what do u do when...

what do u do when…

when, to put it bluntly, u have let urself “go” to the extent that from a figure of 32-26-34, u become 33-35-38???

all this over a period of less than 3 months?!!:frowning:

to add insult to injury, my parents, hubby and inlaws do not let me get new clothes stitched, telling me, i need to lose this weight and there’s no point wasting money on a new wardrobe?! i understand their point to a degree, but u have to see me to realise how pathetic my old clothes look, as i am bursting at the seams, even after making them as loose as there was room in them.

none of my blouses fit me properly, i can hook them by force, but they all ride up, . none of my t shirts fit; i look like i am wearing my baby sisters tops. ive gotten a new pair of jeans, but thats all. the worst bit is that all the weight has gone to my tummy. i look like i am pregnant, and initially people kept asking me that too.

my younger cousins an siblings think they are at liberty to poke my tummy and make snide remarks. the “cooler” cousins enjoy making stupid poofy faces (as if they are copying me; my weight has gone to my tummy and then my face). my husband calls me cow and pehelwan, although he says he is just calling me that as a joke, but it still hurts me like hell.

one of my worst social outings was at a buffet where my cousins were betting amongst themselves how much i wud eat; the problem is, such things make me feel even worse and i eat even more.

i used to be very active; now i cant climb a flight of stairs before getting all out of breath and tired.

i was never like this; it all started out of sheer boredom for lack of having any thing better to do, id just gorge on chips n coke. thats like, at least one big 2 litre bottle of coke and innumerable packets of chips. i would eat 5 big packets in one go. :(. this was my only weakness;

never craved any other kind of food. but if i eat it everyday, u can see what happened. now i am stuck. my current meal plan is very restricted; cannot figure out how to cut calories any more:

i have low cal milk and weetabix and tea with no sugar in the morning. lettuce, cucumber and sandwich of 1 kebab fried in a non stick pan with brown bread for lunch. cup of tea in the evening and an apple and banana for snacks. at night i have half chappati of brown bread with whatever is cooked; usually some veggies. have tried exercsing but i get tired and also self consious at the gym.

and when ppl make fun of me, i just go and eat more n more, mindlessly. at a shaadi, i felt so low i kep eating until i felt i wud burst out of my sari - to the point that my petticoat was literally cutting into my tummy and hurting me.

i know i shud stop, but i cant force myself to stop. it has reached a point where i hate looking at myself in the mirror. i used to look like a young, pretty girl. now i just look like a fat aunty who shud have a couple of kids in tow. (i have none). ive gotten a new hair cut for a changed look, but i cant change the blimpy figure that looks back at me in the mirror. oh, how i hate it!!!

i really really require some strong stern advice on how to stop this and get my confidence back and loose a gud 25 pounds!

i am not sure if this should be in health or life, so modz, pls move it whereever u feel its right

Re: what do u do when...

stick to the plan you have made and you will be back to normal in no time

Hey dude ... i think picking dropdead as a nick is going a lil too far but I totally understand how u feel. I use to be the fat kid of my family and i've been called everything from fatso to aalu(my name is ali so this was one of hte most popular ones) to fatty to da bomb and many other things this forum is not really appropriate for... anyhow my point is try not to take all these things to your heart cuz as long as you get teased people are gonna keep on teasing you. So just take the fun out of these things by just givin them a blunt face or askin them if they are done and if they're not then they shld tell u when they are cuz its geting boring now. You are also going to have to control ur panic eating cuz that is pretty bad. Just try to say 10 positive things about yourself when u have one of these panic attacks.

Aside from that, you're going to have to do some exercise. I don't think you are going to achieve much by the way you are eating because when you eat so little what your body does is it goes on starvation mode and try to burn as lil calories as it possibly can. So, try to eat healthy and properly and try to work out a lil more (everything from a walk to a jog is considered game). In my opinion pick up a sport with ur husband (tennis is pretty good in summer) and that way you'll also get good quality time with him. That'll also give you a good excuse to buy some decent pjs and tshirts for ur sports activities that will actually make you feel better about yourself.
As for me and how I lost weight. I just moved from Saudi Arab to Canada and my life style here was pretty different as I had to do everything by myself and I also lost alot of baby fat during my late teen years but trust me you have to keep yourself active otherwise u can eat as lil as u want and it wouldn't make much of a difference to your overall figure.

Rapid weight gain might indicate other health issues. Hypo thyroidism is one of them. Please consult a physician / endocrinologist.

^ could also be the 2 liter coke and 5 bags of chips in one day.

*i was never like this; it all started out of sheer boredom for lack of having any thing better to do, id just gorge on chips n coke. thats like, at least one big 2 litre bottle of coke and innumerable packets of chips. i would eat 5 big packets in one go. . this was my only weakness;
* lol sounds like lalalalalaaaala21 ..uss ki bhi haalat yeh hi ho jaaey gi :@:

join a gym, start keeping Nafli Rozey

do u mean.. ur drop dead gorgeous? look matey, Inshallah with the plan u have and ur eating regime, all will be back to normal in a few months.

Ask me, i gained a whopping amount of weight when visiting my inlaws, but with a bit of determination it'll all work out

and ur cousins need to get a life!

there is a Hadith-e-Mubarik..."Stop eating when you feel like eating more"
so remember this Hadith-e-Mubarik (PBUH) always, and start thinking of many homeless ppl who starve to death.

you eat that much cuz u can afford. so start sharing your food. Sharing is Barkat.

Besides what everyone else has recommended, I suggest you not eat a banana. Substitute it with something else.

Also, if you dont like the gym, why dont you walk 2 miles a day atleast 5 days a week? Power-walking at a rapid pace. Eventually you will want to jog some of it.

You should start seeing results within a month. If you want to weigh yourself, weigh yourself every 10 days to two weeks so as not to get discouraged. Insha'Allah things will be fine.

Regarding the comments you get, I say you stand up for yourself. If you saw another person saying those things to one of your relatives, you would probably want to say something to them, so I recommend you say something politely to those who make fun of you. Tell them if they dont like your weight, why dont they come walking with you during your workout to offer support.

^ yeah munni, i was gonna say dont eat the banana.. but completely forgot about it in my ramble

what else are u eating? what kind of nuts are u eating? sometimes, those can be fattening too, depending on how much and what ur eating

It would help if you find something to do. Perhaps get enrolled in some course of study, part-time or full-time work, volunteer work, anything to get you out of the house and keep your mind occupied. That way, you won't start eating out of boredom because you'll be too occupied to be bored.

And here's another trick I use when I notice the pounds creeping up. Every time I want to reach in the fridge and grab a snack, I make myself drink two tall glasses of water. Usually, after that I feel so full that the snack is no longer appealing. If I feel genuinely hungry after those two big glasses of water, then I try to stick with a healthy snack - fruits, veggies, yogurt, etc.

You don't need fancy equipment to exercise. Walking briskly for 30 to 45 minutes every day (or at least, 5 days a week) will give you some good results. Stairs are great too. If you live in a building with stairs, use them. I once had a job where the bathroom was on a different floor. I drink lots of water so that means quite a few restroom breaks, and by the end of that assignment, I was in awesome shape

And have a discussion with your hubby about this clothes issue. Inshallah, you will be able to fit into your old stuff again, but in the meantime, you need a few loose fitting transition outfits so that you can feel comfortable.

Good luck honey. I think most women go through phases in their life where they dread looking in the mirror. But Inshallah, if you work at it, it's gonna be ok. Just cut out the chips, soda, and other junk from your diet, move your body, and Inshallah, you'll be back in fighting form in no time.