What does a waiter say?

In Urdu. Like, in America, they’ll do this whole routine of “Hello, my name is Chad. I’ll be your waiter this evening. Let me just tell you about the specials we have on the menu today…” Etc. It’s a whole song & dance.

What is typical in Pakistan?

Re: What does a waiter say?

Han saab kiya laa'oon .. aalo gobhi, tinda gosht, murgh cholay, nihari, shami kabab, matar gosht, dal fry, anda ghotala, paya, maghaz fry, dam ka qeema, kaththay baingan, karelay kee sabai .. and so on so forth

^ Na’ uh TLK bhai we’ve moved on from the “haan kya laaon saab” .. i swear the last time we went to Pakistan we went to this really really old, classic style dhaaba in lahore (really dirty place, broken chairs, nothing posh except that their nihaari is amaaazzzinngg) so anyways the waiters in that dhaaba were hardly educated and yet they were like “jee madam” … “jee sir” … “ok sir”… :rotfl:

haha, we went to a restaurant and he said kya chaiye........

er.......

me- `can i have a menu first ( in urdu)

him- rolling eyes....hands me one..so i decide to talk in english..

noticing my accent..he jumps

jee madam, ...... and of he goes minding all his ps and qs....as if the queen had just arrived...

“Jee Sir” Or “Ok Sir” :hehe:

evry where in pakistan , they use it a lot !

ROFL.. thread title dekhne ke baad hee yehi mere mind main tha.. You took my words :D

Ah come on. Why would you want to impress a waiter with English accent?

At some dhaba which specializes only in one dish like nihari or pa-ya they just look at your face to blurt out your order. If you don’t they think you are either crazy or intoxicated. :bummer:

and yes dont stay at the restaurant for long else you will hear

"chaloo chaloo MAYZZZ khali karoo. DOOO rupey k chaie lee hai hotel KHAREED nahee leya"

HA! Certainly one gets the English version of that telepathically here in the West!

Very true - or you’re an annoyance!

And if you break a glass and go the counter to pay he will yell from where ever he is in the dhaba:
Sahab nay chai pee , 2 rupay.
Sahab nay glass tora 5 rupay.
Total 7 rupay lo sahab say.

I dont think its too common here. I have never been booted out of Starbucks although few post the seating time limit to 20/30 min

Makes me hungry just to read this!

actually most waiters wont say anything, they just hand you the menu and come back in 5 for the order. every1 knows the drill :D

They don’t just walk over to you and stand there… they come over and say “jee sir” and then u give the order… i want to go to a dhaaba right now!

I do not have any experience of Lahore kay dhabay , I have experience of many Karachi k dhabay , and things might have changed in Karachi too. I have been out for more than two decades now.

Chains don't count, and counter service places don't count-- their workers don't have anything vested in turnover. But if you go to a place where there is table service, then the waitperson needs turnover to make a living.

whaaaaaaaa :hayaa: Dude, you MUST go back!! I went after 8 years and I was like this is a totally different Pakistan!