What a match...

I’ve seen so many couples in which the girls from pak (and I mean truly paki…no tinge of modernisation) and totally new to the west and the guys born and bred here…or vice versa. How do they cope?

I mean do they have communication problems and all. What about the difference in the views about culture and whatnot ?

Any of you in the same situation? Leave your comments nonetheless…

:blush:

Re: What a match...

difference in culture: ppl over there think American's or western ppl don't know much abt culture or religion......we might not study it that much but i can say that we r more conservative then they r. Also they usually stay in extended families and we don't so that makes a difference.....girls come over here and sometimes its hard for them to adjust to living with just their husband and kids.....others don't care. Also if the girl is from a village or conservative area....she might comment on everything the girls wear in a western world....short shirts, tanktops, etc.
communication problems can be the difference in upbringing....western PK ppl believe in relationships of love, trust, dedication, etc.....PK ppl believe in that somewhat but mostly believe in taking care of husband by cooking, cleaning, etc.....sometimes it can be difficult to understand each other in that way. Also some ppl might do paindu weird things that we may not like....

Re: What a match…

Totally depend on guy and gal.

If they want the relationship to progress, they always try to be at each other’s level. I am not saying that there will not be difficulties but if both are willing (basically if they are in TRUE love :love: ) then these things dont mean too much.

my strong opinion is that women/ girls esp of desi origin have great tendency to adapt to new cicumstances/ lifestyle after getting married , may be it's part of brought up or natural thing, it doen't matter that where ever they're gonna live (pak or abroad) in this new phase of their life , if they're optimistic ,loyal , smart , strong at heart and know family values (this sure is a part of their brought up)than they really give their best to their spouse ( and or in laws) , but again u never know , exceptional cases are always there, everywhere.

it all depends on the guy and girl... i mean i seen some aunties who have changed from nice to worst once they came to USA......and i seen some guys abuse girls who are innocent from pakistan.....so it all depends u know....main thing is understanding and compromise. Nothing is easy in life..u gotta put effort in realtionship otherwise they dont work

oh and btw

Who told you that gals from Pakistan are SEEDHEEE SAADHEE. Specially if they are from big city like Karachi, Lahore etc, they are up to date about fashin, ins-and-outs etc...aisee asiee bhee hoteee hain k HILA K RAKH DEEN ;)

^ I specifically mentioned them not having any modernisation......
I'm purely paki and i can say about myself and most girls ive met in schools and colleges to be fairly seedhi saadhi

^ That totally depends what is the defination of "seedhi saadhi".

It is VERY subjective ... just like beauty is subjective

define what you have in mind..... knowing the hows of fashion hardly makes one wicked :p

Well you asked the question, and you said that you and all of your school/college fellows were "seedhi saadhi" so you tell me .... what is your defination of "seedhi saadhi"?

Basically, its all about minding our bussiness, Going according to the elders' wishes, not wanting to harm anybody.....Thats the most general I could be....
Waisay bhi is zamanay mein Allah mian ki gaye tao hona adviceable nahi :-s

BTW I asked you to define 'what you had in mind' .... oh well !!

Although Seedhi Saadhi is a relative term but my definition is the one who is HOISHIYAR but not CHALAAK & MAKKAR

The one who is not dumb (k kisee nai eik thapper mara tu doosra gaal bhee aagay ker deay) but not the one who love to break relationships rather than making it specially not the one with the habit of back-biting. Not the one in the habit of picking up fights, some gals/guys have that in nature

Bulbuli -- I don't think "modern" is the right term. People who live in Pakistan today are modern, though they may not be Westernized. By solely applying terms like "modern" to Western societies we make it seem like Pakistanis don't exist today, it makes it seem like the culture is not as dynamic and thriving as it actually is. Pakistanis can be modern without being Western, etc.

I agree with your thinking. Modernization is not about clothing and outlook; it is about industrialization, education, health care, transportation, etc. We in Sub-continent use this word in the most pathetic way.

It alllllllllllll depends ..:-)

^ that would be the simplest conclusion ....

it all depends, But girls from pak in they beginning they may have some Communication problem but after having people around speaking who have great accent, they help them alot.