Mohammed Akram! He was a brilliant find in the 96 series aganst England and yet in the subsequent years he has played a handful of tests at irregulat intervals. His stats arethus crappy, but this was a bowling machine of some potential. Hisa run up and delivery where majestic to watch and he was blessed with real pace.
In stead of playing jokers like Afridi and Mahmood, the PCB and politics in our game ruined the career of one of the most talent and promising quicks of the last dedace. Had they stuck with M.Akram they would have a match winner of sheer class now…shame really.
He was quicker then Mohammed Sami, taller, leaner, and just better! He’s abt 30~ now and well his best years are wasted.
Mo bhai you should look at his behaviour which was very arrogant to say the least and got him thrown out of his county in England and from the national team as well. The guy misbehaved on tours and always turned up late whether it was for the match or for practice.
Perhaps he was arrogant, but so is Shoaib and to be honest there is more potential in Akram then Akhtar. Shoiab without his pace is a very average bowler, Mohamed showed in just 2 tests that he had control of swing (both ways) and was capable of great lateral movement of the seam......watch the way he cut through Thorpe.
I feel they should have given him time to calm down behavior wise, cos he was really too good a talent to let go. I mean i saw guys like Ifran and Fazal e Akbar bowl-and given there my age (ala 18~) but they just didnt have anything to wow about.
Mohammed Akram was worth it just to see his run up. Eat your heart out Micheal Holding. :)
Pakistan is blessed w/ non stop talent--- but we are also very good in wasting that...
Mohd Wasim was a great rhythmic bowler...so was Mohd Shabbir (the tall- Garner look like)... but we wasted them..
Thanx to Our new PCB chairman(I admire him for his contribution to criket--esp bowlers)..we have been able to salvage Mohd Zahid and Shoaib..o/w the list of wasted talent is very long!!
Fazle Akber and Shahid Nazeer are two Shifarshee---they never deserved any chance in presence of Zahid and Akram
I'm sure Mohd Wasim was an opening bat, and not a particularly great one at that. I saw Mohd Zahid once on Tv during a SAHARA cup game in Toronto I think, and he was skiddy/fast. His open chested action made him a good long term option.
However Shabbir Ahmed (chucker) was just crap. I faield to see the "wow" factor in him, and the Pakistani press does overrate many of the youngsters that we finally see.
Sami is a good bowler, Shoaib is awesome and zahid too is decent, although post recovery only Allah knows what he has left. I still believe that the potential king was robbed of a chance-MOHAMMED AKRAM!
He had everything needed to be the best. What a waste of talent. :(
I didn't find anything interesting about Muhammad Akram.
He was just tall and tried to be fast.
Nothing special about him.
Even Imran Khan said once in Sharjah that he looks that he is not trying enough.
Very lazy run up and follow through.
The last time he played was in Asia Cup 2000.
Muhammad Wasim was very similiar to Wajahtullah Wasti.
Was a slow starter and struglled throughtout the innings.
Might have been good for test matches as he had time to settle in but one days definately no.
Really slow players.
I rather have an inconsistent Nazir or Afridi to score 25 runs every match in 10 deliveries and get out rather than slow M Wasim scoring 50 runs in 150 balls.
Yaar I'll respect your sporting knowledge, but everyone from Riochie Beanaud and Mikey Holding to ian Chappel gave props to Mohammed Akram when he started off. His first tour to the Uk was something awesome, sure he didnt take 20 wkts, but he bowled with fire and style. The potential was there-he was underscoring his selection.
He was fast, no "trying to be"-was faster then Mohammed Sami on average and swung it both ways, man watch that 3rd test V England and then say he was "trying" to be classy. If he is lazy then **** him, but if it is politicsw keeping him away-that is real sad. :(
[QUOTE] Originally posted by Changez_like: *
**There was one player, perhaps of cricket team who was caught with a girl (perhaps a case of rape), does anyone remember who was that player? *
Sometime back three players Shahid Afridi, Hasan Raza and Atiq uz Zaman were fined Rs. 50 000 each and debarred from taking part in ICC knockout tourny in Kenya for bringing girls into thir rooms.
In 1997 - An under-19 player, Zeeshan Pervez, was charged in Guyana, West Indies, of raping a woman . He was released after lack of evidence.
Shane Warne wasn't caught with the girl but guilty of phone s@x.
*Aaaah.....I remember Mohammad Akram. His ability to get the ball to bounce off a good length was extremely impressive. And yes you shmucks, mo_best is right in his statement; Mohammad Akram was wasted. He definitely was some talent. People, That Is All.*
[QUOTE] Originally posted by the game: *
*The Game Responds**:
*Aaaah.....I remember Mohammad Akram. His ability to get the ball to bounce off a good length was extremely impressive. And yes you shmucks, mo_best is right in his statement; Mohammad Akram was wasted. He definitely was some talent. People, That Is All.*
...No offence dear but i have one question for you..
You so frequently use Word "shmucks"...do u really know the meaning??
In Yiddish Shmuck means foolish, idiot......and the correct spell is Schmuck!
Bhai hum se Kya kasuur huwa hai keh we all are Schmucks??