From what I have gathered, Pakistan is really eastern oriented country. By that I mean that everything happening, is really only happening on its Eastern side, in Islamabad, Lahore, Karachi, and a slew of smaller cities in between. Cultrue, music, entertainment, everything happens there. You find all the new resteraunts, the coolest hangouts, and the hippest people living in these cities.
The western side, seems to be going no place fast. In fact while the population along the eastern border increases, people are constantly moving away from the Western border.
Why is it that Peshawar isnt as attractive to people (except for those adventurous types) as the more popular cites. Why aren’t there more expensive upscale resteraunts, and fast food chains like in those cities mentioned (or are there)? What does Peshawar lack?
Same with Quetta, although its condition is more understandable, why is it so backwards. Whats keeping it from progressing, is it a victim of official apathy or something else?
This isnt a swipe at any group, just a question…
Re: What about Peshawar and Quetta?!?
Well let me ask you a question? Who should work on making quetta and Peshawar better cities? The Pathans and the Baluchis! And everytime you see them, they are whining about how they dont to be a part of Pakistan or how they want to change the name of the province.
You know one cannout travel passed the Khyber pass without gaurds. I think we need to root out the tribal system in Pakistan and promote education. Not the education they provide in Madrassas but in schools.
That way these places can become happening places. Instead of them being famous for bomb blasts, murders and kidnappings...
Figure this out why is it that...in the bottom 10 development wise districts in pakistan almost everone is from Baluchistan and NWFP? (considering Peshawar was the 2nd most developed district in pakistan till the 1960's)
Also figure this out since the federal government controls funding to those provinces through hydel and gas royalty.. why are the provinces always cash strapped?
I agree, I havent been to Quetta but have visited Peshawar and other NWFP cities many times and i loved all of them.
There is not much difference in people as such, I love peshawar Fort and Islamia college building.
the best city i love in NWFP is Abbotabad. very calm and nice. peshawar has its buzz in qisa khwani bazar. culturally rich and vibrant.
I agree, it seem to have development pace is not that great. roads were in better conditions. but major investment is lacking to create more jobs, NWFP is have mega projects in its area, some very fine institutes.
I rate Peshawar better than Faisalabad which is in Punjab and heavely industrialised city and also 3rd largest city of Pakistan followed by Peshawar at fourth.
comparing both cities i think peshawar is much better place to live and has vibrant culture.
It's obvious, because them two cities are Pashtun Cities. Why would a Pakistani - Punjabi ruler want to pay more attention to our cities than to their own? By the way, they know that these two cities will one day be returned to Afghanistan, so that could be a reason too.
dream on! is that very same reason indian muslim states and Kashmir is ignored too?
Balochistan to my knowledge covers about 44% of pakistani land, yet only 5% of the population is living there. I think the blame lies with the authorities in the both of these provinces and government. They have been ignored and to a huge extent there tribal societies are the issues. They are the barrier between them and the rest of the country.
I dont think that if authorities tried successfully they couldnt have sorted out a truce of a sort , its yet another sad example of disarmament with in states in pakistan.
Kya bakwaas hai ye, the community of Peshawar is rich enough to live its ass correctly & in a civilized manner, but their ancient customs & traditions holds them back a lot. Education is seeping in, but it will take time for the people of Peshawar to comprehend the fact that night life needs to be improved. I've spent a couple of Ramadhan's & it is the most boring month believe me. Here in Dubai we pray & then gather together for Islamic discussions till Suhr. People just want to sleep there. There are Xceptions but not a major lot to fully revolutionize the system.
Peshawar ko apnay haal par chordo, acha hai, agar kuch karna hai, then do it on an individual basis & make it an Xamplory city. Dont stoop on others shoulders to bring u out of a blackhole.
- Turk Peshori
^ dats some what radical. i am not saying individuals should bring them out. i am talking about government, if governement starts playing pick and choose then countries end up more divided.
having rich society doesnot mean the provinces arent neglected. for the record i aint from nwfp or balochistan. am punjabi but i have no trouble admitting, governement has been reluctant to unite the country. and just to make it clear PMs have been from all over the pakistan. so i am not targetting a specific region.
peshawer has everything that the other cities have to offer and more unlike most cities in pakistan peshawer has its own unique culture which is clear from the food clothing people and places around peshawer but you can still find everything from all the big fast food joints to top class stores but nothing beats the old peshawer