We're all Sinners

Re: We're all Sinners

^ hmm, it may be that.. i dont remember exactly (i should've mentioned that). Could you let me know what the difference is between the two?

Prophets are the messengers of Allah...

They fear God alot and don´t take any single step without his command
Once Allah has showed them their reason of living they will follow their destiantion
like everyone can, if you try to become one with God he will send you down all his mercy and show you visions etc.

but that´s not the point of this thread...

pcg i know i'm not a

The point of this thread, as with most threads in this place, has been derailed - like within the first few replies.

You can have a religion which is about spiritual enlightenment. Or you can have a religion where you focus only on punishments and rules. Christianity became the latter when the fire and brimstone sermons became fashionable, and ministers and popes found that when they spewed out such sermons, people's fears would be easy to manipulate. You can refer to Puritan culture as an example.

Islam is supposed to be a complete way of life. But all I see is an endless list of fatwas, and somewhere the whole spiritual enlightenment part has gotten lost.

In other words, people read namaz robotically because they think they're going to hell if they do not read it. However, these namazein are doing nothing for their souls, because they seem not to know how to actually achieve a spiritual connection when reading them...they were never really taught how to...

Re: We’re all Sinners

I would beg to differ here with what you have stated in the first sentence. Many of those who pray, pray because of what Allah (SWT) has blessed us with, alhamdulillah. Many of us have it in the back of our minds that our Rabb (SWT) has blessed us with so much and the least we can do is perform salah as prescribed.

Yes, it’s true many of us don’t have khushu and ehsaan in our prayers, but it is very hard to achieve. Nonetheless, many of us try to make an effort to improve our salah.

Yes, we’re not the best Muslims and unfortunately our salahs don’t seem to be having much of an impact on us, but the zeal to improve is there.

Lastly, it is not the fear of the punishment alone, but it’s the taqwa (I believe is a combination of love, fear, and hope in Allah (SWT)) that compels us to offer salah.

Sadiya, very well put. JazakAllah. I agree with each and every word you have said.

That ‘ROBOTIC’ Person is still 100 times better than those who does not say their prayers at all.

Yeh aap ko Ilhaam huvaa hai yaa yeh aap fatwaa jaari farmaa rahi haiN?

If someone who only rarely read namaz and felt a spiritual connection, wudn't they try to achieve that feeling all the time? So it doesn't make sense when you say someone who reads 5 times a day is no better than someone who never reads it

It is not just fear of Allah but in some cases a desire to obtain political standing and recognition among peers, that sometimes motivates people to perform ritual prayer. It is not a fear of Allah but a fear of other people in the group and desire to convince them we are god fearing, therefore deserving in society, that motivates some people. It is way to seek security by creating religious tribal identities to exploit those outside the group and prevent outsiders from exploiting the group that others engage in rituals. However, without earnesty in prayer, these rituals will not be accepted:

"The hypocrites–they think they are over-reaching Allah but He will over-reach them: When they stand up to Prayer, they stand without earnestness, to be seen of men, but little do they hold Allah in remembrance The Noble Quran, 4:142

Alllaah has no need for rituals:

2:178. It is not righteousness that you turn your faces to the East or the West, but truly righteous is he who believes in Allah and the Last Day and the angels and the Book and the Prophets, and spends his money out of love for HIM, on the kindred and the orphans and the needy and the wayfarer and those who ask for charity and for ransoming the captives; and observes prayer and pays the Zak›t; and those who fulfil their promise when they have made one, and the patient in poverty and afflictions and the steadfast in the time of war; it is these who have proved truthful and it is these who are truly God-Fearing.

The ritual in prayer has to be performed for our own sake not as something that is needed by or pleases Allah. When this ritual is performed earnestly, it will motivate us to do good acts, that pleases Allah, such as free the slaves, feed the poor, take care of the orphan and the widow, in my opinion.

regards,

bob

Agar Insan Ghalati na karta tou farishta ban jata....... phir farishtay aur insan mai kya farak reh jata...........

even the i expect alot from god.

God doth wish to lighten your [difficulties], for man was created weak [in flesh].}* (An-Nisaa’ 4:28)

16: 61. If Allah were to punish men for their wrong-doing, He would not leave, on the (earth), a single living creature: but He gives them respite for a stated Term: When their Term expires, they would not be able to delay (the punishment) for a single hour, just as they would not be able to anticipate it (for a single hour).

Agar Insaan ghalti naa karay to farishtay say behtar hai. That’s why AnHuzur :saw: crossed Sidratul Muntaha which even Jibrael :as: couldn’t do.

This is because farishta doesn’t have privelage to disobey and Insaan does. That’s why farishta never gets rewarded and Insaan does. That’s the difference between farishta and insaan.

If man is only better than Angels when he doesnt make mistakes, then why did Angels have to bow to prophet Adam p who made the mistake of being misled by Iblis?

regards,

bob

WOW! Gupshup is very lucky to have a moderator that is so versed and knowledgable that he can refuse to argue others point of view and to silence them with a command. Just curious, are you one of those with a higher rank or do you just come across that way?

Who said he is a Gupshup moderator? He is just another member. I agree he was being a little rude with his remark about the hadith. However, I think he has the right to not participate further, if that is his choice.

regards,

bob

I think its just you if my imam says something i will question him and will not accept it everything he says willy nilly if i have any doubts about it.

Unless Allah is forgiving and merciful.

regards,

bob