The Diagnosis by Alan Lightman.

Re: What are you reading?

have just started reading it, will give review later:p

Among the believers by V S Naipaul
@the_kaur have you read that?

Yes I read Among the Believers and Beyond Belief one after another

Beyond belief is superb and it is surprising how his predictions come so true :)

his style is interesting, but somehow I feel that he got preconceived ideas about Muslims and he bases his conclusions on that (though he claimed that he didn’t know much about Muslims, before visiting these four Muslim countries).

Anyway, I left Naipaul in Iran and started Amitav Gosh’s ‘The shadow lines’.

Its getting interesting as the story moves. I found it slow, but the story telling was superb, so I kept on reading it and now the characters have developed to a point where I want to know more about them.

Have you read any of Amitav’s books?

Sir Naipaul is Feeler’s writer, not a thinker’s writer. He feels and he writes, According to me this is the best about him, feeler, critical and writer,he is the best non-fiction writer I ever came across :slight_smile:

No idea of Amitav Ghiosh’s books

Reading ‘Amongst the Sikhs - Reaching to the stars’ by Dr Surjit Kaur. its about prominent Sikhs settled in UK, USA, Canada and Australia. Informative book about the struggle of Sikh community.

@the kaur almost all Sikhs who have been interviewed by the author are against concept of Khalistan. They are also very anti against Punjabi leadership in India and Gurdwara management. They say that management of gurdwaras in India is highly politicised and prone to violence to keep their position. One statement was that general election in India doesn’t need that much security as required at the time of Gurdwara management elections.

Have you heard of Har Bhajan Singh Yogi, his white Sikhs community, and Wah e guru choo (a chewing gum quite popular in US)?

Reading the Rosie project .

Started ‘Their Language of Love’ by Bapsi Sidhwa.

Picked this one as I loved reading her novels and the characters in this short story collection are Parsi (rarely covered in our literature).

In first story, ‘the gentlemanly war’ she talks about requisitioning of their house in Pindi by Ayub Khan and her encounters with Z A Bhutto. She calls Bhutto having playboy image :omg: @Anwer_Pasha @jasos @Ali_Syed

FYI: Bapsi’s father and later brother owned and run Murree Brewery and she also gives hints about 1977 prohibition of sale of wine and closure of their liquor shop in Lahore, which later turned into a shop selling toilet paper, pickles, etc

I’m looking for a new novel. The last 2 I read were sort of boring. :bummer:

I think if we keep on changing genre and writers, that lead us away from being bored. Following this, I even started reading V S Naipaul and M J Akbar, even I was told that they are anti-Islam and anti Pakistan.

That's what I did , I changed the writers and I didn't like the writing style of all 3. I left one book unfinished and I pushed myself to finish the other two. At least they were not distasteful. The story wasn't bad, but the writing style was boring.

If you are interested reading something about mysticism, try novel:

This one got very good response in Pakistan and currently out of stock. The reviews on Goodreads says that its equally popular among Arabs.

:no: I like chick flicks and contemplative novels( Paulo Coelho books and Demian by Herman Hesse) but the latter effects my mood negatively so I’m reading only the former these days.

chic flicks yaani masala movies type novels?

That appeals especially to women, usually having a romantic or sentimental theme and a female leading character. I would love to read one written from a male perspective though, because I've read many from female perspectives.

ZAB wasnt a playboy, this title is reserved for IK only…

acha yeh is key factory hey shuker pakistan main bhi koi sasti aor achi cheez bnati hey :cobra:

is key kisi novel ka link paish kia jay :sunnyboy: waisey aj kal is sey pocha jana chahiye kah kounsa ziyada bara playboy hey IK, Bhutto ya NS leekin NS tou desi banda hay yeh in ka muqabla nahin kar sakta :sunnyboy: