and display some manners.

We recite Surah Hamd almost everytime when we pray salaat. On the sixth Ayat of the surah we ask God to guide us to the right path, I think we will be able to guide us to the right path if we search for it, search for the truth, ask other and talk them about your beliefs and ishallah God will help us find the right path.

May Allah guide us all to Right path

Khuda Hafiz

Originally posted by Mr. Pakistani:
We recite Surah Hamd almost everytime when we pray salaat. On the sixth Ayat of the surah we ask God to guide us to the right path, I think we will be able to guide us to the right path if we search for it, search for the truth, ask other and talk them about your beliefs and ishallah God will help us find the right path.

May Allah guide us all to Right path

Khuda Hafiz**

Mr.pakistani ,humble Shah & whoever,if you keep talking in TABGIENT,by that i mean in 3rd person ,atleast i don't know what you want.Put down ten 'truths' according to you .I wll discuss that ,i promise. Be specific,tangible & give e.g so we know or see clearly what you are talking about

take care ,focus,organize ,articulate
Allah hafiz :)

Originally posted by sanam:
** Mr.pakistani ,humble Shah & whoever,if you keep talking in TABGIENT,by that i mean in 3rd person ,atleast i don't know what you want.Put down ten 'truths' according to you .I wll discuss that ,i promise. Be specific,tangible & give e.g so we know or see clearly what you are talking about

take care ,focus,organize ,articulate
Allah hafiz :)**

Sanaam now you have problem with me using the third person narration, next time i will try to write in first person narration, sorry i didnt realize there might be some people who don't pray.

We all have different views on different thing, somethings i agree with you might not agree and we can change our views or be confident of our opinions when we research or learn from our other fellows, Lately i posted a thread where i qouted an Ayat from Quran that clearly show us the stand of Ayesha against Hazrat Ali was wrong. Quran had asked her too stay at her home, which ofcourse she didnt follow and ranged a war against Hazrat Ali A.S. and to this people had all different opinions, and while we all were sharing the opinons some moderators and my other fellow guppies couldnt stand the truth and the forum was closed. This didnt just happened to me there were lot of other posts posted by Allshah and other fellow guppies which were either edited or closed. Anyway i am don't want to start anymore debates, which would be edited or locked after sometime, you wanna look for truths, look at the threads going on within the last two months on shia sunni threads.

[This message has been edited by Mr. Pakistani (edited September 24, 2000).]

Originally posted by hk:
I dont understand what the big deal is about. People have different opinions, let them share their views. If the moderators want to do something useful, tell some of the people, who use profanities here, to be more discrete and display some manners.

People may have different opnions but they fail to see what they post might be offensive to others in the forum

Exactly Anchal.

Mr.Pakistani, i believe its a place where people can learn,share,and debate.....with courtesy and with respect.

Salaam girl from Quraish

Originally posted by Girl from Quraysh:
**Exactly Anchal.

Mr.Pakistani, i believe its a place where people can learn,share,and debate.....with courtesy and with respect.

With due respect Mam. You probably know me as Mr. Pakistani in the forum. I totally agree with you on the issue of respect, We should always treat and talk to others with respect,
if you read at the posts by me earlier I have asked my other fellow guppies to talk with respect.
I dont know for some reason i have been blocked on the in the forum since last week without any written notification, eventhough i am sure i havent used any offensive language. Would you like tell me why I am not allowed to post anymore. What kinda debate, or share of opinons we can have when everybody is not allowed to share their opinons equally, I dont think its fair

As far as the issue of someone getting offensed is concerned, religon itself is a sensitive topic. We all share different views of different topics, but personally I belief its not something that i shall hide what i think is right because it might offend someone, if someone has problem with my views and opinions rather then getting offended and closing the forum or banning others, he shall reply on it based on his judgement why he think it is wrong, It will help us all learn wats right and whats wrong better. When Holy Prophet started preaching islam lot of people stood against him and he was also sent to shob-e-Abi taalib for some time but all this didnt stop him from standing for right, he didnt leave the right path and Alhamdullilah with his efforts we are now muslims, and enjoying a religon that help us live a succesful life

May Allah Guide us all to the Right Path

[This message has been edited by Bandaekhuda (edited October 02, 2000).]

