Hi
i heard a song today:**
kaali terii choTii hai, paranda teraa laal ni
kisii manchale kaa dil aa gayaa to hogii baRii mushkil**
what does the word “paranda” mean? is it a Punjabi word?
thankoo
Hi
i heard a song today:**
kaali terii choTii hai, paranda teraa laal ni
kisii manchale kaa dil aa gayaa to hogii baRii mushkil**
what does the word “paranda” mean? is it a Punjabi word?
thankoo
Re: what does the word “PARANDA” mean?
This is a paranda…it is the thing that women tie into their braids, kind of like a decorative extension
Re: what does the word "PARANDA" mean?
A paranda is a hair accessory, but it in the olden times it was more of a necessity. It's made up of 3 long "ribbons", tied at one end, and each ribbon ending in a tassel. It was used to primarily hold the braid together, since no such thing as hair ties back then, as well as give the braid volume. It could always be glammed up by changing the color from plain black to any other color (red as mentioned in the song), to more elaborate forms with ghungroo, shiny stuff, etc.
thank you Ess Emm for a detailed reply…btw, is it a Punjabi word?
oh ok…thank you. it’s like pom pom at the end of braids. pic helped a lot in knowing exactly what it is.
It doesn’t go at the end of the braid, it’s woven within the braid. This video might help
Hair Tutorial - The Paranda Braid - Making and Wearing Your Paranda - YouTube
A few more pictures of what it is
http://www.fashionends.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/paranda-www.fashionends-6.jpg
It’s kinda similar to this S. Indian hair plait decoration (I forget what it’s called), except the paranda like I said goes in the hair, whereas this is pinned on top of the hair
As for if it’s a Punjabi word or not, I’m not sure, since I don’t know if there is an exact thing in other cultures/languages, though people I know, non-Punjabi included know what a paranda is, and call it as such.
^ thank you so much for additional info.
i never heard of this word as it's not used in Northern India. i see the difference...must be a very colorful choTi :)
Here you go.
Aap ki farmaaish par, pretty Baabra twirling her kaali gut and laal paraanda. ![]()
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wmx44Zx6KTU
The first video is missing the start.
This one has it, but is messed up later.
Is it called something else? I thought it was a rather common accessory in Punjabi attire, as seen:
In Sindh, Paranda is called saggi..
o teri khair
Baalisht bhar ki chokri aur chokra kitni chalaangain lagaa rahay hain.
Can you see YT or do you have workarounds to see ?
can’t see, but I know how they dance in Pakistani movies
This one's fun. Watch it when you have YT in the next few years. :)
^ thank you so much for additional info.
i never heard of this word as it's not used in Northern India. i see the difference...must be a very colorful choTi :)
It actually is used in Northern India (Punjab) and very common actually too. I don't know how it is for Pakistan Punjab but
Indian Punjabi girls wear these all the time to Mehndi functions and some even to weddings.
ab aisi bhi koi baat nahin. Pakistani knows jugaaRs
But I not interested to watch this moti chutki Babra jumping in khet khaliyaan. She is not my type
wow...so many leads on Paranda...:) i'm sure it is extensively used in Uttar Pradesh but i wasn't familiar with this word. i dunno what the4y call it in our area...i'll ask someone and then i'll let you know what it is. :)
I have a question. Is the hair accessory worn by South Indian brides (pictured below) a type of paranda or is that something different?
These are both called Choti’s but there’s another common hair accessory like these called a Billai which is also seen in South Indian weddings. They’re very pretty, the billai gets smaller as you go down, they’re like round hair clips, it’s basically round jewelry worn on the braid.
The Paranda is Punjabi, the word itself is punjabi.
wow! looks nice MizgaaN…i wonder why women in northern India and /or Pakistan don’t use such a beautiful hair accessory. ![]()
^^ I've only seen girls in Pak wear flowers in their braids at times, but that too more so in Mehndi functions. I guess it depends.