Welcome to india, "friends!"

Where is that great dosti and we should be one, bs? This is the real face of india, all the people who ere jumping over the moon, when india wanted to be our friends, this is a reality check and this is how the real india is!

Family misses train and caught in next nightmare

NEW DELHI: For Syeda Hasina, a Pakistani housewife, it seemed a miracle her family had missed the train.

Exhausted after a daylong journey from western India, Hasina and her husband, three small children and a mound of luggage, scrambled into the bustling Delhi station on Sunday night only to see the train to Pakistan chugging out.

But hours after explosions on the train, Hasina says their initial feelings of elation turned to despair as the family became caught in the tortuous visa rules. “Everyone is saying how lucky we were to have missed the train. But no one is telling us what we should do now,” says the petite mother, 32.

Hasina and her husband Syed Mohammed Siddique were in India to attend a cousin’s marriage in Jamnagar. When they got their visas, it was for Jamnagar only.

Now stranded in a Delhi railway station’s waiting room, Siddique’s face speaks of his frustration with the rigidity of government regulations. Their visas for Jamnagar mean the family cannot leave the station – but Indian railroad rules don’t permit them to stay in the railway station more than 24 hours.

After settling his wife and children in the waiting room, Siddique ventured out to find a hotel room in the maze of narrow lanes outside the station. Each hotel turned him away.

“They said I would have to report to the police and get a clearance. But legally I don’t have a visa for New Delhi, so I could be arrested if I move out of the railway station,” Siddique says. “Every now and then, railway officials come to check how many hours we’ve spent. They tell us, ‘you’ll have to clear out’, but where can we go?” asks Siddique.

http://dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\02\20\story_20-2-2007_pg1_6

Re: Welcome to india, "friends!"

Yeah, I dont see the same Bon homme in the Indians as the Indians saw in Pakistan... In Pakistan they didnt have to lift a finger for anything, everyone is hospitable... Indians on the other hand seem to be a very bitter people.

^ wait till they come with some execuses. I think the reason you have not yet got a reply because they are trying hard for an execuse. :)

I think the issue is with regard to visa rules which is rigid right from the beginning. rigid visa rules shouldn't mean less friendship or flexible visa rules shouldn't mean more friendship.

If you want we can discuss visa rules of both countries and decide which one is more flexible towards each other. then we can say something.

Re: Welcome to india, “friends!”

I was just talking about the general feeling of one country towards another… Indians seem far more bitter then Pakistanis, despite the fact that you accuse us of spreading hatred towards Indians…

Pakpatriot,

It all depends whom you have met. I have met several pakistanis and striking a rapport happens within snapping of fingers. Before coming to my apartment I met one pakistani in the train and we discussed the type of Punjabi spoken in Punjab on either side of the border.

You must visit stalls of Pakistani industry during India International Trade Fair in New Delhi, they attract a huge rush eventhough what is displayed may not be comparable to Western Companies, it is because people want to interact.

A few years back, famous Pakistani singer Reshma gave a performance in Pragati Maidan in New Delhi where she sang her haunting melody "chaar dina da pyaar ho rabba...", people especially youngsters were tripping over each other to get a glimpse of her.

Animosity during the last several decades has trickled down to common people because of leadership at top and of course bloody partition and subsequent conflicts.

This is not how the real India or pakistan is or any country in south asia is!!

apart from, tough Visa regime, beaurocracy is everywhere...even I faced problems with my Passport renewals...
In billion plus population with so many difficulty..such incidents happen.

btw....Do they contacted Pakistani embassy??..I am sure in such cases they are of great help.

i dotn mean to gernalize, but overall pakistanis are FAR more hospitable then indians regardless of ethnic/linguistic background. I think this french tourist i talked to put it best when i asked what do you think the of the diference between pakistan and india are, and he i think said it best, he said in pakistan people give things to you while in india they sell them to you.
that being said looks liek this act of terroism was perperated by some shudar hindu natioanlists

Thats the thing, if there is animpsity, I really dont see any animosity in Pakistan… The general population of Pakistan just want peace with India, and they dont have any ill feeling over all… There are many good Indians no doubt, but majoirty of the animosity is on the Indian side. Perhaps its that Indians are far more nationalistic then Pakistanis are and for them, animosity towards Pakistan is a badge of patriotism.
Regardless, I think its the Indian govt that needs to inform its populas about Pakistan, not the Pakistanis who need to inform their publics oppinion on India.

EXACTLY… Im always shocked by the generosity of Pakistanis… People, even Pakistanis themselves, after hearing so much negative stuff about the country are thrown in tailspin when the generosity of the average Pakistani is displayed all across the country.
I remember I went into a small store once where two men were eating out of the same bowl for lunch.. When they saw me, they actually offered to share this small bowl of meat and Shorba. Complete strangers will do that.

Its no surprise that Indians had such glowing reviews for Pakistan and its people after the cricket matches...

I see it as less of an issue of dislike but of idiotic rules and incompetence or lack of will of people to do justice to their jobs. This is a situation that is not planned for. All the people are doing is tryign to follow the law. the fult is the guardians of the law who needed to make some exceptions due to this unique and unplanned for situation.

Yes, in our culture we are hospitable even to our arch enemies when they're on our land as guests because it's considered dishonorable for us not to be...

Lekin Hindustaniyon ki apni koi izzat naheen hoti, woh aur kisi ki khaak izzat karen ge?

Like someone mentioned Indians are venemous, hatefilled bitter little monkeys..

Shudar bichaarey to khod Hindustan mein pseudo-aryan Brahmno ke haaathon zaleel ho rahey hain... Woh to khud mazloom hain..

Yeh kisi Hindu nationalist ka kaam hai, lekin Shudaron ka naheen, woh bichaarey to Hindustani Musalmanon ki tarhen ghulaamon waali zindagi basar kar rahey hain..

it is funny while trying to prove about being hospitable and friendly while accusing the other negatively about being so and so. and besides, none of you have been to india (and neither i have been actually to pakistan) and u guys end up making such statements. but yes, i have spoken to a pakistani here in US with utmost friendliness and he also did the same.

u r a moron and ur thinking is full of ****.

aaja india aake dekh le kya halat hain hindustani musalmano ki.US taraf se bhokna bahut aasan hain.

Aye chintu ke bacchhe....mind your language !! What is your experience of dealing with Pakistanis in Boston ??