SALAAM !

THIS FORUM HAS ALLOWED MANY PAKISTANIS LIVING OVERSEAS TO DISCUSS ABOUT THE PAKISTANI AFFAIRS.....................

YOURS SINCERELY,
ZEESHAN_PAKISTANI

Mr. Pakistani (or whatever)

I believe that, in your own curious writing style, what you are saying is that there are differences of opinion in muslim ummah, and most notable between the shi'ites and the ahle-Sunnah. So this forum must allow for discussions that are between shi'ites and sunnis on topics of mutual interest.

While this may be true and, therefore, should be allowed, what the moderators require is common decency and decorum must to be maintained. In addition, especially for the "Religious" postings, it is recommended that no such utterances be made which hurt the feelings of any sect. Any opinion, must be backed by relevant references and evidence for them to be taken seriously and to further the cause of knowledge for everyone.

Adios!

[This message has been edited by Pristine (edited October 02, 2000).]

baat suno pristine bhai,
mein wasey to kum kum hee yahan aata hoon aur mein is khatmal chakkar mein (shai sunni) naheen parta, (merey shiya bhaeeyon mujhey maaf karna, ghaltee sey khatmal nikal gaya), acha to bhaee pristine bhayya, eik baat bataein aap,
how do you define decency?
mein kisee kee side naheen leta aur munsifana iqdaam per yaqeen rakhta hoon, is leyey, allshah key remarks mujhey achey naheen lagey.
laikin mr. pakistani ney kabhi koee ultee seedhee baat naheen kee thee. iskey barkhilaaf, mein jab bhi is section mein aaya, meney nanga ko khatmal bradran (shiyyon) key khilaf bhau bhau kartey dekha. Kiya mein ghalat keh raha hoon? halankey mein khood machar hoon, magar kisee bhee musalman bhai key khilaf ghalat zaban istaimal karna ghalat hay, chahey wo khatmal hee kiyoon na hoon.

ab aap jaeeyay aur abba gee key pair dabaeeyay.

aap sey insha-Allah kal shaam key khaney par mulaqat hogee.

achee khala (apni walida) ko mera salaam kehyay ga.

faqat,
azam.

[This message has been edited by Azam (edited October 02, 2000).]

bhaeeon aur behnoon, mein aapka dost amin sayani bol raha hoon.

binaka geet mala kee chotee per puhunch raha hay, apka pasandeeda forum 'APNI BAAT' yaanee sirif apnee hee baat.

adaab,
azam

Mr. Pakistani (or whatever)

I believe that, in your own curious writing style, what you are saying is that there are differences of opinion in muslim ummah, and most notable between the shi'ites and the ahle-Sunnah. So this forum must allow for discussions that are between shi'ites and sunnis on topics of mutual interest.

While this may be true and, therefore, should be allowed, what the moderators require is common decency and decorum must to be maintained. In addition, especially for the "Religious" postings, it is recommended that no such utterances be made which hurt the feelings of any sect. Any opinion, must be backed by relevant references and evidence for them to be taken seriously and to further the cause of knowledge for everyone.

Adios!

[This message has been edited by Pristine (edited October 02, 2000).]

Salaaam Pristine bahi

Read the post Girl from Quraish posted on the purpose of the forum. We have debates and share of opinions, when we have different views on different issues, Its not just sunni and shia, I have seen different school of thoughts within the sunni sects on different issues, and i dont think there is nothing wrong in having discussions about it with others, its a good way do to learn.

What do you mean by this term of decency, What have i done that i am banned from the forum, did you ever read the posts of the people like nanga, Jawaan and other fellow guppies. What have i posted that was so in decent or something thats without any reference.
<<<>>

Are you trying to say that, i shall hide what i think is right because it might hurt someone else feeling, isnt it our duty as muslims to stand for the truth, take for example if you look at your fellow brother doing some bad deed don't you think its your duty as muslim to guide him. I just can't see anything wrong with it.
May Allah help us all follow the right path

Not at all true, BandaeKhuda. Frankly speaking (no offence), I am not aware that you have been banned (!) or for that matter, I do not remember any of your posts…oops! Ok, lets say, I don’t remember anything controversial in your posts.

