What do you think of people..

Re: What do you think of people..

I think of it as another excuse to show your affection… doesn’t hurt to buy her a rose and take her out for dinner… and doing it on this day doesn’t mean you don’t love her the rest of the year… its just an occasion for you to renew your promises.

When you say you love her and what not, don't chew gum, I heard it's rude.

Umar bhai, have you been recently captured…err I mean married?

hehe - no mate... more like soon to be zabihafied :)

Here have a flower for understanding and being sensible.:flower1:

Umar, That is good than...you are training well. It will come in handy for the first few years.

oh come on dd, u cant be upset over something like this!

I know it is just another day and we should not be bothered if our guy doesn't do anything for us cuz they love us just the same, but but...when I see all these other girls getting flowers and balloons and stuff it makes me a little sad (I admit it). I can relate to you DD but really don't feel bad about it because it doesn't mean that he cares for you or loves you less :) [yeah I know easier said than done :D]

maybe he'll suprise u?

Instead of buying her roses and taking her out for dinner on Valentines Day, why not surprise her every once in a while by getting her flowers and treating her out on days when she is least expecting?

I dont know why desi guys are so dumb about this. How hard is it to give her some chocolate or flowers or whatever? It doesn't even have to be the run of the mill stuff. My friend's boyfriend made chocolate-covered strawberries for her, from raw. You don't necessarily have to spend money - just do something romantic.

I think desi guys are just flat out too lazy or too unaffectionate to do anything for the occasion. Agar larki ka dil bhel gaya, tho kya hua?

^ PCG there are a hundred of desi guys on GS.. and i think most of them did something special for their loved ones.... how can u possibly say that desi guys arent affectionate?

i think a lot of people dont like to buy gifts and stuff on V-day... its so not limited to just being desi...

i dont think it hurts to make someone feel special. I think its a good thing.

it hurts when her father has a goon squad.

Sadiyah, i get that treatment. The surprise flowers every couple of weeks, small thoughtful pressies whenever...so i guess it makes up for it. I get them when i least expect them hehe.

You don't need V day to profess your love for someone. You can do it on any or all of the 365.25 days of a year.

Oh and by the way I am one of those who 'don't believe' in it. But thats for the same reason i also don't believe in mothers day fathers day step uncle's hot daughter's day cousin's lovechild day and all that bull. How many numbskulls does it take to figure out the corporate schemes behind this crap.

I'm not cheap. I go all out when the time is right. I just don't need some firetrucking marketting tradition to tell me when and how to spend my money.

everything you said was perfect up until the money part!! its not about spending money, its about showing you care, you can do that without money. :p

That was a preemptive strike reply for haters who might fire back at me by saying i 'dont believe' in it because of the large sums of monies involved. Theres no harm in spending a bit if thats what it takes to get the message through. Its the being told when and how to spend part that really tickles.

Cheegum - I completely agree with ur logic of thinking. The "bad" marketing involved behind all of this not only makes one spend their money on an occasion that holds no cultural value, but also strays one away from the path of Islam.

365.25 days of a year, u have all the time in the world to spend quality time everyday with ur family or loved ones. Its just takes an hour from ur busy schedule to discuss topics, which can be anything from school work to daily shopping.

I dont need valentines to buy my Sugar a rose, all I need is the right time & enviornment to give her a rose. It can be on the edge of a cliff in a beautiful convertible, or a dark starry night in the desert, or a field full of blossoming daffodils.

Valentine’s Day is *Hallmark’s way of making dating/married people feel obligated to spend unnecessary amounts of money on each other and single people feel that they need to console each other and then make sure they are with someone next year in order to spend unnecessary amounts of money.

*Hallmark, Carlton, and any evil corporation who profits from Valentine’s Day.

That being said, I got roses and am willing to use any excuse to stuff myself with chocolate. :p