What does Yahudi, Hanudi mean?

I saw these words on Pakistani forum but didn’t know actual meaning. I tried to google but i got strange answers. So i thought i would ask the wise people here since its a language word. Apologies if already posted.
From google it seems yahoodi means jewish israeli? but hanood i couldnt find its a specific group of people. Some places it had mixed answers like a lost tribe or people from some religion. That didn’t seem right as there are people of all religions in Pakistan. I didn’t want to guess/assume wrong so i thought i’d ask you. What is the origin of these words and what does it mean? What is the relationship between the two for the common person?

It was in this comment but i didn’t want to derail the thread.

Re: What does Yahudi, Hanudi mean?

yahoodi = jewish
hanudi = Judaism

Thanks for the info. WHy would both words mean the same thing? So Jewish is for the people and Judaism is for the religion? Isn't it same. Is Hanudi a type of lost Jewish tribe?
Ok in my google search i got things like it means Jewish, Indian or Hindu. That just didn't make sense. But then not all Indians are Hindus and not all Hindus are Indians. There are Pakistani, Nepali and Indonesian Hindus as well. Also unlike Yahudis many Indian Muslims share common connection with Pakistanis, while Indian non Muslims share a cultural connection..also Nepalis give visa on entry and they are Hindus. How are they connected to Yahudis? Why would Yahudi be grouped with Hanudi if both are not Jewish?
That just sounded wrong. If it's a tribe it should be a specific location and religion. Like Yahudi could be Jewish Israeli? So basically Hanudi is a Jewish tribe following Judaism? Also in middle east?

According to Phoenixdesi all born and raised Pakistanis know the meaning. I want to know also. :(

it's like Islam and Muslims...the followers of the religion.

ok thanks for definition. I'm glad its not what i googled. there's too much misinformation out there on the internet.

Back in 1958 there was a bollywood movie called Yahoodi made. Had the classic song yeh mera deewanapan hai. Now with Pakistani movie industry doing well there should be a movie called Hanudi :)

@TS

@Muqabhai

how did the words originate?

*yahood = Jew
*Urban Dictionary: yahood

GS already discussed that
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/religion-and-philosophy/580196-jews-yahud-christian-nasara.html

hanood* = Hindu (not sure of origin)

Nasaara = Christian (arabic)

sometimes i have seen Qanood for Qadyanis…(new term)

hanudi is no term

Use google to search “hanood yahood” and you will see many many posts and links using this terminology..i dd not invent them!

OK i will do a search. There was no GS thread on Hanood.
I’ve not heard of Hanood being used much in daily life. Interesting how one gets from Indus - to Sindu to Hindu and then Hanood.
qanood lol thats interesting. Christians are called Nasaara..sounds like nazaara.
You should watch the movie called Yahudi its interesting. Has some classic songs.

yes i love that song..yae tera diwana pan by mukesh....i think it is dilip kumaar classic. i have seen some of it on youtube.

yes hanood probably will not have any literary history and most likely was devised by our desi shcolars to use it with yahood in the same senetnce..same for qanood

I heard it before but didn't know it was part of a movie called Yahudi. Hanood and Qanood sound like new words.
I think Hanoodi sounds better. I would be interested in watching a Pakistani movie/drama called Hanoodi with good songs.

I do admire your bravery for voicing all that here and sharing it with us..especially how it is used in sermons. You could be the voice of change and you can transform the Maulvis who say it to bring out the real peaceful message instead. Possibly mention to them Yahudi is also a bollywood movie.
Mention some Hanudis like Nepali ones give Pakistanis visa on arrival and it would be counter-intuitive to want them to be barbaad.If they have to say it maybe they could be more specific? like hanoodis or yahoodis who don't like us/attack us or something. pata nahi.

These are not new terms. They were being used since centuries.

This is a line from Allama Iqbal’s famous ‘Jawab e Shikwa’ written around a century ago.

Waza Mein Tum Ho Nisara, Tau Tamaddun Mein Hanood,
Yeh Musalman Hain! Jinhain Dekh Ke Sharmaen Yahood?

My Pakistan: Jawab-e-Shikwa - Allama Iqbal

Hanood is Arabic plural of Hindi (Arabic for Hindu). Interesting to know that relationship between Indians and Arabs predates Islam and Arabs literature and some ahadees of Prophet refer to India. There was a campaign in Sindh’s schools for making Ajrak part of school uniforms and in that campaign they said that Ajrak was also worn by the Prophet at an occasion. Tamar-Hindi (Imli) literally mean date from India.

As far as origin of Yahood is concerned, Yahooda was eldest son of Hazrat Yaqoob (AS) , referred as Jackob in Bible. While Hazrat Yaqoob had a title of Israel (which is equivalent to Arabic Abdullah) and accordingly his decedents were known as Banu Israel wrongly referred as Bani Israel due to grammatical error which has been accepted over a period of time, decedents of Yahooda were called yahoodi / yahood, though Quran refers them as ‘Hadoo’ while addressing them as (Qul ya ayyu halla zeen haadu) which is equivalent to (Ya bani Israeal’a).

So are Pundas, also lost tribe of Israel? they might be involved in making many tribe losing their way though :D

Interesting knowledge. Even the word Hindu came from Indus and was used by Persians. Indus valley is itself in Pakistan. I find the word Hindu interesting especially since it is what Persians used to call people living near Indus river. Original meaning kuch aur aur ab kuch aur.

Anything is possible :) There should be more knowledge about word Hanood in India. I have no idea of this background knowledge. Phir bhi yeh yahoodi hanoodi connection samajh nahi aata the way PD said it's used. Kya taluq hai.