John Hersey's Hiroshima which was completely amazing, so i'm rereading it (it narrates the lives of 6 japanese people after the WWII bombing of hiroshima). it's written with excellent detached journalistic language, and although it's thoroughly depressing, it makes you realise how lucky you are to be alive and living without fear, and not in a war-torn country with constant anxiety and paranoia, as was during WWII.
Blade Runner: "Quite an experience to live in fear, isn't it? That's what it is to be a slave"
Re: What are you reading?
Adventures and Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes
Just finished “As the Crow Flies” by Jeffrey Archer last night..it was a really good read…thinking about what to read next ![]()
I'm still reding Sherlock Holmes(this is one of the most irritating books that' why I still hven't finished it) but I've also started reading "Rubayat e Omar Khayyam" in Farsi and Urdu.
I told you not to read it ... I stopped after 20 pages ... LOL
^ ![]()
I just finished "Never Eat Alone" and now I am reading "Who Got Your Back" from the same author.
Very good self help books.
but now that i have started it i’m gonna finish it inshallah no matter how much it irritates me.![]()
Monk
stop laughing acha! ![]()
Now please don’t get irritated on posts we know you have an irritating book already.![]()
reading "Okhay Log" by mumtaz mufti
started "Aur Okhya Log" by mumtaz mufti
I'm still reding Sherlock Holmes(this is one of the most irritating books that' why I still hven't finished it) but I've also started reading "Rubayat e Omar Khayyam" in Farsi and Urdu.
Oh is The Rubayat any good? I've been meaning to read it for literally years but never gotten round to it.
I'm currently reading The Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult but ive got a feeling ive read it before cos its kinda familiar, though ive read quite a few of Picoult's books so maybe thats why.
Oh is The Rubayat any good? I've been meaning to read it for literally years but never gotten round to it.
I'm currently reading The Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult but ive got a feeling ive read it before cos its kinda familiar, though ive read quite a few of Picoult's books so maybe thats why.
it's good if you're interested in tassawuf, i have the rubayat in farsi with urdu translation but most of the time i'm using farsi dictionary coz the urdu translation don't do any justice to the poetry.....just make sure you buy a good translation otherwise the meaning would sound completely odd coz most people translate poetry in a literal sense.
The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri, Ladies Coupe by Anita Nair and Modern American Poetry by Thomas Corbett
i am reading the 4th book of Twilight Series…Breaking Dawn…and loving it.![]()
currently reading a thousand splendid suns by khaled hosseini. any recommedations on what to read next?
^ Thousand Splendid is really good book
i m reading The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseni, just stared it
I recently finished 'Le père Goriot' by Balzac and 'Le premier homme' by Camus, both in Dutch translations. I'd recommend them to anyone, great stories and much food for thought.
I was in tears after finishing 'Le père Goriot', from the few Balzac books I've read so far, this one is the best imo.
'First Man' by Camus was still unfinished when he passed away. Yet even as it is, it's a funny, informative, eye-opening and moving read. The main character is in his forties and decides to find out more about his father who had died in war only months after his birth, so he had never known him. But instead of finding more information (which is next impossible in this case) memories of his youth in Algeria fill his thoughts and thus this book. Camus put much of his own youth in this manuscript. The descriptions brought that era back to life en taught a layperson like me what life looked and smelled and felt like in that area. Many themes are covered, such as poverty, colonies, war, etc.
Days ago a novel by Mastras caught my attention in a bookstore and prompted me to search it (and actually find it!) in our local library, it's called 'Tears over Kashmir' in Holland, but apparently the original title is 'Fidali's Way'. I can't wait to start reading it.
Salam!
Well i'm reading Jane Eyre these days by Charlotte Bronte. It's amazing.
^ Thousand Splendid is really good book
i m reading The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseni, just stared it
the kite runner is brilliant!!!!!!! i cried soo many times reading it, lol.