What exactly is Pakistani culture?

Hain??? Sachi??? Waqiyai? :eek:

:smiley: :blush:

Jaldi mein tha iss liyey ghalti ho gai, darguzar kar deejiyay Masterni Sahiba, aaenda ehtiyat kareiN ge.

Yeh bata doun I have better writing skills than you, I’ve read your gora guy/desi girl story nothing compared to what I can do, despite mine being real life personal experience but right now I’ve got a million other windows open so my grammar and spelling on Gupshup is the last thing I’m worried about.

Well it was all fiction, so of course I don’t know how that would feel to go through that situation. :snooty: But I got an A on that paper and i’m getting an A in this class so :mocking:

*Originally posted by Sadiyah: *
dark_knite, I was never brain-washed as India or Indians being bad. There is a certain amount of enmity that exists on both sides of the border for each other. Might I point out that often such enmity is openly displayed in Indian movies as well. Hence, stating that it's only Pakistanis who harbour such feelings would be incorrect.

This is true , but there is on critical differance between two nation .While movies in India are anti-Pakistan (Not anti-Muslims) , across the border movies are anti-Hindu ( like Moosa Khan) . Also history in Indian school-books ends at partition , in Pakistan kids are taught to be anti-Hindu and anti-Indian.This is obvious from the attitude of a some of the posters in this thread.They are not only ignorant but misinformed about Hindu religion.

Also, I do not wish to adopt Arab/Persian culture because it's not mine to begin with. I'm fine with the South Asian cultural aspects such as food, language, dress, etc. However, I'm not in support of many wedding rituals that have no roots linking to Islam or a pure Pakistani culture.

I see a contradiction here . What is "pure Pakistani" culture ? Are you ashamed of Indus valley culture and diswon it ? Is Taxila not part of your culture and architecture .

I will give you example of Indonesia and Malaysia . This region was Hindu in the pre-Islamic times . And they still retain a lot of their Hindu culture and rituals .
Another piece of trivia , the former president of largest Muslim nation in the world - Indonesia -is Megawati Sukarnoputri. It is a purely Sanskrit name .

What I mean is don't reject all those rituals and aspects of your culture which have Hindu roots.Reject only those which clash with your Islamic beliefs . In my opinion "Pure Islamic culture" is just another catch-word of being clones of Arrabs .

Islam is a universal religion and not a religion specifically for the Arabs.

Yes, I like my Pakistani (perhaps Indus Valley/Indian) culture so long as it does not clash with my Islamic beliefs and practices.

I would try my best to abandon it at any point where it clashes with my Islamic beliefs.

As for the movies, I can't remember any names, but many have been against Muslims portraying Muslims as the 'trouble-makers'.

Re: What exactly is Pakistani culture?

Everytime I shed some light over the culture that I have been made to practice, I come to realize that it's not even genuinely Pakistani.

It is the Indian culture that our ancestors brought along with them when they immigrated to Pakistan.

I thought we got a separate nation in the name of Islam, to practice and follow the religion to the best of our ability, yet I feel we never really left the Indian culture and always have been clinging on it a little too much.

Can someone please differentiate between Pakistani and Indian culture?
So what exactly is our culture? How do we differentiate between Indian
and Pakistani culture?

What you said isn't quite true, because bear in mind that people whos ancestors immigrated to Pakistan are just a tiny minority amongst Pakistani. The vast majority of Pakistani come from families that have lived in the territory that eventually became Pakistan for centuries. The culture they follow is the one that existed in that territory for hundreds of years before there was a Pakistan or even an India.

The essence of the issue is that Pakistani Muslims are amost entirely predominantly descended from Hindus who converted to Islam, and converted simply through combining some, but not all, elements of Islam with their existing lifestyle. Essentially, the cultural values they held before becoming Muslim many hundreds of years ago were retained.

Most of the population was converted by Sufis who prioritised getting people to abandon belief in false gods and believe only in Allah, than in getting people to believe in religious orthodoxy. This made it very easy for cultural practices from another religion to continue to be done by the new Muslims.

Those Pakistanis of non-hindu-only descent, predominantly those with some Turk, Mongol, Persian or Arab blood in them, are descended from those Muslim outsiders who came to the Indian subcontinent and completely integrated into the fusion of hindu and muslim values that the majority of the Muslim population of the subcontinent adhered to.

As recently as 200-300 years ago, when travellers from Persia would visit Muslim-ruled, even Muslim-dominated areas of India they would be amazed and horrified at the culture of Indian Muslims, which they viewed as unislamic.

What I'm trying to get at is that Pakistani culture is the blend of hindu culture and some Islamic values that Muslims on the subcontinent have followed ever since Islam was introduced there. Indian culture is the same thing, just without the "some" part.

Muslims on the Indian sub-continent have, as a society, never fully accepted Islam for over 1000 years, though many notable individuals amongst them have.

As for the movies, I can't remember any names, but many have been against Muslims portraying Muslims as the 'trouble-makers'.

This is false . Such movies , if made will be censured, because 150 million Muslims live in India . If a Muslim is being shown as trouble-maker , then another Muslim will be shown trouble-solver or a Hindu will be shown as bigger trouble-maker in the same movie.

The aim is ofcourse prevent stereotyping on the basis of religion. This is essential to retain commnual harmony in Multi-religious country like India .

I suggest pakistanis to see excellant movies like Roja,Bombay,Dev to understand this issue .

But I am going off-topic , you guys can continue your discussion on Pakistani culture and Identity .

what exactly indian culture ? south and north completly differet culture
so it is anot about religen north has more common with pakistan than with south. atleast both can understand each other when you talk.

Hard facts:
You can’t deny the history and neighborhood countries.
After ten generations people from your neighborhood ask same questions,And feel same way.

If whole world converted to one religion still  culture and history, Always separate between the people.

In conclusion be proud what you are and never wear a blond wig to pretend...

Also history in Indian school-books ends at partition , in Pakistan kids are taught to be anti-Hindu and anti-Indian.This is obvious from the attitude of a some of the posters in this thread.They are not only ignorant but misinformed about Hindu religion.

Ji ji aap sab to jesay farishtey (devta) haiN, sab jaanta houN tum logouN ki makaari aur jhootey apnepan ko, chal phut yahaan se..

Aa jaatey hain pata nahein kahaaN kahaaN se mu utha ke..

*Originally posted by gpsy: *
Hard facts:
You can’t deny the history and neighborhood countries.
After ten generations people from your neighborhood ask same questions,And feel same way.

If whole world converted to one religion still  culture and history, Always separate between the people.

In conclusion be proud what you are and never wear a blond wig to pretend... 

We're not denying anything but history is past, we're concerned with our present and future as proud Muslims, our heroes the Sahaabah were foresaken by their own families but they still put this great Dharam before everything, they believed in it without comprimise, they kicked the Jaahil Mushrik elements in their culture striaght out of the window and Allah willing we will follow their example.

Mad_Scientist: Thanks! That makes a lot of sense.

I wonder if there is any way I can find out who my ancestors are just for the heck of it. Unfortunately, I only know the names of my grand parents and that's about it. :(

Sadiyah, do you know where your grandparents were born? Do your parents know? Knowing the area you family was historically from is the first step towards knowing your family's history.

Generally, if your family has a rural background in Punjab, Sindh, Kashmir or India, it's more likely than not that they were converts from Hinduism. Most non-Hindu descended Muslims (ie Turks, Arabs, Persians) in India's past were soldiers and noblemen and as such lived in power centres i.e. cities. So if your family has an urban history it's possible that there may be of non-native indian descent.

without arab invasion pakistani would not have "civilised" country?
are you saying your past is shameful?

mAd_ScIeNtIsT, my paternal side is from Aligarh, UP, India, whereas my maternal side is from New Delhi and Badayon, India.

That's all I really know so far.

For me there is no difference between a Pakistani & a Indian, they are all the same people but different religions, and now with different countries. The Pakistanis are no different than those Muslims in India, some moved over and some stayed. The reason why they created Pakistan was so that Muslims do not become Majority in India, and so that they do not have good representation in the Indian government. I believe India & East Pakistan should merge together and form one state, because there is no need for one people having two seperate countries.

its not different at all other than we have muslims names....its all hindu culture from the clothes we wear to the things we do on weddings etc, the mehndi, basant...the caste system....the family system......the concept of izzat and always thinkging about what others will say before we are allowed to do anything...it all stems from our forefathers who were living with the hindus...its been passed on and no one has questions it (as in our grandparents) they just follow it blindly and give more importance to culture than Islam....but there is a minority who are lucky enough to have parents who just follow islam and ignore paki culture so May Allah reward them!

Aryan, and D2A, i agree with most of what you said. thats what i have been trying to tell since i got on this forum.

But for some reason, some fanatics here just assume that every pakistani is a muslim and every indian is a hindu and start talking shyte. i think you guys should post more here.

i agree pakistani = islam and india = hindu is very simplistic definition of a country.

well great minds think alike!

the majority of pakistanis living in pakistani are more closer to their indian counterpart than his muslim brother in the UK unless the pakistani living in pakistan actually practises his religion…those who say pakistani culture is distinct from hindu culture i want to know which part??? and anyway they are in complete denial becoz they love the indian culture…

I know Dear, some people love generalising which does not take them to a good end.