What do the Indians have against public show of intimacy?

Indian students face cuddle ban

I can understand Pakistani Universities implementing something like that but it surprising to me when Indians do it. With the open show of affection in their movies & now even on the regular TV, how come they cannot tolerate it in their campuses? Maybe I find it surprising because the Indians student couples that I know make an extra effort to show their affection known & I have always felt that it was something they are used to from back home.

In India also public display of intimacy is not allowed. But, however over the past decade, I find that there is a tremendous increase in the display of physical intimacy. It is welcome that the university has implemented this rule.

I have always felt that it was something they are used to from back home.

then you felt wrong, and if anybody would go by what they show in films and dramas then i expect to see anjuman type aurtain laga-ing chalangain from trees in the khets and sultan rahi type men holding a gana stick and singing along the next time i visit punjab

Victory,

I thought it was the Hindu zealots who didn't want the cultural shift & so were harassing people. But is it such a genuine concern that the public school/university had to make up a ruling.

Would that be a little too hard to implement?

Anchal Baji,

Every year we have a cultural show at our university where students from different countries 'perform their culture'. Well Pakistanis always have the same story, one at the Madhanee rirkan Lassi, the other Pathan with the Bandook, Sindi with the Ajrak ..etc. Indian on the other hand can't go without having a dance. Actually this last time they had three ... Dances were pretty much the same but the song borrowed from the Indian movie was different. Yes, filmy istyle, with guys and girls bouncing off the walls.

A year or so back they did a drama where they showed two lovers who get caught 'holding hands'. According to the story, they were scared about what will become of them but when the news reached their parents, they actually happily got them married. The commentator proclaimed that India is not the 'arranged marriage among caste' society anymore!

Anyway, if not our films, do you think our Dramas on PTV show somewhat the real image of the society? I thought they did about 7-8 years ago ... don't know about the current ones.

This is why Pakistan is Pakistan and India is India.

Precisely

Intel Inside. Stupid Outside

[This message has been edited by Pakistani Tiger (edited April 16, 2002).]

Exactly

how many marriages in pakistan and india
are love marriages? how many youngsters
in both countries have some form of
pre-marital activities?which country is more
liberal towards sex?

India

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/biggthumb.gif

Take Your Best Shot At Me

i think it is a good idea at least they are showing good morals.

I think they should get some strippers from Bombay into that University and organize a little get together!!!

I know a couple of places in BOmbay where you get them quite reasonably!!!

I am agree with anchal. A judge in India can’t get more than 7,000 rupees for his pay, but in the movie the decoration of the bedroom gets 50,000 rs. Even in the mumbai ppl don’t have natural gas connection. They use cylinder, oil stove, or other methods for cooking. Have you ever imagined this?? Pakistan mein chotay chotay gaon mein bhi har politician nay promise kia hua hai kay buss one year mein sui gas aaii, aur karach, lahore aur islamabad mein kam az kam 20 years to ho hi gaye hongay. Hai na??

Aur ab post kay baray mein
ahmadjee east is east and west is west. East mein japan aur Singapore jaisay developed countries hon ya Bhutan aur Maldives jaisay ghareeb, values east mein aur hein aur west mein aur. Is any body agree with me????

Originally posted by cool down:

many people now consider japan a westren nation.
Just because it is in east doesnt mean it is eastren. They are more westren than west.

geographically they are in east but culturally not anymore..

"Philosopher, Orator, Apostle, Legislator, Conqueror of Ideas, Restorer of Rational beliefs.... The founder of twenty terrestrial empires and of one spiritual empire that is Muhammad. As regards all standards by which human greatness may be measured, we may well ask, is there any man greater than he?"

That is shocking for me as well. Personally I see that happening in Pakistan as a more realistic scenerio, than India. India has become a more open society, for a lack of a better word more westernized in the last decade for certain. However something like the article posted, is weird. I guess it is the good old eastern tradition vs. western liberalism fight.

I’m just a freedom fighter
No remorse
Raging on in holy war
Soon there’ll come a day
When you’re face to face with me

Ah well. Pune is the bastion of Hindu Conservatives.
Most RSS leaders are from that area.
NO wonder they don't take kindly to Western ways!!

Originally posted by secret_obsession:

many people now consider japan a westren nation.

There is a difference between “western nation” and “developed nation”. Japan is a developed country of east.

They are more western than west.

Aapko youn kehna tha “they are more developed than west” lekin aap nay kha, they are the more western than the west.

Developed: having a relatively high level of industrialization and standard of living
Western: situated in the west

there are poor countries in the west like argentina, Venezuela, Mexico etc, and there are developed countries in the east like Japan Hong Kong, Singapore, South Korea, and Taiwan.

roles and values are different in the east.

[This message has been edited by cool down (edited May 16, 2002).]

Andhra…Pune and “conservative Hindu” city?? Thats news to me. I have lived in that city for so many years and it is the most liberal and radical city in Maharashtra (and maybe India). There are a whole bunch of “Cobras” (Brahmins) there so one might think its a conservative city. But go to any University in Pune and check out the clothes that the girls wear over there – you might be shocked !! You should also go and check out the number of pubs and discos and see what goes on in there there (no personal experience

) – they are almost rivalling Bangalore. So they might try and have a few rules but I dont see students following them. They had tried it before and it didn’t work.
In any case saying that Western culture is bad is a big joke !! There is more respect and freedom for women in western countries than in other eastern “cultured” nations. India needs to lighten up a little.

BombayKid, As you no doubt Pune has two sides.
Happens in India. Bangalore has two faces too.
I am talking about how Pune has been a centre for COnservative Hinduism for long.
Maharashtrians themselves are a conservative lot aren't they?

A very interesting article … More sex for India’s urban youth