what a shame...what a shame....

Re: what a shame...what a shame....

I am sorry that this happened to him, but unfortunately green cards do come with conditions. We have acquaintences (Hindu, btw) who are losing their green cards because they resided outside of the US for the last five years. They are appealing, but there is not a lot that they can do. They did, after all, break the rules.

I am still waiting to see those naked people at the airport....

And i am sorry to say..it happens to 99% entering US...:)

That's funny - out of the dozens of relatives who have visited from Pakistan in the past several years, it happened to NO ONE in our family. It hasn't happened to any of the visiting professors our uni employees either - Our odds must be terrible!

On that note - one aunty did go back and tell some stories, but when we pressed her on it she admitted that she exagerrated greatly! It was probably all the rage at the time to go home and tell your "discrimination" story.

Re: what a shame…what a shame…

Other Pakistanion main Police a jati hy ky unhin bhi nikal don Pakistanion ki fehrist sy:hmmm:

Hey! Me too! Not ONE person I know from over there was searched other than cursorily. I gues between you and I, we make up that entire ONE PERCENT of those who are not strip searched!! LOL!!! Maybe we should go buy a lotto ticket today! :)

MQM is as pakistani as u r.arent they?atleast 3rd class citizen in usa and other foreign countries are hard working and sending foreign exchange back home so that the economy of pak dont collapse and with that they provide money for development there by creating jobs in pak.so that the 4th class citizen of usa in pak (who survive on usa aid ) live peacefully and with pride.Alas they plundered all hard earned money of 3rd class citizen along with usa aid.and then blame them as 3rd grade.If Eidhi saheb was intrrogated in usa then its not the mistake of pak ppl living in usa .its the mistake of ppl of pak living in pak itself as they r the one who r responsible for the pak image abroad and for usa it can question anyone who is entring usa without diplomatic immunity at a time when almost all terror connections of today age ve roots in pak.

Mama - I think it just may be our day - do you think that third class citizens like us will be allowed to win? We can be guppy millionaires together ;)

While DL's bias against desis living in the U.S is sickening and his bigotry and generalization against all pakis abominable, I happen to agree that U.S security checks during immigration at port-of-entry have blown out of proportion. I personally know professional, law abiding U.S Citizens (with Pakistani roots) who have been humiliated at the airport. Their pockets have been searched, wallets emptied, cell phone call logs checked, etc. Someone I know has his wife's name stored in his cell phone as "Baigam." He had many calls to and from her in his cell phone's recent call log. The officials questioned him on who is Baigam. This person told them it was his wife. lol. They actually made a call and the wife picked up the phone from outside. Another person I know had a small piece of paper with a friend's name and number written in Urdu. They had to call an Arabic speaking person to come and confirm. This flapdoodle stupidity must stop at some point.

thanks…now i gonna avoid putting any of my desi frnds name in my cell phone :snooty:

ps. its a very good point you highlighted. :k:

Yeah, I don’t want to be called by the immigration officials when you return from a trip back hom. :slight_smile: Take my number off your address book now.

thanx DL...

your posts always remind me to add bigotry and narrow mindedness to the list of things that have no limit along with stupidity.

You can come and go with a green card as you please...No restrictions...

It's a simple difference between Mother Teresa and Abdus Sattar Edhi...

Mother Teresa is not a Muslim and Abdus Sattar Edhi is...

I wonder if your casual remarks would have been the same had mother Teresa been apprehended...

Mamaof3 I can tell you that in my experience the waiting times have nothing to do with whether or not you violated any terms of your stay. I have had 4 hour waits for no particular reason when my visa status was perfect. minimum 2 hours.

Well Said

Sure, you can come and go...IF you reside here according to the rules. A green card is to allow residence in the USA, its purpose is not to be an unqualified travellers visa and if it is used as such, you can be sure to face immigration officials. I dont recall the exact rules but its something like you must reside in the USA for at least 6 months in a calendar year. That applies to ALL - Mother Theresa or average Joe. I dont see how mentioning rules can be considered a casual remark. Rules are rules, laws are laws.

