Do you take your children to Eid prayers?
Do you buy them new clothes and shoes for Eid?
Do you host an Eid dawat at your house?
Do you travel to be with extended family (grandparents, aunts, uncles etc) on Eid? or spend it with friends in town?
Re: What does a typical Eid day look like in your household with your kids?
My nephew is 6 and always goes to Eid prayers with his dad, dadaji and uncles. my Neice is 2 and rules the roost at home!
Both of them get new outfits and shoes etc.
With them being so young we get them Eid presents all wrapped up, so after everyones is back from Eid prayers the room looks a tip with wrapping apper all over the place! They do still get Money eidi as well just smaller quantities.
During the day Everyone both family and friends come to ours- so it is nonstop entertaining and feeding all day, and locating kids who all want to play hide and seek!
In the evening, we visit all friends and family. We're lucky in that we don't have to travel far as everyone near and dear to us is in the same city (apart from relatives in pakistan!)
We don't tend to have a sit down dawat as there are too many people to visit and you have to eat everywhere or they will be offended. Our dawat tends to be the next day or even a few days later
It has been like that for years, wouldn't have it any other way!!
As my nephew is getting older he is starting to ask lots of questions around Eid and namaz etc, so it's nice to be able to explain things practically.
I usually dont take my kids to mosque as its too ealrly for them to get up and get ready and we have only one Eid Jamaat at our mosque at 8:30 AM.
After I come home, wife and kids are usually ready. We dont have extended family here but we make calls to them and then breakfast. In the evening, there is a an event at someone's place. Last eid, it was at our home.
My first Eid at in-laws InshAllah... lets see how it goes... :) Looking forward to it..
But before we always celebrated EID with the family in Pakistan. It was sooo much fun, we have our own Masjid, So we all get up early morning n go for the Eid namaz. Since all our family comes there, we meet up in the Masjid. But later go to each n every house meet the family, have chaats etc... Eid is fun back home!!
chand raath: mehndi for mom and sis and i... new clothes always... for all us kids. from shoes to clothes to accessories.
eid day before marriage started off with men going off to prayers... coming back and eating sawaiayan.. talking a bit... and then going back to bed (in arabia .. so naturally its an off day).... wake up and since we didnt have any family in arabia.. we just made calls to pakistan... in the evening .. eid gathering at our place or someone elses.
after marriage: same thing :D mil has an outfit ready for me.. i will have mehndi put on a day before... on eid day, wake up, eat sawaiyan, go for eid namaz.. that was new for me cuz women in my family dont go for eid namaz... but i guess its the most eid feeling you can get when u live in a non muslim country... come back.. men go to work and we ladies just carry on with the day ... evening... doll up and go to someones house or have the eid gathering at our place.. this rotates ... it was at our end last yr... this time someone else is hosting it.
oh and we get our eidi right after namaz when we come home :D we transfer eidi for siblings early so that they have it for eid day.
the past 2 eids we are doing back at my parents home in arabia... the routine is the same, just throw in my husband.
abbu and bhai's go for Eid ki namaz....me sis and mum get ready..when they come back we all go to eldest chacha's house...before nanijaan passed away we used to go to her house....ab eldest chacha...wahan pe poora khandan jama hota hai....we stay there for most part of teh day..then all of us..our chota sa khandaan usually go to the beach or somethign and do barbeque....else kabhi kabhi we plan an outing to a close by city....all of us together..its fun....
A week before I become Eidi Claus and go get presents for all the kids. I have the girls help me with all the wrapping.
This year we are def hitting a Chaand Raat Event.
Now that my girls are a little older - I take them to Eid prayers. I love to see all the kids dressed up. We have a toy distribution for all kids and breakfast at the masjid.
Los of Eid hugs later.... Off to see the family and friends for lunches and dinner.
Yes. I've been taking my daughter along ever since she was born :)
Yes. We usually get the clothes from Pakistan every year, shalwar kameez or a cute gharara :D
We are this year, on Saturday though as Friday was all booked.
In town, grandparents and extended family are in Pakistan. We usually have lunch at a restaurant, then go visit friends then go home, rest a while and then go to a dinner hosted at someone's house or have one at ours.
