Well this is related to the question raised in Munni’s thread. I love the way she calls her friends, girl friends
Kher the question is what if after the medical checkup you find out the guy/girl has diabetes or some other disease? Would you still agree to marry him/her?
depends.. if the guy has everything i want in a husband then i would definately overlook his medical check up if it didnt come out 100% healthy (maybe something like an iron deficiency), given no serious disease runs in the family and he isnt suffering from one himself (AIDS, all sorts of cancer.. hell even diabetes scares me :s)
What if you both have sickle cell (25% chances of kids getting it) or say you have some other unique disease? perhaps a small skin tumor but nothing that is considered maglignent? I know where islams asks that those people who are medically seriously sick not to be married off but where do you draw the line? Does something that may happen in 10 years really matter? Does that mean you dont believe in your kismat?
the idea is to atleast know what ure gettin into beforehand... duniya mein na larko ki kami hai na larkio ki... i know a couple who got married knowin the girl will eventually get breast cancer cuz her grandmom had it, her mom had it and a cousin had it... but since tehy were so much in love teh guy overlooked it.. jub hoga.. dekha jayega... i also know of a rista where the girl refused to marry a guy who has a family history of diabetes.. now if she doesnt marry him no prob.. it doesnt mean he will enver get married... yeh bhi kismat ki baath hai aur naseeb ka khel. :)
well that's just plain stupid. As it is desis dont have enough reasons to discriminate amongst themselves!?
Now if it's some seriously contagious fatal disease I might understand ..
However if i loved someone ..the only reason I'd get married.. I would not care what health problems she had... unless she was suffering from major desi dumbness lol
Thats like saying I dont wanna marry you cause you might die! Duh! We are all gonna die today, tomorrow, ten years or 80 yrs from now nobody knows!!?
*Originally posted by waqas72: *
Thats like saying I dont wanna marry you cause you might die! Duh! We are all gonna die today, tomorrow, ten years or 80 yrs from now nobody knows!!?
waqas, methinks it's not so much the notion that a potential spouse has/may develop a disease per se (though it is in some cases), than it is trying to minimize the risk of future generations carrying/suffering the same.
It's a toughie and those facing/faced such a situation would prolly be able to give the most genuine answers. I do know, however, that I'd want to spend the rest of my life with someone who'd be willing to duke it out against the odds together rather than a play-it-safe backbencher any day.
[QUOTE] Originally posted by lussi: *
well the discovery of diseases can be a good thing too...like when a young girl is marrying some **old khoost rich guy* ...
Obvious health problems are one thing, but not to marry someone cause something runs in the family is sorta just bad. Perhaps thats why we have so much discrimination in Pakistan. I hear so many people talk about how that khandan is so bad and this and that simply cause some dude in the family did something bad.
If you were to seriously look for health issues in anyone I am sure you will find enough to dicourage you. For people who thing health checkups need to be done before marriage, I would suggest they start with the health checkups rather then the meeting and getting to know someone process or rishta exchanges. That way you dont go through all the extra trouble.