Its a shame that US immigration treated Edhi so shabbily. Shame on them. What has “runners” got to do with it, though? Is your point that people from Pakistan should not go to the US? In which case you may want to send a note to all those who are treated badly at US airports, not to go to the US. Petition that US embassy in Islamabad should stop issuing visas to Pakistanis and people from Pakistan should stop lining up to apply for the US visa. That should teach 'em, those arrogant Amreekans… :snooty:

Bhaiyoo aur Behnoo

Plz divine light ko amreeka ka visa lagwa do

so here is some information on greencard which may have played a big part in it. Although I have to say immigration officers at JFK are not always very professional. I mostly have had no issues, and I was travelling a lot internationally for work a few years ago, I have had one issue and even then the 2 people that were being jerks were told off by their own colleagues

http://www.visalaw.com/01jan4/12jan401.html

THE ABC’S OF IMMIGRATION - PRESERVING GREEN CARD STATUS DURING TRIPS ABROAD

It is an all too common situation – after years of bureaucratic entanglements, a person finally obtains lawful permanent residence in the US, only to find they still have business or family concerns that will keep them out of the US for an extended period of time. **Often, the lawful permanent resident (LPR) will try to reenter the US, only to have an INS or consular official tell them they have abandoned their permanent residence status. While an extended absence alone is not grounds for revoking permanent residence, it is one factor the INS considers very important. **Therefore, when planning an extended trip abroad, it is necessary to plan ahead to avoid abandonment.

Among the many factors that influence the decision on abandonment are the length and reason for the absence, and the number and type of connections the LPR maintains in the US. There are many steps a LPR can take to demonstrate their intent to maintain their status in the US.

A commonly held but mistaken assumption is that a visit every year to the US will preserve LPR status. While an LPR needs only the green card to reenter the US after an absence of less than one year, this is not enough to indicate the intent to remain a resident of the US. The LPR must take additional action to preserve their status.

One of the most important factors in preserving permanent residence is to continue filing tax returns in the US. Because of international tax laws, there will often be no tax owed to the US government, but failure to file a return is almost always considered a sign that LPR status has been abandoned. The LPR should also maintain a bank account and credit cards in the US. These accounts should be as active as possible. For example, if the LPR is employed abroad, the salary should be deposited in the US account. The LPR should also continue to renew their US driver’s license. If possible the LPR should purchase property in the US.

If the LPR’s absence is due to employment, a letter from the employer detailing the terms and length of employment is very important. If the absence is for family or personal reasons, these should be well documented. While such reasons are acceptable, the ease with which they can be manipulated means they should be very well documented.

Of course, the LPR can also obtain a reentry permit if the absence is to be greater than one year (after absences of less than one year, the green card is sufficient for reentry). However, many of these same factors are involved in the decision of whether to issue such a permit, and even with a reentry permit the LPR can still be deemed to have abandoned status.

It is important that the LPR traveling abroad for an extended period is prepared to document their intent to remain a US resident if questioned by immigration or consular officials. One of the best ways to do this is carry copies of relevant documents in a single location that can easily be presented to officials. Among these documents should be copies of past tax returns, deeds showing property ownership, records of bank account activity, relevant letters from employers, and letters explaining the purpose of the extended absence.

One final note – Congress did change the law a few years ago to hold that permanent residents who leave the US for more than six months can be held inadmissible if there is something in their background now that would have barred them from getting a green card had it been true at the earlier date. For example, if one cannot meet the public charge requirements or has gotten a communicable disease, then they could face problems reentering. For most, this will probably not be a major concern.

1. All the passengers, be it white, black or asians are asked to even take their shoes off before a flight..
  2. We are heard in courts and the Law is equall for all. I can go to court and fight for my right.. rather than in being pakistan .. where our property has been taken over by the tenants against our will and the court has had us hanging for 10 yrs now. ten yrs and still no justice.. *]If an idiot harrasses me or tries to follow me like most of my desi brothers , i can call 911 and have restraining orders against that idiot unlike being in pakistan where i am supposed to be locked inside if i want to be safe... Let me just say briefly that I'd rather be a 3rd class citizen with all these rights than be a first class citizen with having no rights in any govt office without giving bribe and having resources...

16 anny bat ki. Khas toor per Umar Shareef waisy tu mujhy is ka mazah pasand hy magar jahan larkion ko ghar baithny ki talqeen kerta hy dil chahta hy:bailan: Khud ko nahi sudharna larkion ko ghar main bythny ko keh rahy hain wahan bhi on ko izat naseb nahi:hoonh: