I always admired Kapil Dev for being perhaps the only pace bowler who had never gone unfit throughout the course of his career…and how he gets hit by a ball on the cheek, while playing golf, of all the games in the world!
he must have said sumthin to the ball to flare up itz temper…cheek pe thapar a rude reminder 4 all of us…
God bless u all…
DerVaisH
Ai khuda jazba-e-ehsaas na bakhsha hota…
Acha hota ager pather ka tarasha hota…
Waja-e-tehQeer hon insanon mein insan ho ker…
Pather ka hota to inhe insanon ne pooja hota…
Well, It can happen to anyone in the golf course full of first timers taking their swing lessons.
Ironically, Kapil is a very good golfer himself.
AK
[This message has been edited by Asif_k (edited August 06, 2002).]
Originally posted by Akif:
I always admired Kapil Dev for being perhaps the only pace bowler who had never gone unfit throughout the course of his career.......and how he gets hit by a ball on the cheek, while playing golf, of all the games in the world!
Not quite true Akif bhai, he was injured from time to time, but overall very fit throughout his career.
Kapil never missed any test due to injury. From his debut in 1978 till retirement, India played 132 test - Kapil played 131 of those, missing one in 1984 against England due to dirty politics of Sri Gavaskarji.
He did have couple of Knee operations during his career. Later on when he became the coach of the Indian team, there was a story running as Kapil being more fit than Indian players.
AK
Asif could be true as far as tests go but I remember being at Sharjah for the final of some trophy between Pakistan and India and Kapil didnt play the final that day because of injury. That is one instance I remember because I was there.
Originally posted by ehsan:
*Asif could be true as far as tests go but I remember being at Sharjah for the final of some trophy between Pakistan and India and Kapil didnt play the final that day because of injury. That is one instance I remember because I was there. *
hmm what if this is not true..lets hope Kapil doesn't read this, I just can't see the fittest player crying again..it just melts my heart
there was a story running as Kapil being more fit than Indian players.
lol kapil being more fit than indian players!! hilarious!!
I saw that on TV too, at first I thought someone stoned him...
Poor guy, these golf balls are pretty hard, and the other day we were talking about what would happen if it hits the skull!
Btw, Salim Malik was also a good golfer, and Im glad Kapil also plays golf. To be honest, I would never expect both Malik and Dev to be golfers, they just dont look like golfers for some reason.
Originally posted by sherrybaba:
hmm what if this is not true..lets hope Kapil doesn't read this, I just can't see the fittest player crying again..it just melts my heart
This is true, You may have hard time believing it.
AK
Originally posted by Rehaan:
** lol kapil being more fit than indian players!! hilarious!!**
Yes, KAPIL - THE INDIAN COACH of the team was more fit than the INDIAN PLAYERS.
AK
[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited August 07, 2002).]
Originally posted by Asif_k:
Yes, KAPIL - THE INDIAN COACH of the team was more fit than the INDIAN PLAYERS.
Then this just shows the state of the team. Kapil is overwieght if you ask me, but it doesnt matter as hes enjoying his retirement life, and he can eat/drink all he wants. This comes with the joys of retirement.
Originally posted by Spock:
** Then this just shows the state of the team. Kapil is overwieght if you ask me, but it doesnt matter as hes enjoying his retirement life, and he can eat/drink all he wants. This comes with the joys of retirement.**
Spockji - That was 3-4 years ago. Insaan ka dimension change hone ke liye 3 months kaafi hain. Kapil is still very fit and plays golf regularly. sometime back there was Golf tournament in India (Alfa laval) for International cricketers - Kapil was the winner in that tournament.
AK
Kapil is still very fit and plays golf regularly.
In related news Arjun Ranatunga is Mr. Universe.
That award should goto Srinath!!!
Too bad the ALOO ji is kicking every bowlers butt and is better than ducktulkur.