Re: Weird Relatives
You shudn't have called them, especially in presence of ur husband.
shay i knw wht u mean..but really i always thought real family members r nly ur brother sis...mum dad..or even may be dada/dadi.....
uncle aunts khala mamu chacha r far relatives...so dnt worry abt them too much..wht important is that ur parents r nice with ur hubby...
Aww Shay .. dont feel sad. I know how you must be feeling. You know what you should stop sending them gifts and call them on their birthdays. They are so not worth that.
And to be honest, I dont think one can deal with such relatives, unfortunalty I think we all have them. Some of us see them early and some later. The way your aunts reacted actually shows a bit of jealousy from their side (?) .. however I can understand you are disappointed, but no need to give them too much importance, because you'll see more people like this .. Desis just cant be happy for anyone else beside themselves .. geez!
Shay, don't feel bad. I would suggest that leave the "get to know my family" when they actually MEET in person, otherwise forget about it. It is not important and it only invites trouble, trust me.
Logon se jitna free ho banda utna nuksaan hota hai aur phir desi log jo hain (rishteydaar) kafi koshish karain ghay ke koe drama lagay, etc.
From personal experience, it is best to avoid and not volunteer... if they *call, even then the conversations should be general (the happy topics)* and short. We know you are trying to integrate your husband into your greater family but it is not worth it as you have no idea who is happy with your marriage and who is not.
Desis just cant be happy for anyone else beside themselves .. geez!
^^ so true, they will never learn to be happy for others! Jealousy is deep rooted in asianz :S
Desi people will never change. Unfortunately there are very few nice people in the world. Family members that seem nice on the surface will actually be the opposite in reality.
like others said, you shouldn't bother calling them. If they didn't wish you when they were supposed to, then why even involve them - if they can't be a part of your happiness, they should just be left alone. I probably won't even pay attention, when I got engaged, none of my phupos and chachas called us to wish, they didn't even remember, even when they were told about it long before! But I could just care less, cos if they can't be a part of my happiness, then I wont make an effort to involve them any further either, unless they want to get involved themselves, which is of course a different story.
Shay, don't feel bad. I would suggest that leave the "get to know my family" when they actually MEET in person, otherwise forget about it. It is not important and it only invites trouble, trust me.
Logon se jitna free ho banda utna nuksaan hota hai aur phir desi log jo hain (rishteydaar) kafi koshish karain ghay ke koe drama lagay, etc.
From personal experience, it is best to avoid and not volunteer... if they *call, even then the conversations should be general (the happy topics)* and short. We know you are trying to integrate your husband into your greater family but it is not worth it as you have no idea who is happy with your marriage and who is not.
I agree.
When I got married, only a couple of her relatives called to congratulate, and they just spoke with my wife. I didn't mind/blame them. Her khaala lives in Toronto and she once wanted to speak with me and we chatted for a few minutes. That was great.
Just don't feel obliged to introduce your husband to your family. If anyone wants to talk to them, let them talk, otherwise there's no need to.