You have an absolute right to your opinion, right or wrong, and you have an equal right to express those opinions. All that is required is that the choice of words must be appropriate for a religious discussion.

To take your analogy further, if I see my fellow brother doing some bad deed, it is my responsibility to guide him. However even in this case, I should not use harsh or abusive language. Similarly, for any matter, if we come across an opinion which differs from our, we should readily post our opinion pointing out the defect in the rationale of the original post. For religious discussion, an added safety feature is that the participants must try to research the topic and provide references from Quran, hadith or religious books, so that the readers understand the rationale and can carry out further reading and enhance their knowledge.

There may be people here, who misquote Quran or other religious text, but it is up to us, the other participants, to correct such mistakes or to point out any errors. We should not expect the Moderators to research everything posted on these boards to verify authenticity and then to ban those people who post erroneous information. This is just not possible. The use of decent language is the only proper way to use these forums.

(I hope I am not stepping on any toes here, eh, GFQ?)

Adios!

I found an excellent article on “difference of opinion”. Here is the relevant text:

Ethics in the Pursuit of Truth

From our treatment of controversial issues, we note that selfish desires did not motivate any of the Companions; the pursuit of truth was the distinguishing factor in the differences which arose. In the period after the Prophet’s death and the end of revelation, the following norms guided the Companions:

1. They strenuously strove to avoid differences as far as possible.
  2. When differences of opinion were inevitable owing, for example, to evidence being available to some and not to others or to differences in the understanding of a text or an expression, they would remain firmly within the bounds of what is allowed in striving to reach the truth. They would admit their errors without any bitterness or embarrassment while always having a tremendous respect for people of virtue, knowledge, and understand ing. No one would overestimate himself or disparage the ability or the rights of his brother Muslim. The search for truth and for the correct judgment was their mutual endeavor, and they willingly accepted the truth from whichever quarter it came.
  3. They regarded the brotherhood of Islam as one of the most important principles of the religion, and without which it would be impossible to establish Islam. This brotherhood transcended differences of opinion or compromise on questions which were open to varying interpretations.
  4. Matters relating to the tenets of Islamic belief were not the subject of disputation. Differences of opinion were therefore confined to subsidiary matters.
  5. Prior to the khilaafah of Uthmaan ibn Affaan, may God be pleased with him, most of the Companions resided in Madinah and a few in Makkah. They rarely left their homes except for jihaad and such purposes. In this way, they were able to meet frequently, consult one another and reach consensus on many matters.
  6. The reciters of the Qur’aan and the fuqahaa’ were prominent and had a high standing in society. They were treated in a manner similar to the leaders of the state. Each was given due recognition in his own special field. They were all aware of the juristic standpoint of others and were clear about each other’s methods of deduction to the extent that there existed a certain implicit understanding and agreement among them.
  7. They regarded corrections of one another’s judgments as a form of assistance which a person extended to his brother in faith. Such correction was not seen as exposing a fault or as a form of censure.

The complete article is available on http://www.usc.edu/dept/MSA/humanrelations/alalwani_disagreement/chapter4.html

Ciao!

Pristine,

When you use phrases like "idiotic whining" to refer to another member's posts you disprove all that you are trying to preach in the above comments.

Happy now, Admin?

Yes, thank you.
We appreciate your co-operation.

this is a good forum. i found the religion section interesting. Good job admin bhai.

Mr pakistani/ bandaekhuda.

The discussions have been very lively... too lively at some junctures..

But as the psycology of human beings goes.. this is what goes through any human beings mind ....(me in this is not me personally ...to make matters clear)
' if you slate my belief (religous or otherwise) than you slate me.. therefore you don't respect me.. why should I listen to you'...

guidance from the prohet is that when discussing anything.. keep your voice low.. so the same goes for written discussions.. you cannot change someone's mind by belitteling their belief.. you can only change their mind by giving them all the information and let them come to their own conclusion..

So if you state something and is backed by proof and is not slating other's belief.. that would be a decent posting in the 'religion' section of gup shup.