No ! there is no concept of taking girls for Eid prayers in Pakistan.
Yup ! A new outfit with matching shoes and accessories for all 3 days of eid.
No ! we don't have relatives here.
My daughter will be spending time with her nana and nani. We usually go out for lunch or dinner on 2nd and 3rd day of eid. On the 1st day we are at home just making phone calls to relatives and also receiving many many phone calls.
I want to go to namaz and want to take my 8 month old along. Is that crazy?
New clothes are must, my daughter used to go with her dad now I am thinking of sending my naughty son to eid prayer also lets see how it goes.
Usually it starts with phone calls and then either we go to friend’s house or they come.Or sometimes we families have lunch together at some desi place.
Nope its normal if your daughter doesn't cry while looking at strangers then it will be a good experience.
No,its not crazy if you know that she usually doesn't fuss or cry in gatherings...
When does she wake up in the morning...??I know if I wake up my daughter an hour before her usual time she generally has a fussy day..so maybe you will want to go to the last Namaz,which is later in the morning.
why would it be crazy ? ![]()
I want to take my daughter everywhere with me , it just makes me happy ! It’s your first eid with your daughter and it makes so much sense that you want to take her for namaz.
no it's not crazy. Our masjid makes sure that the kutbs is relevant and short and I like to say Eid mubarik to all the people at the masjid. It feels like Eid.
Take her favorite toys, her bottles, her binky. If she is not frazzled by a lot of people - it might be nice.
Thanks, guys! Hubby was saying, why bother, when she isn't really going to be aware of it, but that's not my way of doing things. I feel if we do that, it will be too late before we actually involve her. Plus, I do think that she will understand it is a special occasion.
Chips: she's usually up by 7am, and finishes her morning feed by 8. The 8am one will be too early, but I could aim for the 9:15, and maybe give her her cereal there.
I was worried about her crying, but worst case I can take her outside in her stroller and not read namaz.
Night Before: Sleep late cleaning, cooking, pressing cloths etc and make a resolution that NEXT year we will definately do all these work a week before and sleep early only to violate the resolution again :)
Namaz: Whole family goes for Namaz including Kids. We believe that its even more necessary for us to make Eid an enjoyable event for kids and get them involved in everything.
After Namaz Everyone from family gathers at ones home. Sometimes its ours, sometimes my sister, sometimes my wife's sister, sometimes some other relative or sometimes Brunch at a restaurant.
After Brunch Gifts/Eidis are exchanged. kids have their own fun, women their own and guys just sit together and talk intellectuality about who to make next Prime Minister of Pakistan and President of USA.
Morning starts by making making something sweet before leavnig for namaz.. Our daughter will go with us this year IA for namaz and after namaz the brunch is over at my mom's house. After brunch we usually call or get calls from pakistan and just rest up a little bit before the evening dinner which is usually for the whole community.
Hubby, baby and I get new clothes from Pakistan.. she gets her matching choorian as well..
Thanks, guys! Hubby was saying, why bother, when she isn't really going to be aware of it, but that's not my way of doing things. I feel if we do that, it will be too late before we actually involve her. Plus, I do think that she will understand it is a special occasion.
Chips: she's usually up by 7am, and finishes her morning feed by 8. The 8am one will be too early, but I could aim for the 9:15, and maybe give her her cereal there.
I was worried about her crying, but worst case I can take her outside in her stroller and not read namaz.
Yep, take her along... I have been taking my daughter for Eid namaz every year since her birth :)
We are in the US. We have been taking the kids regulary for eid prayes for a few years now. Our mosuque starts eid prayer around 10 am. I do buy new clothes for eid. Not necessarily shoes, but they usually have multiple new outifts for iftar and eid parties along with me. We are invited to 2-4 parties on eid day itself starting from right after namaz till dinner. This year we were late in getting invitations so thought about having an eid potluck at my place, would have had it if we didn't get invited. Usua;;y we have parties in the follwoing days too esp if its around the weekend like its this time. The kids don't go to school and hubby takes off from work on eid day.
We have a regular girls only chand raat party at the local hotel. I go there each time. Do not travel to be with the extended family. They are in Pakistan mostly.