The only problem is: Fat bohot zyaada istamaal hota hai, which has bad effects on your health of course. That’s why I don’t have it as often as I would like.
Western food nisbatan light hota hai (I’m not talking about junk food).
Well I like both the same. You are right about ghee in desi food and sometime some people ghee ki haad kar dehtey hain desi food may.
Its like if I have too much of desi food, i carve for western food, like chicken schnitzel semmel, pizza, noodles, pasta, wagara and if I have too much of western food, I really want some nice salan with roti or rice.
I think there must be a way of making desi food with low fat. Tell the cook (ammi) to put less ghee, well we use oil in the salan.
It has to be a combination of both or a culinery twist. Desi food with a side order of western food never hurt anyone : )
Just make sure in any case keep the oil, ghee, to a minimum. There are alternative oils out there like corn oil or olive oil; even vegetable oil is better than ghee.
Recently, I got news of a few people suffering heart attacks. The doctors say when it happens once. Its pretty much downhill from there. Thats why your diet has to be a balance rather than stuffing yourself silly with garbage till it happens. Please take heed from others demise.
i have no problems with any food..infact i love trying different food all the time. I am not a big fan of oil or ghee..our household never really had ghee in the kitchen..it was always vegetable oil..the things that need butter..we just put margarine instead. Most of the time..i just take off layers of oil from the salan..and i have tried cooking without oil as well (desi food). Also, me and my ammi prefers to bake things instead of frying them.
A friend of mine recently told me that anything with hydrogenated fat in it is not good because it for sure gives diabetes overtime. He also said that your body doesn't have the capability to digest hydrogenated fat (ghee, etc.) and it damages your organs (and it has the most affect on pancreas). He suggested using butter instead.
Depends on mood,hamesha desi khane kha ker phir kuch western khana khane ka bhi mood ban hi jata hai. I guess every one needs a change.I never use ghee for cooking,i dont like the taste except when i have to make suji or gajar ka halwa On regular basis we prefer to use corn oil or canola oil.
not a very big fan of the typical american food..however chinese[western hay]..desi..italian..mexican..malay..thai..indo cuisine rocks!! ofcourse change is always good!