What are the Makruh timings?

What are the times when one can’t perform Salat, how long do they last e.t.c…

Re: What are the Makruh timings?

After you've prayed Fajr, until sunrise.
After you've prayed 'Asr, until sunset.

Allah knows best.

What about, let’s say, Maghrib is at 7:00, Asr is at 5:00…You havent’s prayed Zuhr and Asr and it’s 6:30…

Isn’t that time Makruh?

yes, wait til maghrib and pray asr kaa'zaa.

I guess its when, the sun when setting or rising is all red. I could be wrong, do let me know if i am.

Thats what i do, i look out at sky, and if the setting sun is all red i dont pray.

any insight into why? i mean is God on a break or something that u can't worship Him at specific times?

^^ in a state of ignorance one should refrain from talking too much.

There is no such thing as “God on break”, He is ever present, ever living, all knowing, all hearing all the time.

During the time of Holy Prophet (SA) there were Muslims who want to fast every day and pray all the time, Holy Prophet (SA) forbade them to do so. Wise is our Lord, (and His Prophet(SA), by His grace) who knows His creations well.

While remembrance of Allah should be in ones heart at all times, one should also strive for balance in pursuit of worldly duties, duties towards fellow human beings (including his/her loved ones), duties towards ones self and duties towards Allah. If one goes overboard with formal prayers, one might get bored and the prayer might not have the same effect on heart. There are set times during the day when you are commanded to attend to your other duties. While performing these duties, if you have fear of Allah in your heart and are righteous, you are in fact still worshipping Allah, since you are in state of submission to His commands.

To my limited mind, this seems to be the reason why it is forbidden to pray during certain times.

PA…Please yaar…Yeh mera aur khuda kay beech ka maamla hay…

I know you don’t believe in Ahadith, but the Quran says, that there were people who thought they were doing good, but were in fact astray…

So I try to follow Islam as close to the strongest sources as possible which includes Ahadith…

Speaking of Ahadith, the Holy Prophet :saw: stated that a part of faith is that you leave alone that which does not concern you…

This question does not concern you, so shoo…

yeah i think.......when sky is all red, you should not offer prayer or recite Quran....i also asked for the reason behind....but i dont remember now.......i ll ask my mother inshaALLAH...

There is a Hadith, which says that after a certain time of Asr, it is Makruh to pray...I want to know what that Makruh timeframe is...

So how does one go about praying Qazah of Dhuhr and Asr before Maghrib?

I dont know the exact timings but somewhere between asr and maghrib........

Good to offer qazah prayer at Isha time..........

i think the mamnoo'a timings dont last for more than 15 minutes....
1) just before sunrise
2) noon - when the sun is exactly above
3) just before sunset

^^

Thanks for the info guys...

Mughal: Exactly what I was looking for...

But I am still missing someone's learned opinion on this matter...Like a scholar or Mufti...

Some references and sources woud be icing on the mater and make it complete...

are they mamnoo'? or makruuh?

As far as I know, you should pray farz salah as soon as possible (even if it is just a qaza’a), and there is no makrooh times for that. The times mentioned by Hunk and armughal are for nawaffil.

the time is MAMNOO'A meaning time in which prayer is not permitted....
no nawafil r to be offered after the fajr prayer until the ishraaq, and no prayer after praying the asar prayer until after maghreb....

faisal please post some reference that one is allowed to pray fardh prayers in these times, cuz i think the point is not to perform prayers (i.e. salaat) during these times....

PA: u can still worship Allah in these times, its only one particular form of worship (salaat) which is not allowed....

armughal isn't salat a form of worship of Allah? i mean at least according to the traditional view of Islam it is right.. why then a restriction on certain times?

Don't get defensive guys, i just wanted to know the reasons if any which are behind this ruling.. you're all entitled to your religion and whatever man made idiosyncrasies you choose to append to it.

Munkir-e-Hadeeth Alert

http://www.islamicacademy.org/html/Books/GLIS/prt.htm

Q16: Which timings are there during which no prayer can be offered?

A. The timings during which no prayer is lawful are three i.e. sun-rise, sun-set and meridian. The duration of the sun-rise and sun-set is of 20 minutes and the meridian is of 35-40 minutes. During these timings no obligatory, essential, optional and missed (Qaza) prayer and no prostration (Sajda-e-Tilaawat and Sajda-e-Sahv) is permitted.

Q17: During which timings is Nafil (voluntary) prayer unlawful?

A. There are twelve timings during which Nafil (voluntary,optional) prayer is not permitted:

1. From dawn to sun-rise (No Nafil prayer except for two Sunnats of Fajr is permitted).
  2. Iqaamah (call for the commencement of prayer).
  3. After Asr prayer.
  4. From sun-set to Maghrib prayer.
  5. When Imaam (leader of prayer) has ascended the pulpit for sermon.
  6. During sermon.
  7. Before 'Eid prayer.
  8. After 'Eid prayer, if one is in mosque or prayer field. However it is not Makrooh (odious) at home.
  9. In ’ Arafaat between Zuhr and Asr time.
  10. When time of Fard(obligatory) prayer is running out. No prayer even emphasised Sunnats of Fajr and Zuhr are permitted.
  11. Anything which distracts attention and concentration. If one can get rid of that he should do, like pressing need to urinate or defecate.